We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accessible location and nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The College Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The College Hotel to your Saves list
The College Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roelof Hartstraat 1, 1071 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #151 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Accessible location and nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Location was great for the museum district. Easy to get on trams and walk to restaurants. Rooms were small and dark, but very well kept. Chef and restaurant were very nice and accommodating for gluten free and other dietary needs. One major criticism is the lack of concierge. However, staff were very willing with making reservations, directions, etc.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    146
    60
    27
    23
See reviews for
39
155
16
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Arrived to our hotel about 5.30 pm for the receptionist to speak in there language between themselves then tell us our room wasn't ready.. Couldn't fault the room,once we
Finally got in to it was lovely.. True about the hotel thou. Very dark . Rooms were always late n getting made up too. Mini bar was 50 euros a day pp deposit which my husband is still waiting on getting back..

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed four nights in easter, Helpful staff, good breakfast, located in nice peaceful place off city, help to travel everywhere with tram. Interiors looks really nice, place is like stone castle. Highly recommend to everyone

Room Tip: Second floor...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The College hotel is in the museum district of Amsterdam. It's a lovely looking boutique hotel, the decor is great and the atmosphere is good. The location is not as central as I would have liked and is a fairly long walk into the center of the city.

The staff were very helpful. I arrived at 11am and left my bag, returning around midday from a short walk. My room still wasn't ready but they moved me into another room so that I could check in early - much appreciated.

I had a club sandwich for my lunch which was lovely, and the breakfast was really very large indeed - pretty good value. My corner room was clean, with very high ceilings and huge, huge windows. There was only one English speaking TV channel - BBC World News. The bathroom was nicely decorated with a lovely shower, quite dark but not pokey.

All in all, a good hotel - I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

With very high ceiling, spaceous rooms, cosy lounge and friendly young staff (mostly students). Good quality for the price. Lots of great small restaurants, and some of the main museums, nearby. Trams 5 and 24 from the central railway station stop right next to the hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Eating out in Amsterdam? Want a lovely meal in a garden? Go somewhere else...the last time I ate in the lovely garden at The College Hotel, meeting a girlfriend for a lovely lunch, we thought, the service was so bad it took 3 hours. We waited over an hour for food, having ordered salads. No-one came to explain, or apologise, or give us any bread or anything. Ordered a 'Virgin Mary' and got a warmish glass of tomato juice and had to ask for ice, spices, tabasco, etc. Finally after many requests food arrived and my friend got the wrong order entirely! Returned it. Still no apology or explanation. Finally she got her food too, and (again) something was wrong, but she was starving and had to leave so she ate it. The only thing they got right? When we complained about all these things, they only charged for drinks. Yet will never return.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed at this lovely hotel for four nights as a 25th anniversary celebration and we really enjoyed our time there. The hotel is in a beautiful building and is very conveniently located for the main museums, the Concertgebouw and most places. The 'superior' room was a decent size and stylishly furnished, though it was exceptionally dark in the evenings (the lighting was pretty poor, which is my only complaint about the hotel..). The young staff were all extremely friendly and helpful and they made us feel welcome and at home throughout our stay. Amsterdam is a gorgeous city and I hope to return many more times. If I do, I would be delighted to stay at this hotel again. I recommend it very highly indeed.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#33 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#62 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#41 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#56 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#75 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 607 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#15 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The College Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The College Hotel

Address: Roelof Hartstraat 1, 1071 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The College Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The College Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The College Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.