We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful boutique hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of College Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added College Hotel to your Saves list
College Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roelof Hartstraat 1, 1071 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #168 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Beautiful boutique hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed at this lovely hotel for four nights as a 25th anniversary celebration and we really enjoyed our time there. The hotel is in a beautiful building and is very conveniently located for the main museums, the Concertgebouw and most places. The 'superior' room was a decent size and stylishly furnished, though it was exceptionally dark in the evenings (the lighting was pretty poor, which is my only complaint about the hotel..). The young staff were all extremely friendly and helpful and they made us feel welcome and at home throughout our stay. Amsterdam is a gorgeous city and I hope to return many more times. If I do, I would be delighted to stay at this hotel again. I recommend it very highly indeed.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    130
    52
    24
    20
See reviews for
25
127
15
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leicestershire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights, stylish hotel, great location, jazz in the courtyard on a Sunday afternoon! Loved the bar area, the staff are all students, very friendly. The rooms well designed and comfortable .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights last saturday and we really enjoyed every minute of it.
The rooms where really beautiful and the service from the moment you walk in is great!
Don't forget to visit the bar and the restaurant….there is a great atmosphere there and you feel that the staff is going all the way to make your stay unforgettable.
Next time we visit Amsterdam we are sure to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and it was a great stay. The staff was attentive and helpful with many requests. A gentleman named Kuhn was always fantastic and solved some small issues for me initially.

My only complaints are 1) the rooms are really, really dark. They're just not lit well and 2) There are virtually no vegan or vegetarian options at their restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I stayed 2 nights in this hotel. The area is beautiful, an elegant quarter 5 minutes off the Rejiksmuseum. The stunning facade is there waiting for you, beautifully lightened at night so the website promise is kept. The inside is weird as what is left of the historical building is nice but the overall restyling is odd. Too dark, style not defined. My room was large, comfortable bed, equipped bathroom (spicy toiletries which I personally dislike). Room was too dark and lights were scattered around the room with no possibility to control Them centrally from the bed. Breakfast hall is dull (lonely planet travel guide set too high expectation..)
and food was not what you expect from a 4 star. I know Amsterdam and I would say you can find better hotels in this range. It is not all about facade!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

The College Hotel is a beautiful hotel. When you walk in you are taken with the design from both the outside and the inside. That said, the staff is a little inexperienced and therefore the service isn't the best. The rooms are very nice and the deep soaking tubs are really amazing. But the rooms are dark - so if you want to put on any makeup bring extra lighting!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

The hotel seems a little out of town but this is actually in a really cool location; very near the main museums, away from the touristy centre and in the young, professional area of town so lots of great cafes, bars and nightlife. Hotel staff are trainees so they are a little less confident than you would expect of staff at a hotel of this standard, but otherwise the service is all quite good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to College Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about College Hotel

Address: Roelof Hartstraat 1, 1071 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — College Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Otel and Tingo so you can book your College Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage College Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.