We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in a wonderful hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The College Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The College Hotel to your Saves list
The College Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roelof Hartstraat 1, 1071 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great stay in a wonderful hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights last saturday and we really enjoyed every minute of it.
The rooms where really beautiful and the service from the moment you walk in is great!
Don't forget to visit the bar and the restaurant….there is a great atmosphere there and you feel that the staff is going all the way to make your stay unforgettable.
Next time we visit Amsterdam we are sure to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and it was a great stay. The staff was attentive and helpful with many requests. A gentleman named Kuhn was always fantastic and solved some small issues for me initially.

My only complaints are 1) the rooms are really, really dark. They're just not lit well and 2) There are virtually no vegan or vegetarian options at their restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpeckSpeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
94 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights in this hotel. The area is beautiful, an elegant quarter 5 minutes off the Rejiksmuseum. The stunning facade is there waiting for you, beautifully lightened at night so the website promise is kept. The inside is weird as what is left of the historical building is nice but the overall restyling is odd. Too dark, style not defined. My room was large, comfortable bed, equipped bathroom (spicy toiletries which I personally dislike). Room was too dark and lights were scattered around the room with no possibility to control Them centrally from the bed. Breakfast hall is dull (lonely planet travel guide set too high expectation..)
and food was not what you expect from a 4 star. I know Amsterdam and I would say you can find better hotels in this range. It is not all about facade!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Squirtle70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

The College Hotel is a beautiful hotel. When you walk in you are taken with the design from both the outside and the inside. That said, the staff is a little inexperienced and therefore the service isn't the best. The rooms are very nice and the deep soaking tubs are really amazing. But the rooms are dark - so if you want to put on any makeup bring extra lighting!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ekkeeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

The hotel seems a little out of town but this is actually in a really cool location; very near the main museums, away from the touristy centre and in the young, professional area of town so lots of great cafes, bars and nightlife. Hotel staff are trainees so they are a little less confident than you would expect of staff at a hotel of this standard, but otherwise the service is all quite good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The building is beautiful and the atmosphere relaxing and calm. The hotel is easy to reach from the airport and the location is good, near to the Museumplein. The staff is excellent - I did not recognize students from the "real" hotel team.

Unfortunately I got extremely ill during my stay in Amsterdam, so I spent most of the days in our room. When we ran out of pain killers and soft drinks (because of NYE every shop/pharmacy was closed), the hotel team gave us some medicine and sparkling water. They also sold us sweets, chips and soft drinks. Since they did not have any candy at the bar, the bartender searched some chocolate from the kitchen. If this is not excellent service then I do not know what is!

We had some of our few dinners in the hotel's bar. I ate hamburger which was really tasty but I would have expected better french fries for 16 euros. Because of the price of the breakfast (appr. 25 euros) we did not have it at the hotel. If you want to save your money and have your breakfast somewhere else, there are some really nice cafes nearby.

Our room was quiet and we did not hear anything from rooms next to us. The room was really romantic and suitable for a couple, but the lights are almost too dim. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The ceiling was high (about 4 meters), so although our room was small, it was not cramped.

I will definetely come back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaenoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave O, Front Office Manager at The College Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking some of your valuable time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at The College Hotel. I am very proud to read that you experienced our hotel as excellent. We do hope you feel better now, and that the illness is gone.

I am happy to see that the efforts we take to train our staff is reflecting to our guests.

Concerning your comment about the hamburger and fries I have forwarded your comment to our Executive Chef. He will see what he can do to improve this.

Feedback is very important to us, as it is with this information that we are able to recognize and improve the critical points in our organization as we aim to serve our guests at the highest possible level.

In closing, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if we can be of any additional assistance and we look forward to welcome you back at The College Hotel in the future.

Warm regards,

Dave Overeem
Front Office Manager
The College Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is a delightful hotel in a beautiful old brick building, with charming and helpful young staff. We were surprised to see the other reviews here complaining about the service, as we had no complaints at all. Our 2nd floor room could have done with more lighting, and we thought the breakfast at 25 euros was over-priced. Otherwise, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would happily recommend it. New Year's Eve dinner was particularly impressive.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Londontraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave O, Manager at The College Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear traveller,

Thank you for taking some of your valuable time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at The College Hotel. I am very proud to read that you experienced your stay as delightful.

We are happy to see that our efforts in training our students is resulting in happy guests. I will forward your comments to our entire staff to show them what the result is in their hard work of delivering the highest possible service to our guests.

Feedback is very important to us, as it is with this information that we are able to recognize and improve the critical points in our organization as we aim to serve our guests at the highest possible level.

In closing, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if we can be of any additional assistance and we look forward to welcome you back at The College Hotel in the future.

Warm regards,

Dave Overeem
Front Office Manager
The College Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#30 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 788 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#39 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 637 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#51 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#108 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,218 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#29 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 416 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#20 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The College Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The College Hotel

Address: Roelof Hartstraat 1, 1071 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The College Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your The College Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing