We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, shame about the service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of College Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added College Hotel to your Saves list
College Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roelof Hartstraat 1, 1071 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #175 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Beautiful hotel, shame about the service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The College hotel is a tastefully restored building a little way out of the centre of the city but worth the short walk. Having visited in the winter, it felt cosy to see open fires burning in the lounge and bar rooms. The guest room we stayed in was comfortable and clean but very dimly lit. It was dark on the day of our arrival and we had to wait until the light of the morning to be able to acquaint ourselves with the details of the room, for example, the electrical sockets for phone chargers and that there was actually a minibar.
Our disappointments were the service and the quality of the food. Considering the price of a night's stay and that the College is a 4* hotel, I was expecting more in both areas. There was no welcome from the lady at Reception when we arrived. Indeed, she gave the impression we were inconveniencing her by wanting to check in. We ordered room service on the first night and the food was tasteless and expensive. We did not make the same mistake again for the rest of our stay.
As a 4*, this hotel should be doing much more to ensure they have happy customers which is worrying considering they are a training hotel for aspiring hoteliers.
I don't like to make a review public without giving the hotel the feedback first, so I wrote direct to the management of the hotel about our disappointments. I received no response from them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    130
    53
    24
    20
See reviews for
25
127
15
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I was recommended by a Dutch friend who lives in Amsterdam, so I reserved this hotel without a doubt.
Since this hotel is located in the middle of town, it was a bit hard to find a parking spot and forgot to reserve a parking in their facility.
A receptionist at the front desk was helpful and friendly, when my hubby left to park the car, she was so lovely to carry one of my suitcases.
I have asked regarding the restaurants and she was most helpful.
In the end, we have decided to dine in their restaurant which showed that was a good decision.
Juan is the name of our waiter of the night and he was so lovely, polite and served us with a big smile and the best service that anyone dream of.
We were so amazed by the quality of each dish and the effort that they have put.
It was 4 courses with 3 amuse bouches which was too much for me but my hubby was very happy:)
For the price that you pay, you will get much more that, it was a haute cuisine and experimental dish decorated beautifully!
I do recommend this hotel and the restaurant to everyone who is going to visit Amsterdam.
I certainly will go back to this charming hotel!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Great location near all the museums . Very stylish hotel with very pleasant and helpful staff .
Unfortunately the restaurant lets it down , pretentious [ waiters in white gloves ] trying too hard to serve Haute Cuisine , which it was far from it . All too complicated and the result very bland .
But I would stay there again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is a great hotel and the service was outstanding. Loved my little sitting room, gave the room a (very) mini suite feel to it. I was in Amsterdam for work however and the hotel and it's amenities were great for that but I wouldn't stay here if you are looking for something a bit more romantic.

Food in the restaurant was outstanding and the drinks in the busy bar were great too.

The only downside was the noise every night from the new tram line being put down between 6pm and 8am! The hotel put a complimentary set of earplugs in the room to deal with this and they were indeed very essential!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

It appears the College Hotel has become too chic and now does not have to pay attention to details. The location is great. The lobby is very well done. The staff is very polite. The bar has a special upscale feel to it. (We did not eat at the restaurant.) But things changed when we entered our room #202. The carpet was dirty. The area around the sink had not been cleaned. There was a very low power bulb over the sink and mirror making it impossible to use to put on makeup. The drain on the sink was not working. There was hair in the shower. The shower door was broken. The cold water knob in the shower could be turned 360 degrees around. Since we were staying two nights we informed the front desk staff of these issues as we departed for a day of sightseeing. Upon our return the only item repaired was the non-working sink drain. There was no indication or note from the Hotel that the other items would take longer to repair and that they apologize for the disappointment.
It was one thing to have problems, it is far worst not to address them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I was in Amsterdam for 2 days during my Eurotrip and decided to randomly stay in hotels throughout Europe. I found this College Hotel and it was perfectly located in the center of Amsterdam.
The hotel ambiance was very castle like, medieval looking, but the decor and the amenities were all modern and up to date... I couldn't help but see all the staff that were very young and ambitious and began to understand it was a hotel for college students preparing learn the trade and venture into the big world. Very hospitable and the rooms were clean and just perfect.

Room Tip: Don't forget to rent the scooters (Vespas) from the hotel... good way to get around in Amsterdam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Opulent hotel in the middle of Amsterdam. Wonderfully decorated rooms. Lots of character. One to visit and form your own opinion. Definitely the wow factor when you step into the room. Also very quiet if a good nights sleep is a must for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to College Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about College Hotel

Address: Roelof Hartstraat 1, 1071 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — College Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your College Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage College Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.