We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of College Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added College Hotel to your Saves list
College Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roelof Hartstraat 1, 1071 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #179 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I was in Amsterdam for 2 days during my Eurotrip and decided to randomly stay in hotels throughout Europe. I found this College Hotel and it was perfectly located in the center of Amsterdam.
The hotel ambiance was very castle like, medieval looking, but the decor and the amenities were all modern and up to date... I couldn't help but see all the staff that were very young and ambitious and began to understand it was a hotel for college students preparing learn the trade and venture into the big world. Very hospitable and the rooms were clean and just perfect.

Room Tip: Don't forget to rent the scooters (Vespas) from the hotel... good way to get around in Amsterdam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    123
    47
    24
    19
See reviews for
24
115
14
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Opulent hotel in the middle of Amsterdam. Wonderfully decorated rooms. Lots of character. One to visit and form your own opinion. Definitely the wow factor when you step into the room. Also very quiet if a good nights sleep is a must for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Funky. cool. Funky. cool. Great food, nice bar, amazing building and lovely rooms but bar service slow / breakfast service dreadful (scary female maitre d'). Much better than the Pullitzer. Book your taxi early as service slow.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Our stay at the College Hotel was good. The hotel is absolutely beautiful! Great staff! Location is good, just steps away is a tram stop. Not many places to eat close to the hotel though. The building is quite old and certain areas have an odd smell that may or may not annoy some people. Overall a very good stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

On Sunday, October 13, 2013 we visited the College Hotel to have a drink and a nice dinner. The service in the bar was very poor. No attention at all, so we went straight to the restaurant. We had to wait a little, but then we were welcomed by a very friendly young lady who helped us with our coats and showed us to the table. We did understand that students are trained at this hotel and overall the service was pleasant. The hotel and public area's are in need of a lot of maintenance. Many wood parts were chipped, floors dirty, curtains unhooked at the rails, damaged interior parts etc. A real shame as the interior is so beautifull!! The food was of a good standard at very reasonable prices. The music in the restaurant was of a poor quality. If this hotel would be better managed then it would be a great place to stay, to wine and dine etc.. We were very disappointed by the lack of knowledge of the English language by many staff members!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed here last week on business.
As others have said there are lots of staff but most of them do not engage.
Breakfast is poor, coffee is good!
The person who appeared to be the manager at breakfast was extremely gruff, the staff member doing the work was fine but totally vacant. Like she was in a daze.
I bought a box of chocolates in Duty Free on the way over, they were wrapped in their own packaging and they were in a plastic bag, in my suitcase. My suitcase was closed but not zipped. Somehow a mouse managed to get in and nibble the box of chocolates. When I mentioned it to the staff that morning they were not too bothered so I guess they have heard this before.
The duvets on the beds are positioned between two sheets so when you wake up in the morning, everything has moved and you are touching the duvet, not very pleasant or hygenic. A little unusual I would say. I certainly have never seen a duvet simply positioned between two open sheets.
I paid 289Eur per night, thank goodness I was not paying the bill myself as this was in no way worth that price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

College hotel is a boutique with very unique interiors. The rooms are big and nice and very different from the normal hotels worldwide. It is an easy 15 min walk to the bars and restaurants area. i would strongly recommend this hotel as my stay for was very good. the service is also very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to College Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about College Hotel

Address: Roelof Hartstraat 1, 1071 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — College Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your College Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage College Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.