We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of College Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added College Hotel to your Saves list
College Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roelof Hartstraat 1, 1071 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #167 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We enjoyed a 2 night stay at The College Hotel. The service was mostly good, although at times I discovered a certain lack of interest from the staff on Reception .
The room was comfortable , although a little dark , as were the corridors .
Our main complaint was that the lift was out of service for most of our stay and we were on the top ( ?3rd) floor and we had to carry our bags up to the room . I felt that help should have been offered.
On the night that we arrived we walked in to The restaurant and asked to eat ( without having booked ) and although they were fully booked they managed to accommodae us.The food was very good as was the setting and service.
However , on the second night , when we had friends joining us , I asked at Reception for a table in the Restaurant for 4 and they were unable to seat us and were not very helpful about finding a local alternative.
The Hotel is well located and we were able to find parking nearby .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    125
    49
    24
    19
See reviews for
24
122
14
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Excellent choice & would highly recommend.
Standard double room (only choice from Easyjet) was satisfactory however would have preferred separate shower room rather than shower/toilet with sink located in closet in bedroom area. Corridors are very dark & would suggest lighting at each doorway.
Hotel was beautiful but as we were only there for three nights we didn't make full use of the facilities...weather was glorious so we were out & about most of the time.
I had requested a late check out but when I asked at reception I was abruptly told that we had to vacate the room by 12 noon.
When checking out later, the same stoney faced girl was going to bill me for a Mars Bar at €3, the only item I used from the minibar was the bottle opener! Receptionist was very dry & no apology made!
Fedback that although the room was satisfactory I would have preferred a bigger room...again very dry with no comment!
Thoroughly enjoyed Amsterdam and would definetly return to The College Hotel but would request an upgrade from the 'standard' double room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The College Hotel oozes cool without being overly posh or intimidating. The staff combining interns training besides seasoned professionals are extremely helpful and pleasantly mannered. Any concerns about having made the right choice of hotel were quickly brushed aside when I was checked into my upgraded room at 7am for no extra charge. What’s more the staff in designer black uniforms expertly helped me navigate the city’s tram lines, booked the museums and restaurants as well as offered very helpful advice on where to go and when…And that’s no easy task considering my mental inaccessibility to process directions on a map.
The rooms are spacious enough with comfortable fittings and modern design elements, a signature of European Boutique Hotels. A teakettle, some plates and basic cutlery was missing, but I guess the wonderful terrace dining area offered up a more picturesque experience. The bar staff were amicable and made you feel in the company of friends, although you couldn’t help but think why such a lovely space wasn’t better promoted. Heard great things about the fine dining restaurant, but after reviewing the steep set menu 3 course meal prices, I always wondered if having only a high-end restaurant on offer in a mid-range hotel was a little bit of a hindrance for the entire concept.
The hotel is a few minutes walk from the Museum Quarter and between the Van Gogh Museum, Reij Museum and Modern Art Museum, as well as Vondel Park, there’s so much to do, and as they say in Amsterdam no place is further than a 15 minute tram ride anyway. So all in all I had a delightfully surprising experience from the 19th century school building framework, to the kindness of the staff and reasonable prices when you compare to other far less interesting hotels. Also the area is less touristy and allows you for that balance between culture and craziness that defines modern Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Most rooms are well appointed and relatively quiet. I went for a Superior Room at the opposite side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Booking a hotel used to be a relatively easy procedure – find the hotel in a guide you trusted, check whether they have space and you can afford it, and then pay. Nowadays the hotel world has become hugely more complicated with the rumbling uncertainty about never paying more than you need to. And, always, once you are committed, you come across the website that tells you how truly awful the place is. So, it is somewhat disconcerting to find that comments on the College Hotel in Amsterdam include an unexpected number in the ‘terrible’ and ‘poor’ categories. The problem seems to be that the College is indeed what it says over the door, a college, given to training young hotel workers yet the tariff is very strictly tied to what some sites describe as a ‘celebrity-studded and award-winning hotel in stylish Amsterdam’. And the training aspect and the expectations raised by the marketing blurb have, seemingly, not always gone well together.

The College Hotel is most conveniently placed in Amsterdam, a brisk ten-minute canal walk from the lengthy queues for the newly refurbished Rijksmuseum, some minutes more for shopping, and well-served with a range of restaurants. If taking a taxi, expect to be dropped the wrong side of a busy road with tramlines and when returned to Amsterdam main railway station expect to be dropped a similar distance from the main entrance, across main roads. It seems to be a Dutch custom. (And, if you are travelling to Amsterdam through Brussels, try to give the toilets in Brussels main railway station a miss as there is a good chance of having your bag pinched.)

The College Hotel is undoubtedly stylish and very Dutch with a striking brick exterior and spacious corridors and public areas, all sharply decorated and all staffed by young people , very anxious to please. The bedroom we had was up in the roof with the timber showing. The decoration was sharp, the bed comfortable, and the bathroom perfectly tidy with all that you might expect. Whether the two steps down from the bed to the bathroom level could cause problems after a heavy evening, well, that we never found out.

The tasting menu for dinner was expensive and included lots of decorative flourishes and technical achievements but was perhaps just a little short of food. The breakfast was limited but with a range of cooked options.

As for the students, I can only say that the service at The College was all that one might expect of a high-end hotel – so my congratulations to them. I do wonder, however, about the teaching staff who perhaps should have noticed that much of the breakfast crockery was chipped, that fresh fruit was kept uncovered, and that the tables were sadly scarred and scratched. These are things that you should not expect, whether in a training hotel or anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Had a fabulous stay at this hotel. Stayed for 3 nights and all staff extremely helpful from moment we walked in. Breakfast was superb and filled us up for the busy day ahead. We did not use the restaurant as it was over our budget and we wanted to eat amongst the hustle and bustle of the city anyway. The rooms were fabulous and all toiletries that we used were replaced by the next time we retuned to the room. There were bottles of water placed in the room each evening (the weather was particularly warm) and blinds and curtains drawn. The air con not quite cool enough for me but only because not used to such warm weather! Great location...city is easily accessible by tram not far from hotel and very close to museums which was our main destination. Watch out for bikes....both our transfer drivers described them as 'crazy'. Would not hesitate to stay here again....excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel which is well located out of the main tourist area but close to the museums. The hotel is quite dark inside with modern lighting and a cosy feel. The bedrooms were well appointed and only lacked for tea and coffee facilities. We had 2 adjacent rooms on the 2nd floor - both were air conditioned thankfully given the hot weather. The service was generally excellent throughout - yes, most of the staff are students but very polite and tried to help where possible. We did have a problem with the wi-fi which was sorted and a mistake with a restaurant order was professionally handled with free drinks. In all, an excellent stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, SC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Front desk service attentive, even though trainees. Rooms were very noisy, near a courtyard dining area open late at night, also inadequate window covers for us folks adjusting to a time zone change/bright light. Restaurant prices high, so we did not experience that. The bar lovely and service attentive. Convenient to tram and Museum district.

Room Tip: Away from the restaurant and terrace side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to College Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about College Hotel

Address: Roelof Hartstraat 1, 1071 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — College Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tablet Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Otel, Hotel.de, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your College Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage College Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.