We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“College Hotel mixed reveiw” 3 of 5 stars
Review of College Hotel

Save Saved
You added College Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Booking.com
and 11 more sites!
College Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roelof Hartstraat 1, Amsterdam 1071 VE, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Bluffton, SC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“College Hotel mixed reveiw”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Front desk service attentive, even though trainees. Rooms were very noisy, near a courtyard dining area open late at night, also inadequate window covers for us folks adjusting to a time zone change/bright light. Restaurant prices high, so we did not experience that. The bar lovely and service attentive. Convenient to tram and Museum district.

Room Tip: Away from the restaurant and terrace side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    106
    34
    18
    13
See reviews for
14
96
14
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medellin, Colombia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I was here with 9 Board members for 2 nights. Everything that could go wrong went wrong, not because of circumstances but due to a lack of professionalism: 80% of the staff are young trainees who are hardly interested. The most experienced one stay maximum 3 months... So forget a professional welcome, you better do not come thirsty or hungry (3 times they forgot our order in 2 days time).
this could be a great place but the lack of professionals is not inbalance with the average room cost. there is better for this money!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at the College Hotel on July 6th before setting sail on a Baltic Sea Cruise with Celebrity. From our first communication to our check out everything went seamlessly. The staff went out of their way to be accommodating, room and bath adequate, comfy pillows. We took the tram from the airport to the hotel and it was very easy. We took the trams all over the city. Amsterdam is very easy to transverse on foot and tram. Just beware of the bicycles. Hard to get used to at first. I almost got run down at one point. Just pay attention to the bike paths at all times. The hotel has a lovely inside bar and a nice courtyard which is lit up at night. Food looks wonderful although we thought it was a bit expensive. Enjoyed our stay and feel you would enjoy this experience also.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Didn't stay there. Just had Saturday afternoon tea and drinks. What a disaster. Tons of waiters and waitresses walking around but they are totally disinterested in the guests. You have to wave and shout to get any attention. No one cleans the tables outside where we were sitting. They are dirty and unappetizing. No one cleans up after guests have left. The table next to us was littered with cups and glasses and napkins etc for at least 1 1/2 hours and I pointed it out to a waitress and still nothing happened. We sat there for more than 2 hours and no one came by to any of the tables to ask if anyone wanted to order something. How they make money here is a mystery to me. Great location, super building, bit it's a mess! Pity.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave O, Manager at College Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear StephenGeven,

Thank you for your recent visit at our terrace and taking some of your valuable time to share your thoughts. We are sorry to read your visit was not to your satisfaction.

The College Hotel, a teaching hotel establishedin order to improve the education of the young students in of hospitality and tourism educations and to bring new talent to the hospitality industry
Since the opening of The College Hotel, 80 students from several schools in The Netherlands are trained in practical tasks in a real life situation and are schooled in all aspects of the hospitality industry. The students work under the supervision of a team of experienced teachers and hotel professionals.

I can imagine that your experience was not satisfying. Due the fact that the terrace is getting more crouded by the good weather we still have to find a way to structure the terrace service more efficient. We are very happy with your feedback, which allow us to train our students the best possible way with real examples.

In the meantime your comment have been discussed in the F&B management team in order to find solutions for the moments you have experienced. I can assure you that changes in the service teams will be implemented to the best possible way very shortly. We are very sorry this experience was not to your satisfaction and we hope to be able to welcome you again in our hotel or on our terrace to show you we can better then this.

In closing, I would like to thank you to share your thoughts. Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything we can do for you.

With kind regards,
Dave Overeem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

this is only concerning the restaurant and i did have a very nice dinner. The menu with wine was very nice complimentet each other.

The food was nice presented and explained by the waiter with every dish. The decoration is nice and to the romantic side, i liked it.

The waiters was not all so experienced but very polite and atentive.

The value for Money i think was okay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Excellent location, nice building, moderate furniture, helpful staff.
I would appreciate having a tv set properly working on the evening of my arrival, and not having to wait 24 hours, and to extend 3 requests to the reception, in order to fix it! And for the room price I paid, I could have done without one staff member recommendation to get up and adjust the volume at the tv set itself, because the remote control was not working!
Also, after 3 days of stay, I was not able to sort out the way that electric lights worked in the room, and had to improvise each time.

Breakfast definitely not worth the 24 euros (cheese, ham, fruits, breads,cakes, cereals and yogurt), and staff at restaurant were quite obvious in showing that they were closing at 10 am, making me feel guilty a morning that I showed up at 9.45 am for breakfast!
All in all, nice but definitely overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Travelling the world I have finally found the worst 4* hotel in Europe. Even if the location is really good and hotel looks stylish I would never go there again. It´s just too much money for nothing. Our (confirmed) rooms were not ready, there were moths flying everywhere (most probably from those textile decorations and sofas), hotel is full of mice and one was even in our room eating my pralines (see picture) and the staff was the most unfriendly, unhelpful and slow staff I have ever seen. I just can´t recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: First floor was noicy because of the wedding party. Second was hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to College Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about College Hotel

Address: Roelof Hartstraat 1, Amsterdam 1071 VE, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — College Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Splendia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, HotelsNL, EasyToBook and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your College Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage College Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.