We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant ambience, moderate experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The College Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The College Hotel to your Saves list
The College Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roelof Hartstraat 1, 1071 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #150 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant ambience, moderate experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Excellent location, nice building, moderate furniture, helpful staff.
I would appreciate having a tv set properly working on the evening of my arrival, and not having to wait 24 hours, and to extend 3 requests to the reception, in order to fix it! And for the room price I paid, I could have done without one staff member recommendation to get up and adjust the volume at the tv set itself, because the remote control was not working!
Also, after 3 days of stay, I was not able to sort out the way that electric lights worked in the room, and had to improvise each time.

Breakfast definitely not worth the 24 euros (cheese, ham, fruits, breads,cakes, cereals and yogurt), and staff at restaurant were quite obvious in showing that they were closing at 10 am, making me feel guilty a morning that I showed up at 9.45 am for breakfast!
All in all, nice but definitely overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    146
    60
    27
    23
See reviews for
39
155
16
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Travelling the world I have finally found the worst 4* hotel in Europe. Even if the location is really good and hotel looks stylish I would never go there again. It´s just too much money for nothing. Our (confirmed) rooms were not ready, there were moths flying everywhere (most probably from those textile decorations and sofas), hotel is full of mice and one was even in our room eating my pralines (see picture) and the staff was the most unfriendly, unhelpful and slow staff I have ever seen. I just can´t recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: First floor was noicy because of the wedding party. Second was hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The location of the College Hotel is fantastic making it easy to get around the city. The staff were very helpful. However, I think the hotel is overpriced. The decorations in my room were a bit tired and could do with a refurb!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dornbirn, Austria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed in the College Hotel from the 12th to the 13th of May 2013. Having lived in Amsterdam for over 5 years I always appreciated the College Hotel for its marvellous lounge, fireplace and cocktails.

Staying there overnight was still a very pleasant experience. The atmosphere of the hotel is fantastic and also the rooms are very stylish. What I did not appreciate was a hole in my bed linnen as well as quite a few crumbs from the ceiling in my bathtub. Finally we were informed by the waitress in the bar that they were not open for cocktails yet (7 p.m. ?!?). When asking the bartender directly, he served us scrumptious cocktails though with a very special and very individual service.

I payed around 158.- Euros for a nice room and it was worth its money. The breakfast for 24,50 Euros definitly wasn't....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here, excellent location, beautiful room and very clean. It is located in a beautiful neighborhood which is just far enough away from the busy parts of the city to provide a nice break when you need it. The chocolates and water every night were nice touch and most of staff were super helpful though not all were outwardly friendly. My only complaint is we had some lights that would come on randomly in the middle of the night. Slightly disturbing! Absolutely recommend this hotel and will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed at the College Hotel for the first night of my honeymoon. I could not have picked a better place! The room was clean and amazing! We arrived at the hotel 3 to 4 hours before check-in and the hotel staff showed us right to our room. Everything was above my expectations! We later had dinner in the restaurant which was delightfully unique and fun. The service was wonderful and we received a beautiful complementary desert with our meal. Later we also received a bottle of champagne in our room to celebrate! I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone looking for a romantic get away. However take note that the hotel is in the museum district and not in the city center!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Hotel is in a good location, slightly outside the centre but only a short walk to the Museum district. Tram stops directly outside hotel should walking not be suitable. Hotel is well run, staff are courteous and friendly and the rooms are spacious, well furnished and quiet. I've stayed in Amsterdam several times and this hotel ranks amongst the best I've stayed in and I'd certainly not hesitate in recommending this hotel to friends and family. Overall and excellent weekend

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#34 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 583 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#61 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#41 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#56 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 582 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#75 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#15 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The College Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The College Hotel

Address: Roelof Hartstraat 1, 1071 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The College Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda, Priceline, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The College Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The College Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.