We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Project” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The College Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The College Hotel to your Saves list
The College Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roelof Hartstraat 1, 1071 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #161 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting Project”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Nicely renovated building located in a perfect neighbourhood.
Operated 80% by hotel school students.
Staff is young and nice but sometimes need improvement and is lacky experience.
Rooms are perfectly renovated and have a goode size.
Bathroom are ok but a bit dark.
Frontdesk is helpfull.
Bar is nice
Although Not necessary business orientated, business traveler will find all what they need in College Hotel

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    140
    59
    27
    23
See reviews for
37
146
15
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had the opportunity of spending 3 days in Amsterdam and chose The College Hotel for our first visit to this beautiful city. We found a surprisingly modern, classy, well decorated and comfortable premise but, even though it´s a 12 minute walk to the channels area where the city really breathes, we found it a little far from where we really would have liked to be. Nevertheless, the place is really nice, has good quality beds, bathrooms are updated even though they lack towel hangers and enough space to unpack your necessaire. Service honors the hotel´s name since the attending staff are hospitality students and mistakes as never receiving a bucket of ice asked twice through Room Service reminds you this hotel is a school. Breakfast is well attended and we even had the opportunity of enjoying dinner in a Restaurant Week that was being held, having had a delightful evening.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the elevators since the other ones are pretty far from them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave O, Front office manager at The College Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Traveller,

THank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We appriciate you took the time to write your thoughts down.

We are happy to read your stay was fine. Concerning your comment about a bucket of ice, I have informed our F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the college hotel in Sep 2012. In our view the hotel is very well located, just 5 minutes walking from the van gogh museum and 5 minutes riding bike from the channels. In addition there is a tram stop right in front of the hotel. In this sense, location is 5star, as it is in a quiet and residential neighborhood and also very close to the main attractions of the city.
Hotel is very cool, always with a buzz in the bar, the room is not very big, but it is very comfortable. Bathroom is new, with great shower and new appliances. Staff is a bit young, so you have to be a little patience there, but at the end they are always willing to help and are very useful !
To summarize, if you are a young couple (30's and 40's), willing to stay in a cool hotel, quiet neighborhood and on the same time close to the main attractions, I strongly recommend the College Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

The service is impeccable where students are learning by doing and so keen to do the job well - it is such a pleasant surprise to be greeted by enthusiastic young, well presented staff that cannot do enough to help. The building is spectacular and the 10 fot high doors are beautiful. My room was really comfortable, everything worked and there was a lovely deep bath.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave O, Guest relations manager at The College Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear traveller,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on tripadvisor.com concerning your stay with us.

We are very happy to read your stay was comfortable.

We hope to see you again in our hotel soon.

Kind regards,
Dave Overeem
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed with a girl friend and telephoned at the time of booking to ensure a twin room. Upon checking in they offered us a free upgrade but with a double bed we declined and said we'd be happy with our original booking. They then couldn't find a room with 2 beds so we had to leave our cases and went out for a few hours. When we got back we were shown to our room and they had put 2 very narrow single beds right next to each other. This was not a twin room and we had to move the furniture to pull the beds apart. Every time the room was cleaned they pushed the beds back together and put a top cover over both beds making it back into a double.

The cleaner also kept moving our toiletries and putting both our stuff into one of our toiletry bags.

There isn't any tea or coffee making facilities in the room.

The lighting in the room was poor and all the lamps have very dim bulbs.

It's very annoying to have to keep putting the code in for the Wi-Fi.

In the bar one evening my friend ordered a lager but got half a glass of froth when she asked for the glass to be topped up the bar girl threw the larger down the sink, filled up another glass and slammed it down on the bar. The coffee machine wasn't working either.

The hotel itself is actually very nice and was spotlessly clean and breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave O, Front office manager at The College Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Traveller,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts about our hotel on Tripadvisor. By this way we are able to find critical points within our organization.

We are sorry that your room was not available upon your arrival. Our guaranteed check in time is 15h00. This might have influanced the check in process.

Within our hotel (and in a lot of hotels in Amsterdam) a twin room is a room with two single beds next to each other. In your case we were able to seperate the beds. We agree that our housekeeping department have to let stay the beds in their position upon cleaning the room.

We do not provide tea and coffe facilities in the room due the fact that we providing excellent roomservice. Coffee and tea can be ordered directly at roomservice so fresh brewed coffee can be delivered to the room.

THe lighting in the room is part of the design of the hotel, although we do receive a lot of comments concerning the lighting in the room and we are investigating opportunities to enhance the lighting in our room at this moment.

The problems with our Wifi system have been resolved, putting in the code is only needed for one time, but is depending on the system the guest is using.

Your comment concerning your experience at the bar will be discussed with the F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The College Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The College Hotel

Address: Roelof Hartstraat 1, 1071 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The College Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Priceline, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The College Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The College Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.