We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AN EASY PLEASURE!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of College Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added College Hotel to your Saves list
College Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roelof Hartstraat 1, 1071 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #172 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
london
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“AN EASY PLEASURE!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Was a little dubious of booking this hotel after reading reviews regarding the service due it being run by students however was most definately impressed. The hotel itself is exceptionally good looking being a converted school/monastry. The rooms are dark and romantic and the communal areas including the outside area are well thought out. The staff, although a little slow at times, were fantastic and couldn't do enough for us. The restaurant is nice but would feel better if it had the same atmosphere as the rest of the hotel - it was rather bright however there is nothing at all to stop us from staying here again and will be doing so in the not too distant future (hopefully)!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave O, Front Office Manager at College Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are delighted to hear that you had a nice stay with us. We do our best to give our guest the best experience.

We hope to be able to welcome you in the near future again.

Warm regards on behalf of the enire team,

Dave Overeem
Front Office Manager
The College Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    130
    53
    24
    20
See reviews for
25
127
15
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

I booked this trip as a surprise for my boyfriend's birthday. I contacted the hotel in advance with queries which they helped with promptly and informatively. I spoke with a lady called Louise who was totally lovely and organised a couple of little surprises of her own for our trip. We were upgraded, not only to the luxury room but the VIP room where the likes of Phil Collins, Beyonce and Jamie Oliver have stayed. She organised a birthday cake, free of charge! We dined in the restaurant on the first night, food was delicious, service was perfect! Considering many of the staff were students, they were all marvellous and did a great job. Had I not read up about the hotel in advance, I'd never have known!

Location wise, there were plenty of restaurants around, 5-10 minute walk from the Heineken Experience which was excellent! Lots of lovely little cheese shops and a little market, not bad shopping but that was about a 20 minute walk from the hotel.

Highly recommend! It's a real treat, this hotel, ideal for a special occasion. We want to go back already!

Room Tip: For an extra 20 euros a night, you can upgrade to a luxury room which I have heard is worth it due t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We had read about the college hotel and were pleased we finally made it. Indeed, a former school very nicely redecorated into a boutique hotel, even if a bit too dark to our taste. MAin drawback: the place is not run by professional hotel-staff! The place clearly lacks at all places a firm hand of an experienced maitre d'hotel. Already the check-in was a pain. Three girls, more busy to pick up the phone: "how can I help you?", then helping the clients standing right before them. Friendly, yes, but not at all useful. CHeck in took long, the rooms were not ready, the simple questions which metro to take, lead to confusion etc. Only after four (!) times asking, it turned out that indeed they do sell public transport cards. The rooms: yes, they have been designed nicely in boutique style, but they need to maintain them! Is it normal that lights don't work anymore, that a curtain is really half-torn down, that beds are hard as wood, and you hear a lot of street-noise? Breakfast was nice, but here again, an experienced hand who oversees it all was lacking: it is it too much to have to ask for sugar with your coffee?, for salt with your eggs? - which anyhow finally came when were basically finished. A mystery to us why breakfast should costs 24,50 EURO pp. for what is a very minimalist buffet, compared to any other place where we have been. I will stop here: if you want to stay in a stylish place, with a good location, go here, but don't expect any of the service and comfort you would normally expect in these kind of places. My advice to the College hotel: watch out and hire some professional management.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave O, Front Office Manager at College Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

As known our hotel is run by 70% students and 30% hospitality professionals. Unfortunately we had a very busy period around in the time you were in our hotel. Therefore it might be possible that the professional hand was missing. We do understand that this is not a correct way and have anticipated on that already.

Concerning your experience at the reception, I have discussed this with my team, to let them recognize the situation. The girls at the desk do understand the situation and offer their sincere apologies for this. They never had the intention to give you a feeling of discomfort.

Our hotel is build in a monumental building. By law we are not able to change anything on the building and its windows. As we have single glass windows, and the hotel is situated near a street, traffic noice is inevitable. That is as well what the caracter makes in our hotel.

We apologies for your experience at breakfast. Our breakfast of € 24,50 is not only the buffet but as well the side orders which can be done with our staff. Our kitchen staff and chef is delighted to make several sorts of eggs and pancakes on request, which is including the breakfast price. We do believe that fresh made breakfast is even better, and more delicious then prepared hours before on a buffet.

Dispites your experience in our hotel, I do hope your stay in Amsterdam was an enjoyable one. I will personally discuss your remarks with our professionals and management team in order to prevent this kind of situations in the future.

Thank you for sharing your thoughs with us. We hope to be able to welcome you here again in the future.

Kind regards,
Dave Overeem
Front Office Manager
The College Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We booked this hotel through Luxurylink. We generally are not disappointed with hotels through Luxurylink, but there have been the exceptions. Well this hotel is truly a gem. Our room is nice with a good bed and we love the location. Out of the central area, but the tram and bus lines are right outside of the hotel. We have had two magnificent dinners in neighborhood restaurants and love the location. There is a supermarket within a few blocks. We would stay here again in a heartbeat, and both of us said we won't even look at other hotels. The kids are sweethearts. Have patience, but you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Close to the Van Gogh museum and in a nice neighborhood
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave O, Front Office Manager at College Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking some of your valuable time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at The College Hotel. I am very proud to read your stay was great.

I am happy to learn that you liked the location and rooms of the hotel.

Feedback is very important to us, as it is with this information that we are able to recognize and improve the critical points in our organization as we aim to serve our guests at the highest possible level.

In closing, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if we can be of any additional assistance and we look forward to welcome you back at The College Hotel in the future.

Warm regards,

Dave Overeem
Front Office Manager
The College Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

7-11 July Junior suite number 214
FREE WIFI
Loved this hotel! Its interior design is great as well as the looks from the outside. A wonderful terrace to enjoy a drink or have a meal. Bar and restaurant really cool. Our attic room was good size, comfortable with a very smart décor. Nice bathroom with a large shower and separate WC. Good amenities. A relaxing loft style seating area. No view to talk about, since only ceiling windows, thus not much natural light. Had a very nice dinner, an excellent breakfast and many happy cocktails in the hotel. Yes, it’s a training school for hotel personal and sometimes the inexperience shines through, but the friendliness, willingness and politeness makes up for all the shortcomings. The location: It's a good 30 minutes walk to Dam Square which supposedly is the center of Amsterdam. However, it’s close to so many interesting sights. Like 5 minutes walk to Rikjsmuseum. There are also many excellent restaurants and bars in the neighborhood. Slight difficulties with parking, although hotel has a garage across the street (for a fee). The hotel has no dedicated area where to stop the car (or taxi) to unload or load your luggage. No bellman. There are certainly many service issues that can be improved upon, but it is a great place where to relax. enjoy and visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave O, Front Office Manager at College Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking some of your valuable time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at The College Hotel. I am very proud to read you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. As you mentioned we are a Training hotel, and therefore not all people are fully experienced. We are working on that to train everybody at all times and are happy with the fact that all students are polite, willing to help and enthusiastic in their job.

Feedback is very important to us, as it is with this information that we are able to recognize and improve the critical points in our organization as we aim to serve our guests at the highest possible level. If you have any additional information, please do not hesitate to let me know.

In closing, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if we can be of any additional assistance and we look forward to welcome you back at The College Hotel in the future.

Warm regards,

Dave Overeem
Front Office Manager
The College Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Please travellers out there keep this one a secret for yourselves and the closest to you. A beautiful hotel in every sense of the word. They must have spent a fortune renovatiing what seems to be an old school building. As i walked in through the mass of huge brick arches i was amazed at the attention to detail. The room was elegant and interesting set over split levels and there were nice touches like complimentary cookies bought to you before bed time. i love all that stuff! staff were very helpful nothing too much trouble. The bar at night was buzzing with a really cool crowd of fasion type people of mixed ages, ideal when youre getting on a bit. College you really have got the formula for chic boutique bang on and you will definitely be seeing me again. Thank for a great night in a wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Second floor seems to be the one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The restaurant at the hotel looks very stylish and cozy, perfectly adapted for a romantic dinner and as well as corporative meeting. I tried to make a reservation for a large group. After 4 e-mails and 6 phone calls I give up.I contacted persona responsible for banquets, but she never responded to my reservation request. She was constantly unavailable, never call back. The front office service was unhelpfully showing a lack of interest. I am working in the tourist business and never experience such a approach towards client that’s want spend time and money at the hotel. What a shame. I will never use facilities of this hotel again !!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to College Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about College Hotel

Address: Roelof Hartstraat 1, 1071 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — College Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your College Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage College Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.