We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of College Hotel

Save Saved
You added College Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
College Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roelof Hartstraat 1, Amsterdam 1071 VE, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #153 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Amsterdam is one of my favourite cities...so full of live and special people..and so is this hotel just special. At first glance it just doesen't look like a hotel more like a college as its name says... but if you sneak a peek inside it's just perfect and elegant. The rooms are stylisch and aesthetic. And a little snack awaits you in your room everyday when you come home bushed from your trips through Amsterdam. Stuff is helpful and friendly. And oh I have to say it again the rooms are so absolutely wonderful you look forward to come "home" after a long day full of adventures. Perfect!
PS: Try the breakfast :)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    116
    39
    21
    15
See reviews for
17
108
14
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london england
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

.............. because it is run by children. You will need patience, plenty of time to wait around, tolerance and the ability to give clear instructions; as there is no initiative from the staff.

Yes I do get the concept and was aware when the hotel was booked - but clearly did not understand the implications. So, the College Hotel is staffed by students and trainees - but they just can't do it. Sure the things you might expect: clunky slow check in while everyone looks on anxiously (can't find booking etc), coming to turn the room down hearing 'come in' rather than 'coming' and entering the room inappropriately.
But trying to explain at breakfast what an egg white was, waiting 10 minutes for them and then them being inedible (still not sure how). Room service food was not quite as offered in the menu and there was no salt & pepper or spoon to eat the sorbet (I ordered ice cream!). Room servicephone line was out of order when I tried it and front desk not always answered. I asked the location of the in room safety deposit - they were kind enough to explain to me what a safety deposit box looked like. However it was only after I searched to the point of questioning my sanity, that they conceded there are one or two rooms that don't have one. But it is not just the front of house staff and food & beverage team that are the issue. Housekeeping threw away my personal belongings (no where near the bin I can assure you) a packaging sample - which I suppose to the untrained eye did look like an empty bottle - but they also took away a full one too!
Just SO inconvenient.

On the plus side it is a beautiful authentic space. It has real substance and stature. Good size rooms. Beautifully presented. Communal areas are tasteful and well appointed.
It's just all this is undermined by trying to function or get anything done.

A special mention for Tiffany on reception who totally got the concept of customer service, was apologetic and sympathetic to my missing bottle situation even offering to replace it and send it on to me. In the end she went to the store and found one to replace it. This was a shining beacon of service in a hotel where I felt slightly anxious that no-one was in charge.

This student run hotel does not come at student prices though. It really could be lovely and enjoyable. But when I stayed it certainly was not.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

My colleague and I stayed at The College Hotel for one night in June 2011. Although the outside of the hotel is very inviting with large windows, inside its very dark and dingy. My room had a very small window and the lighting in the bedroom consisted of just 3 lamps which were perminently dimmed. Not good if you need to do work in the evening after a meeting.
The double bed was very odd and seemed to be two singles of slightly different heights pushed together. The bathroom was also very dark and the shower had a very thick curtain which stopped most light coming through it. Additionally the shower was not full height due to a slopeing ceiling. Although I managed OK (I'm 5'3'') my male colleague told me he found it impossible to comfortably shower. When this was raised with the desk staff we were informed we should have asked for a full-height shower at check-in.

Overall I wouldn't recommend this hotel for business use at all. It's not ideally located for the centre of Amsterdam or the airport, and the conditions in the room make it really only good for sleeping. This was arranged by our travel booking company who stated they have a special rate at the hotel - the rate was 200euros a night which I feel was very over-priced. I could have stayed somewhere less trying to be trendy and more pratical and comfortable for less.

Room Tip: For a full height shower ask at check-in
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

I found this hotel to be extraordinarily trendy. It's in an 19th century Amsterdam school house which these amazingly big windows. Despite this, the hotel is quite dark and cozy, but lively at the same time. I found the service to be friendly but as the hotel staff are college students, I felt like they were still getting used to the whole hotel environment. Never the less, they put in a 100% effort. The design of the hotel is top notch and is one of the plus sides of it. The rooms are cozy, but spacious at the same time due to most of the rooms having gigantic windows.
I ate at the restaurant and found it quite good. The open kitchen was spotlessly clean and the restaurant is airy and spacious as it is in the former gymnasium. There is a great brasserie just around the corner from the school that I thought was superb.
However, one thing that annoyed me a bit about the hotel is that it is somewhat on the outskirts of Amsterdam. The neighborhood it is in was very nice, but it was residential apart from many of Amsterdam's museums being very close by. To see things like The Anne Frank House and the rest of Central Amsterdam , you had to go by taxi or by tram.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

I have been staying on The College Hotel for the last 4 years, I used to like this hotel, even knowing the BAD service. But now, It's impossible to stay there anymore. They charged you like a 5 Star Hotel, but the service is the WORST in Amsterdam. And what happens if you complain to the management? It's Even Worst, it's seems they always use the same excuse. "we are a College Hotel, so if our staff made a mistake, you need to agree" These words came from Sarah Milani, the general manage on January 2011. Since you are paying I recommend to stay in other boutique hotel, otherwise you are going to collect strange excuses and unacceptable attitude from their staff. Just like me.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the ROOF, too small
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

The Hotel on its own is really trendy and they have done a great job of refurbishing an old building, and giving the interiors a lot of depth with lighting effects. but at the same time the hotel is a little too dark for comfort - especially if you are out for business and need a working desk with proper lights. the hotel staff is helpful, the service is decent.
but if you want to walk to the city center then it will take you a while and you would need to know how to read your maps quite well!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

I can't speak highly enough about the college hotel - it is so sexy - dark sultry colours and fantastic decor and furnishings. The staff are partly students of the local hospitality schools trained by the regular staff of the hotel but don't be put off this just means that they're really keen and the place is very very well staffed we barely had to wait for anything at all. The bed was very comfortable the room was a little bit smaller than I would have liked but this was the only negative thing you could say because the rest was fabulous. The bathroom was stunning - the bath was so deep and the shower was great, everything was super clean. The restaraunt food is divine and the cocktails in the bar are gorgeous, like everything else in Amsterdam the food and drink is expensive but the quality is superb. The hotel is located in the museum district so a little bit out of town but there is tram stop right outside so that wasn't a problem at all in fact it was nice in the evening to get away from the busy city and the museum district is very pretty. My husband and I both loved it and would recommend it to anyone and everyone even if you are in Amsterdam on a budget trip drop in to them for a cocktail one night because the bar is brilliant.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to College Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about College Hotel

Address: Roelof Hartstraat 1, Amsterdam 1071 VE, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — College Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Splendia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your College Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage College Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.