We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"cool crowd"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Societe Wunderbar

Societe Wunderbar
Enge Kapelsteeg 3 corner Rokin 84 | Dam Square, 1012 NT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 370 3448
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #714 of 2,239 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $14 - $41
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Looking for Cocktails, great Wines, Grand Cru Champagne and an International cuisine which is using ingredients from local and sustainable farms and suppliers? Come and join us at Societe Wunderbar.
New York City, New York
1 review
“"cool crowd"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I came here to catch up with some Dutch friends, on my European Business Trip - and had an amazing evening - Loved the atmosphere, DELICIOUS food!! and the hip happening crowd topped it off. I am back visiting Amsterdam during the holidays in December and will be sure to make a dinner reservation with my family.
I live in Manhattan, NYC and am picky when it comes to restaurant/bars , finding a place like Societe Wunderbar is something that I love to share.
Ronnie S.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    9
    2
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Londrina, PR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
“Must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Nice place. Warm atmosphere. The bartenders are all nice. Ask for the Bacalao Croquettes and the Pork Tortilla... Well, must pass by....alone or with friends. I had Bavaria and La Trappe beers...both nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect cocktails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Came in on a friday at around 8 o'clock, we were enthusiastically welcomed by the staff. Unfortunately we didn't make a reservation so we had to take place at the bar, not a problem at all because the place was so convivial and vivid. At the bar we ordered some cocktails which were perfectly prepared and tasted very nice (I really like cocktails, so i know a thing or two).

The staff was very friendly and gave us advice about the wine and food choice, the food was excellent we shared a bar platter, it comes with some fish, flesh and vegetables, it was amazing and just what we were looking for. As a main course we both had the hanger steak, truly delicious.

After dinner we hung around at the bar, the place was filled with locals and we blended in perfectly. They had a DJ playing fine tunes and we took some more cocktails.

We had a lovely evening, perfect cocktails and great food!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were referred by our hotel, Hotel DelEuropa, after arriving late evening to Amsterdam. The food was excellent and staff so helpful, enthusiastic. Chef spoke to our table and obviously passionate about the food he served. Bravo to this Amsterdam jewel. Pat and Carol, Charleston SC

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect meal, the place to be/hotspot in Amsterdam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Pefect bar, hotspot of Amsterdam very nice manager Jesse and bartender Robbie. They just opened and are in all the magazines. Was a little bit busy with locals. Pefect food, tried Flammkuchen and the Stew, perfectly prepared. Cocktails made by Robbie are very nice, true artist. If you want to see where the locals go, you'll have to visit this place! True must do in Amsterdam!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Societe Wunderbar also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Been to Societe Wunderbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Societe Wunderbar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.