We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a room with a view (an extraordinary view if not the courtyard view)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Museum Quarter

Save Saved
You added NH Museum Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Museum Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hobbemakade, 50 | Old South, Museumplein, 1071XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #88 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“a room with a view (an extraordinary view if not the courtyard view)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

The contrast between the courtyard view an the non-courtyard view is dramatic so pay the extra money for the non-courtyard view. Plan your trip from the airport prior to arrival or spend 2 hours traveling from the aiport to the hotel. The web site advertises a shuttle from the hotel to the aiport but no such shuttle exists so plan your trip from the hotel prior to departure, also.

The canal view is also a view of the sun rising in the morning! The entire wall is windows!

The buffet was quality food but expensive at 19 euro.

18 euro for Internet! Internet should be free in all hotels! 18 euro for Internet!

The staff were rather argumentative. The web site and the room brochure both stated airport shuttle but the staff insisted no such advertisement existed. Check in included both a copy of the passport and the application for the loyalty program despite my insistance no such loyalty program was desired.

The stay was an 18 hour layover in Amsterdam so the to / from was quite important.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    197
    358
    112
    30
    15
See reviews for
98
331
28
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

Pros:
- great location
- clean

Cons:
- expensive breakfast buffet (19 euro)
- no available taxis (10 min at least)
- lackluster front desk staff
- gym with 1 treadmill / crammed into the space of 1 1/2 rooms

There must be many better hotels.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

This hotel is located within walking distance to (of course) the Museum Square as well as the Leidse Plein, where you have access to a large number of restaurant, cafe's and museums. Only downside of the location is the proximity of a fire station. The rooms are spacious and neutrally decorated, the come with a safe, AC, TV and of course a nice and clean bathroom. The staff was nice, if slightly disorganised (possibly due to the very small reception desk and the large number of guests). The price of the hotel is on the high side, but rather standard for a business hotel. Breakfast costs an extra 20 EUR, taxi to/from Central Station 15-20 EUR, shuttle service to airport is offered.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dongducheon, South Korea
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

the hotel was very clean overall, in fact the bathroom was the cleanest hotel bathroom I've ever seen in my life. the service was excellent and the location is convenient to some of the major museums like the Van Gogh museum and the national museum. We were there for five days and did not use public transportation at all, except to get back and forth from Centraal Station (train station) to the airport (Schipol.) Although they offered us an upgrade to a room with a canal view for 15-35 euros (can't remember exactly,) once we declined and were shown to our room, we could see the canal from our window, in addition to other awesome architecture. (the window took up one entire wall, which was awesome.) The bed was fine, the shower was the nicest one I've ever experienced, and the complimentary breakfast was exceptional.

in other words, I would stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in the museum quarter.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin City, Kansas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Overall I thought the service was fine- the morning breakfast which we added in to our reservation was fabulous (french pastries, Dutch cheese, bangers, scrambled eggs, yogurt, little pancakes)- the location was convenient to the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum, and the scenery around the hotel was wonderful - our view was of the canal across the street. Nearby the hotel there is a wonderful Italian restaurant (walk down the street and go over the bridge) in addition to a "coffee shop" if you are so inclined to try that out. There is a large open market called the Albert Cuyp (http://www.amsterdam.info/shopping/albert_cuypmarkt/) which is also over the bridge and down the way in addition to an Albert Heijn supermarket for bread, fruit, wine and groceries, as our room had a refrigerator. We made use of the laundry facilities and the weight room. The front desk though not effusive was nonetheless efficient. The cleanliness of the room was ok but the shower did not drain well and one side of our queen size bed in room 623 was worn out and the coils in the mattress could be felt by whoever slept on that side. The management said this mattress would be replaced but we weren't offered another room. The Dutch themselves aren't really very helpful so I wasn't surprised. There are ALOT of airline personnel that stay here which might explain why just one side of our mattress was totally worn out?

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

The NH Museum Quarter hotel is around the corner from the major museums and most major attractions. As a solo traveler, I value the opinions of other travelers who've blazed the trail before me. I found that the reviews for this hotel, for the most part, were correct.

If you like to walk and interested in art, this is the place to be. I highly suggest you pick up a map at the front desk and walk around the city, take in the sights and a canal cruise. It is quite spectacular. Better yet, the hotel will rent out bicycles if you're so inclined but MACBIKES may be a bit cheaper (you'll find them in the Leidseplein)

Now for the hotel....most of what has been said by others is true. I had a clean, warm, and comfy room with a window overlooking the canal and what I would characterize as a soaking tub. The traffic noise did not bother me, as little as it was.

If you're running short on time in the mornings, breakfast is OK but I would recommend you go elsewhere, for no other reason than to have more variety and perhaps better pricing. The dinner menu is limited, at best. Check-out was easy and efficient. The staff was courteous, professional, and always wanted to help in some form or another. I was never uncomfortable asking for assistance. Happy Travels!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

The hotel is a business 4 stars hotels, but very impressed by the service: such a kind attention to customer I've found only in Japan! Really you feel at home, a little bit expensive (but unfortunately this is quite common in amsterdam) but very nice room (I book superior room).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Museum Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Museum Quarter

Address: Hobbemakade, 50 | Old South, Museumplein, 1071XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Museum Quarter 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the 4-star NH Museum Quarter are surrounded by the art and culture of beautiful Amsterdam from our central location between a picturesque canal and the famous Museum Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL and TripOnline SA so you can book your NH Museum Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Museum Quarter Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Museum Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.