We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise... modern hotel with nice fitness center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hobbemakade 50, 1071 XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter) (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
LOOKING FOR BETTER DEAL?
Ranked #104 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise... modern hotel with nice fitness center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2007

One of Amsterdam's great charms is the way its residences have evolved over the centuries... all over one sees wood-framed buildings leaning against each other. Unfortunately many of the hotels I've visited in Amsterdam have the same aged feeling: dark decors, dated bathrooms, and slightly sagging wooden floors.

Not the NH Museum Quarter, which is a fresh, contemporary hotel with appealing facilities. My room was on the sixth floor facing the canal. It was spacious and welcoming. The bathroom was really pleasant, with stone floors and light wooden fixtures. The staff were generally helpful. The bar area has a good atmosphere, and the fitness center is really convenient: free for guests 24 hours, several pieces of good-quality cardio equipment (bikes, tread mill, rowing machine, etc). Finally, the location is just fine, a short taxi ride to the central train station (or a pleasant 30-minute stroll, if it isn't raining!). There are numerous restaurants in the neighborhood within a 10-minute walk.

I'll definitely recommend this hotel to friends and stay here again next time in Amsterdam.

  • Liked — modern amenities, location
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    533
    159
    48
    19
See reviews for
143
508
51
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2007

The NH Museum Quarter is just a few minutes away from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and Stedelijk Museum. You can also walk to Leidseplain in about 10 minutes -- where you will find bars, restaurants, shopping, etc. So it's a pretty good location for the south part of Amsterdam.

There's a tram stop just around the corner from the hotel, so it's pretty quick and easy to get to the north/central part of Amsterdam too... It was also very easy to get to the hotel from the airport by taking a train to Centraal Station, and then a tram (number 16 or 24) from there to the hotel.

The room I stayed in had air con, fridge (no minibar), safe, TV and wi-fi connectivity (not free!). There are vending machines on every floor selling soft drinks and beer, plus there is 24hr room service. I believe that there is also a gym, although I did not have time to go and see it.

The breakfast (included) was decent -- the usual continental selection of breads, pastries, meats, cheeses... Plus hot food such as bacon, sausages, scrambled eggs, etc. They also have a "cook to order" service at breakfast which is very good! I can recommend the omlette!

So, overall, the hotel didn't "blow me away"... But it's decent, clean, safe, and comfortable. Nothing special. But I would have no hesitation in recommending it for either business or leisure.

I also got a great deal on the hotel by using the TripAdvisor "View All Best Deals" service. Before that, I had checked every internet hotel booking site I could think of, and every single site was giving me the exact same price... I even called NH hotels direct, and was again quoted the same price. But using the "View All Best Deals" link on this site, I managed to find a price that was about 30% cheaper than the price quoted everywhere else!! So well done TripAdvisor!

  • Liked — The location and the price!!
  • Disliked — The empty minibar and the expensive wi-fi
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2007

We booked the hotel through the NH web site after reading the positive reveiws that have been posted. All in all the hotel was adequate but was a bit dissappointed with a few aspects, firstly we were left a bit miffed by the room service, after ringing down for a pot of tea we were brought up a couple of tea bags and told we had the facilities in the room, secondly we could not order any bar food after 3pm and found the bar shut at mid night at the weekend ?

We found the room and the facilities clean and well presented and the staff overall were very friendly, but felt we could have found better value elsewhere.

  • Liked — size of the room
  • Disliked — room service
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2006

We stayed here for 2 nights in early December and cannot fault it at all. We were given a room on the 7th floor with a canal view and floor to ceiling windows with great views over the rooftops of Amsterdam. The room was clean and spacious with a nice selection of bathroom products and a tea/coffee tray. The reception staff were wonderful - really friendly and extremely helpful giving us restaurant recommendations and general information.

Two tram lines serve the stop nearby but we managed to walk into town a couple of times without too much trouble.

If you arrive by tram get off at Ruysdaelstraat and walk back towards the bridge/canal and then turn left and the hotel is a couple of minutes walk on the left hand side.

Great hotel, great staff - what more can you ask for.

  • Liked — Location, curteous and helpful staff.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2006

This was not a first choice, but was near where our friends were staying. First off this is a modern purpose built hotel and is very well furnished and decorated. Staff were very polite, friendly i couldn't fault them. Our room a superior one on the 6th floor was huge and extremely comfortable and so quiet! The Tram lines 16 and 24 stop just a few moments away (RuydaelStraat) and take 10/15 minutes to Centraal Station. Also best steaks in Amsterdam at Cafe Loetje is just down the street from the tram stop. The main museums and the best shopping street (PC Hoofstraat) are also in close proximity. It's also within minutes of Albert Cuypstraat and Amsterdams largest general street market so it's position is really great especially if you like a bit of peace and quiet after a days sightseeing.

  • Liked — Clean, modern , tasteful, great position, very comfortable, great staff
  • Disliked — A bit soul less, extra charge for Wifi in room (
  • Tips/Secrets — The superior rooms are worth the extra!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2006

Good feel about the place the minute you walk in. Bright, modern reception area. Staff at all times very couteous and helpful. Room was fabulous - incredibly comfortable bed. We had very large room on sixth floor with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the canal. Admittedly not much to see beyond that apart from a few blocks of rooftops. It is quite a stroll from the centre should you decide to walk but 16 and 24 trams run from stop about 3 minutes walk from hotel. We bought a stripkarten from a tobacconists (15 trips for 6.70 euros and lasted both of us all weekend). There is also a night bus service which stops very close although both nights running, after visiting a few of the bars in the centre, we opted for taxis (should be about 10 euros after midnight on the meter). Unfortunately got ripped off the second night - charged 20 euros for same trip and driver suddenly decided he didn't speak English when I queried the reason for the tortuous route taken.

Hotel less than 10 minutes walk to Museumplein. Recommend the Cobra cafe - delightful sitting in sunshine for brunch.

I would recommend the hotel, certainly for couples, and would certainly stay there again. In a city where accommodation seems very expensive this place didn't seem too bad for price.

  • Liked — Room size & decor
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2006

Stayed here for 2 nights. Quiet area, but not too far from the centre. I think we had the best room. Very Clean, massive bed!

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#80 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,605 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#168 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 2,027 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#67 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#54 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 941 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#121 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#40 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Address: Hobbemakade 50, 1071 XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#79 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the 4-star NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter are surrounded by the art and culture of beautiful Amsterdam from our central location between a picturesque canal and the famous Museum Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, NHHotels, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Otel so you can book your NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Museum Quarter Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.