We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I still dream about their wonderful breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hobbemakade 50, 1071 XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter) (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER PROMO
Ranked #86 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sheffield
2 reviews
“I still dream about their wonderful breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

Stayed for a week as a birthday treat and to catch a gig at the Melksweg - got a fantastic deal on this hotel with breakfast included which was a great bonus. Excellent location walking distance to the museum quarter where Van Gogh Museum is. Just across from VG is the best museum in the world (probably) Bols Museum (the famous cocktail ingredient) colourful and fun with free cocktails and shots at the end - brilliant at 4pm! Had a canal side view in a quiet location but easy to walk into town - Boom Chicago is worth a visit if you get chance. Hotel was comfortable and a good size room although not much storage. We were moved into the smoking wing after the first night as they'd not been available on our first night despite booking. All fine though but smoking wing only appeared to be accessible by lift - we found this out when we were shut out of the hotel in an attempt to save electricity by using stairs - actually a fire escape! Helpful staff on fag break fortunately snuck us back in. Hotel caters for airline staff which was fine and meant amazing array at breakfast, anything you could possibly imagine wanting at that time was provided and extra late lunch on Sunday (open til 12!) Didn't bother with the restaurant as the bar man advised we just heat it up in the microwave same as room service, he seemed more bothered about chatting to the drinkers.... reception staff were fantastic though and very helpful. All in all had an amazing holiday, good friendly staff and the best breakfasts ever! Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    504
    149
    42
    18
See reviews for
130
485
48
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

Standard 4 star hotel in a nice location to explore this lively city .Seems to be used by a lot of airlines for staff accomodation . We found the hotel staff to be very polite and good natured .We had a decent room overlooking the canal , nice Queen sized bed , decent hdtv and bathroom . Having been a few times before to Amsterdam this area was my favourite as a base to explore , a nice upmarket area with decent places to eat , a very nice coffee shop ( katsu , just off the market ), and even it's own mini ( read 4 windows ) red light area if thats your cup of tea . We went to see Boom Chicago on the Leidesplein , about a ten minute walk , museums very close and if walking is not for you the tram stops very close .This is a nice hotel and area for a romantic weekend .

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Arlington NJ
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

I chose this hotel because other reviewers said it was away from all the craziness. That is true. This hotel is located in an upscale neighborhood within easy walking distance of The Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum and Vondelpark. The Leidesplein is also only a 10 minute walk. Two tram lines easily connect the hotel with Centraal Station.

The hotel itself is modern and comfortable. I found my room to be large and well appointed, except for one curious thing. There was almost no storage for clothes. Not one dresser drawer to be found. I did have a canal view and enjoyed it, but if you absolutely want quiet, I suggest you get a room facing the courtyard.

Service was very good. Breakfast was better than most buffets and included eggs to order, but you had to ask the lovely woman manning the dining room. In short, this is a well run, comfortable property, away from the crowds but close enough to the hot spots too.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBLIN
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

stayed for one night in june ,never heard of this chain ,booked with hotel via travelsupermarket.com ,price very acceptable ,not plush as in 5 star sense but a very clean ,great staff ,large room ,very good location 15 min walk to centre of amsterdam ,grat location for 1-2 ngt stays (transit hotel ) ,located on a quiet street beside a canal ,lots of transport near by ,would i stay again ,yes .alan

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

We had a romantic weekend with my boyfriend. We decided to stay there as we found a very cheap offer online. When we arrived to the hotel we relaised we booked the wrong date. Oops!!! They were amazing, they allowed us to stay for the same price and even upgraded us to canal view for free. The employees were all very nice and helpful. We rented bikes in the hotel and had a FAB weekend!!! With no doubt we will stay at NH Museum Quarter again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

Stayed here for 4 nights and was very happy overall. We had 2 rooms in a nice quiet side as we requested and rooms very large and comfortable.
One lift was out of order for a few days but that was a minor issue. Breakfast was included and we found it very good .

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
Level Contributor
90 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

Upon arrival I was welcomed by a nice receptionist - but that was quite the last positive thing to say about this hotel. I arrived in the evening after a hot day and was looking forward to a bottle of water from the minibar, but it was empty, unfortunately . The carpet was disgusting, with black stains. In the bathroom there were stains on the floor, when I arrived and they stayed there during my 2 nights stay. There was thick dust on the wooden surfaces. The furniture is worn. After the first night the cleaning lady took the bag from the waste basket and left it in the middle of my room. I asked the receptionist (a young lady) for a restaurant recommendation for an Indonesian restaurant and she told me “you can walk and look for one”. ..
The location is nice though, in a very green and picturesque area, near to “Spiegel Quarter” and the museums (Van Gogh, Rijksmuseum, Concert Gebow, etc.), with lots of cafes and pubs around.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#81 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,545 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#164 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,927 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#75 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#126 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 535 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#41 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#55 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Address: Hobbemakade 50, 1071 XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the 4-star NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter are surrounded by the art and culture of beautiful Amsterdam from our central location between a picturesque canal and the famous Museum Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, NHHotels, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Museum Quarter Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.