We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hobbemakade 50, 1071 XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter) (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER PROMO
Ranked #87 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bangalore
1 review
“Value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Excellent location if you're doing the museum trail- walking distance to the Rijks Museum,Van Gogh Museum & the Stedelijks Museum - three gems in one cluster ! Convenient tram stop nearby to get to the city centre/red light district. Courteous staff - bought all museum tickets at reception. And comfy rooms at this top class NH hotel!

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    505
    149
    42
    18
See reviews for
132
485
48
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel for 8 nights in July. The hotel was very comfortable, non-smoking throughout, and in a great location close to the Museumsplein and trams. We were celebrating a birthday and an anniversary and we very much appreciated a gift of wine delivered to our room. We booked through the "summer promo" through the NH website which included breakfast but when we arrived we were told to our dismay there was a mistake with the website and that breakfast was not included, however this was resolved quickly by Brenda the hotel manager. The breakfast was very good with plenty of options. We would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

very clean and spacious room with a good sized safe, clean bathroom with a blow dryer, the wardrobe doesn't have enough space but it has an iron and an ironing board. The view from the 5th floor up is beautiful, and the location is very convenient with museums, coffee shops, souvenir shops and red lights nearby.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Kamilalaa,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay.
It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed our clean rooms and great location very much.

Please come back.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spacious room, super neat and clean. Amazing and healthy breakfast with a lot of choice and fresh fruit. Best location! The only issue is to park the car as public parking is very expensive, as well as the parking provided by hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the channel side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Bolrik,

Thank you so much for your kind words.
We are happy to read that you have had a wonderful stay.
regarding the parking maybe a tip for next time: another option which is less expensive P+R Olympisch Stadion. Here you can park your car outside the city center and also get a public transport ticket.
The parking garage next to the hotel has just opened, although it has the same name, it is not part of the hotel. It is exploit by a private person.

We do hope to see you again at NH Museum Quarter.

Kind Regards,
Brenda van Zuidam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a complimentary upgrade from a standard room to a superior room on the 7th floor overlooking the canal, with a magnificent view over Amsterdam. The room was huge, spotless with everything needed for a comfortable stay. Free wifi was another bonus. Breakfast was superb, with a hot selection, cereals, fruits, pastries, cold meats teas, coffee etc. help yourself and as much as you want.

Reception check in could have been quicker after a long journey, but due to being checked in by a Trainee Receptionist I quickly overlooked this fact.

Room Tip: Higher floors give magnificent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed five nights in July 2015
I chose this hotel because of its close proximity to three major Amsterdam museums: the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh and Stedelijk. Also close to these is the world renowned concert hall, the Royal Concertebouw.

The NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter Hotel is about a ten minute walk to each of these attractions and a five minute walk to a regular tram service into the main CBD area and Centraal Station. I'd arrived in Amsterdam Centraal on the Thalys train and the easy transition from station to hotel via the no 16 or 24 tram adjacent to the station made life easy and saved me having to take a cab to the hotel.

The hotel faces a canal and I was impressed to be upgraded to a 'canal view' room at no extra cost on arrival although I'd only booked a 'standard' room. On the website, there was an additional charge for rooms facing the canal so I was very happy that this was offered to me without asking for it.

The room was large and comfortable with plenty of surface space but it lacked drawers for clothes storage. There was a wardrobe, a security safe, a deep bath with shower and adequate shelf space in the bathroom and bedroom. Free wifi was included.

The queen size bed was most comfortable and the heating/cooling control most responsive. Lighting was good and there was a small refrigerator/minibar. On arrival, I requested that the minibar be emptied and was assured it would be, however for the duration of my stay, the contents remained on top of the unit where I'd placed them.

On the down side, the room service was lacking with tea bags, sugar etc not replaced on the rare visits by the room staff. I think the room was only cleaned two or three days out of five however this was not a major concern for me. The dining room breakfast set up starts at 7.00am on the ground floor and was adequate but limited in variety. Overall I wouldn't call the service particularly friendly. I sometimes felt like a nuisance for asking.

I enjoyed the view of the canal but it was slightly marred by the pigeon poo on the ledge outside the window for the five days I stayed there. Am I asking too much for it to be cleaned off from time to time ?

Room Tip: Try and face the canal if possible
See more room tips
Green Features: I placed my towels on the rack to save them being washed, as per eco instructions, but they were still replaced with new towels.
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's far from tram station around 8-9 min of walking to reach to a tram station. The service is not great. No one is there to help with your luggage. When requested for an empty plate they have asked for a service charge of €5 to deliver it to room. Which in other hotels is always there for you to use. Hotel rooms are old and has a little smell. Rooms are big and spacious which is good. Overall it's a ok hotel pls don't go for the name NH as its not to NH standards.

Stayed July 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Sbgemstw,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. This is how we are able to improve our services on a daily basis.
I am very sorry to read that a service charge was asked for bringing up a plate; definitely not needed. I will talk with my colleagues about this. We have as much NH Standards as possible for this moment, new beds, new hairdryers, new tv's. Maybe you want to come in contact with me to discuss what you where missing?

I apologize for that you where not satisfied for your stay; we are going to work on our services.

Kind Regards,
Brenda van Zuidam
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#79 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,550 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#165 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,932 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#75 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#124 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 537 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#41 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#54 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Address: Hobbemakade 50, 1071 XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the 4-star NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter are surrounded by the art and culture of beautiful Amsterdam from our central location between a picturesque canal and the famous Museum Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, NHHotels, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Museum Quarter Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.