We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing, within the madness!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Museum Quarter

Save Saved
You added NH Museum Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Museum Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hobbemakade, 50 | Old South, Museumplein, 1071XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #87 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Chester, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“relaxing, within the madness!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

This hotel was a great find. As we were in Amsterdam for the Easter weekend, it was very difficult to find anywhere at all within budget, that wasn't miles away or a hostel. This place seemed cheap, and near enough to walk to the centre - my two main considerations! However, this place was much more than that. We arrived at ten AM, after having been up since 3am. We were fully expecting to be told we had to come back after 2, but were pleasantly surprised to be told that there was a room available. We had booked a smoking room, and we still don't know if what we got was a soming room or not. There were no ash trays, but also no "no smoking" signs. We smoked in there and had no problems.

One thing - they wanted to take an impression of a credit card, but as we wanted to pay in cash they took a 50 pound deposit instead. This was re imbursed on our last day, and it worked out well because it meant that we didn't have to worry about keeping money aside for the last day.

The location is good - really nice bar over the road, and near to nice bars, cafes, etc. I was concerned it was too far from the centre, but I realise now that the centre really isn't all that great, and the areas further out are nicer and less tacky. It took us about 20 mins to walk to Dam square, which was fine, and as near as I would want to be to the place! One thing about the trams- really easy to use and cheap, but we did have trouble getting off at the right place! We never managed to get up in time, and always ended up getting off at the next stop. It wasn't a problem, but it might be worth bearing in mind. It's not a typically touristy stop, so you wont be able to rely on others getting off too.

We never ate in the hotel, so I can't comment on that. The bath was lovely, loads of hot water, as was the shower. It was all pretty quiet, even though we were by a lift. I also liked the fact that we got a lovely view of the canal, with nice big windows that opened. Good, as it was hot and sunny!

I liked this hotel because we felt like we were free to do as we liked; we never felt that we were being hassled, the room was nice and clean but we never saw the maid, and reception were really helpful if you asked for it. The fridge in the room worked well, the hairdryer was good, and the bed was large and comfy. I would definitely stay again. Only thing I wold change was the toiletries in the bathroom. There was only a small cheap looking shampoo and shower gel. As I imagine a lot of visitors will only be arriving with hand luggage and nothing else, it would have been good to have more toiletries.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    197
    358
    112
    30
    15
See reviews for
98
331
28
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

Had a lovely 3 night stay in this hotel very recently. It has a fantastic location in Amsterdam. Plenty of pubs, cafes and attractions nearby, and slightly outside the hustle and bustle of the city centre. Trams operate from just round the corner of the hotel to the city centre, but we took advantage of the nice weather and walked in. Doesn't take that long (20 minutes or so) and the sun was shining so was a pleasant stroll. Heineken Experience is only a few minutes away, as our various museums.

The rooms are very big. Huge bed, very light and airy too. We also had a canal view. Didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on the food. Staff were happy and helpful. One word of advice- don't make the mistake of getting a taxi from the train station to the hotel. I knew what trams went to very, very near the hotel, but through impatience decided on a cab. Cost a ridiculous 25 Euros. Hop on the number 16 or 24 tram and save yourself plenty of cash!

We were very fortunate, as we booked the room through a lastminute.com promotion and paid only £10 a night. The normal room rate is a bit out of my budget, but if I get a pay rise or want to treat myself the hotel is definately worth the money and would happily return for another stay

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

Very nice hotel, modern decor and great location. From central station trams 16 and 24 stop just around the corner and if you like to visit museums there are several only a short walk away. The staff were very polite and the bedroom was large and spotlessly clean. I did not use the restaurant so cannot comment on the food. I got a great deal with last minute.com £10 per night but would not hesitate to pay the full rate should we visit Amsterdam in the future.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

My wife and I have just returned from a 4 night stay at NH Museum Quarter. We booked the hotel through the NH Hotels website. Our 'deal' involved a king size room with canal view and included breakfast. I think we got a good package for what we paid. Our room was on the 7th (top) floor. It occupied a corner of the hotel above the hotel entrance. It, therefore, had a great view. The room had a significant amount of glass windows. We found that this amount of glass, plus the fact that Amsterdam was pretty cold during our stay - not a complaint because we were really pleased not to have rain during our four days, meant it was difficult to get the room to a reasonable temperature. We did find it cold in the room at times.

We were surprised, given the size of the room, at the lack of space for hanging and storing our clothes. Most of our clothes stayed in our suitcases as there was nowhere to put them. Had we been visiting at a warmer time of the year, i.e. less clothes taken with us, and for only one or two nights, the storage space would have been fine. Last negative comment: the lighting in the room could have been better.

Now for the positives:

All the staff in the reception and breakfast areas of the hotel were great, friendly and helpful at all times. The buffet breakfast was very good. It offered a good choice of hot and cold food and drink and was taken in a very nice dining room. We needed to leave the hotel early on our last day, before the buffet breakfast service commenced. We were very pleased that we were able to take an early room service breakfast at no extra cost.

The hotel is very clean and modern. We were very pleased with its location. We would not have wanted to have been in the busier centre of Amsterdam, and found the museum area to be just right. We could walk to the centre easily when we wanted to and found some very good restaurants close to the hotel. We were particulary pleased with Brasserie Bark and De Knijp, only 10 minutes walk away on Van Baerlestraat.

When we arrived at Schiphol we took the Connexxion shuttle to the hotel. We also used this for our return journey. This is an excellent value means of travelling between hotel and airport in Amsterdam.

On the whole we enjoyed staying at this hotel and think that it was a good choice. We would certainly stay at the hotel again if we return to Amsterdam.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of storage for clothes
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

This hotel is usually our first choice when staying in Amsterdam after going to a concert at the "Concertgebouw". The hotel is about a 10 minutes walk from the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh Museum. There is also a tram stop nearby (5 minutes by foot). Near the Leidseplein, approximately a 15 minutes walk from the hotel, are numerous restaurants. Check-in and check-out at the hotel is quick and businesslike. You can upgrade to a canal view room, but we have always been fortunate enough to have a canal view room without having to pay an additional fee. Rooms are quite large, especially compared to other Amsterdam hotels in the same price range. Rooms have coffee and tea making facilities, a small fridge (empty), an iron and ironing board, a small safe and a bathtub. On each floor there is an ice machine. If you arrive or leave early you can leave your luggage in a locked room near the lobby. We will definitely stay at this hotel again during future visits to Amsterdam. Great value for money!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Expensive breakfast
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, West Sussex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2008

Spent two nights in November 2008.

Everything was straight forward and efficient with this hotel. Nothing spectacular but everything you would expect from a chain hotel. Liken it to a Travelodge in the UK - clean, good basic level of service.

Location was good, just south of the Rijksmuseum and close to the excellent tram service - lines 16 and 24.

If you are looking for a simple, no-fuss hotel I'd definitely recommend this particular NH Hotel.

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2008

This is by far one of my favorite hotels my company uses!
The location is pretty good, near of the most important Amsterdam's museums and the town city center.
The staff is friendly and the whole hotel very cousy!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Museum Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Museum Quarter

Address: Hobbemakade, 50 | Old South, Museumplein, 1071XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Museum Quarter 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the 4-star NH Museum Quarter are surrounded by the art and culture of beautiful Amsterdam from our central location between a picturesque canal and the famous Museum Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL and TripOnline SA so you can book your NH Museum Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Museum Quarter Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Museum Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.