We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Save Saved
You added NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hobbemakade, 50 | Old South, Museumplein, 1071XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter) (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #87 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
White Plains, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location, great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is in a great location with a 10 minute walk from Museumplein. The room was big, with floor to ceiling windows of the city. We didn't use the restaurant. Everyone at the reception was courteous.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    366
    114
    30
    15
See reviews for
101
338
28
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is well located for museums and public transport. The room was very big as was the bed.The variety of food at breakfast was good and as it's available until 11am on weekdays, and 12 on Sundays makes it good for those on holiday. The hotel is tired and in need of redecoration. Although the bedroom was very clean there were stains on the carpet. The lock on the bathroom door was broken.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything was fantastic. I will go again. The breakfast was perfect. The position of hotel was in a near to museumplein and Heineken experience. The tram stop was near (about 100m) to hotel and using the line 16 or 24 you can get to the center in 10 minutes

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a superior room for 3 nights. The receptionist was less than helpful on arrival. We were tired and wanted dinner in the restaurant after a short afternoon nap. There were only 4 dinner selections, but the waiter told us that 2 were unavailable. When we said that the choice was pretty poor, he replied, "if you don't like the selection, there are plenty of restaurants down the street" which we thought was quite rude. The waitress at breakfast was equally as rude - she didn't greet anyone with "Good Morning", it was just "your room number?", and then promptly told everyone where they couldn't sit. The breakfast selection was very poor. The bacon and eggs were cold; had to put the bread through the toaster 4 times (and it was on the highest/darkest setting). Quite a distance to anything; even the hop-on hop-off bus was a 15 minute walk. Overall, wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone and definitely wouldn't be staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just come back from a five day stay here, the rooms were really big on the bed was huge, we also got a great view of the canals so we were really lucky, the lady who check just in was quite rude and a bit off putting and when we went to check for breakfast one of the server is really rude, overall it's a good hotel and in a good location if you want to be near the city but not at the heart of this is calm and it's a great spot

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Good afternoon,

First of all, I would like to thank you taking the time to write a review about your stay in NH Museum Quarter.

I’m very worried about the customer service provided as you mentioned in your review as one of our main objectives is to provide an excellent customer service. Please, I would really appreciate if you give us more information about your comments at nhmuseumquarter@nh-hotels.com to ensure this experience is not repeated with future guests of the hotel. Thismatter will be followed up, for sure.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope that you give us a second chance, to show you that we are able to provide a better service.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience this situation may have caused you.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed there for 5 nights in August whilst on a short break. We picked this location intentionally, perfectly close to Rijksmuseum and VanGogh Museum, but also only about a 15minute walk from the busy centre. Staff was quite formal, not too friendly, but the rooms and the view made up for it!
Room service was excellent! The hotel had free wifi, did not work on all our devices though. Great value for money hotel, lots of attractions, markets within walking distance, but there is a tram stop just across the hotel and lots of bus stops nearby for the lazy ones :)
If you like having breakfast in a hotel vs. local places, make sure you buy in when you check-in, the tend to have a promotion of 15Euros/Day/Person instead of 20Euros/Day/Person.
I definitely recommend it to everyone who is looking for a quiet(ish), city break style stay.

Room Tip: definitely chose a room with a view to the canals! They are very bright and romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Good afternoon,

First and foremost, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing us for your stay at NH Museum Quarter as well as for taking the time to send us your comments through Tripadvisor.

We were unpleasently surprised to read you found our staff quite formal and not to friendly. since one of our objectives is to provide an excellent customer service. I will sure this will be discussed in our management team.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope that you give us a second chance, to show you that we are able to provide a better service.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had one of the rooms on the top floor so had a great view out over the canal and the city beyond. As others have said the rooms and hotel décor could do with being updated but are still very pleasant and with good air conditioning and good sound proofing from the noise of the busy street outside. The hotel gym which is located in the basement has a mixture of equipment which is unfortunately not fastened to the floor and resulted in the exercise bike I was riding & the rowing machine moving around a lot. There are laundry facilities for the guests to do their own laundry and then to dry it afterwards, use of the driers is free but I believe there is a five euro charge for the washing machines or possibly the powder to use in them. The Hotel is located about a minutes walk from a tram stop on the 24 route which will get you to Amsterdam Central station in about 15 minutes and about a five minute walk from the Rijksmuseum. There are two supermarkets within a ten minute walk should you wish to get any supplies for your days activities as well as various Italian, Greek, Thai and Malaysian restaurants within five minutes walk of the hotel or the Hard Rock café 10 minutes walk away. Overall it is a nice comfortable hotel in a great location with friendly staff. I would be happy to stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: Go for a room on one of the upper floors which face the street, they have good views over the canal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you very much for your review about your stay in NH Museum Quarter. It is our pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam. Thank you for your comments about the gym. We will certeinly discuss the possibilities with our Technical Team.

We are looking forward to welconing you again at NH Museum Quarter.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Address: Hobbemakade, 50 | Old South, Museumplein, 1071XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#79 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the 4-star NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter are surrounded by the art and culture of beautiful Amsterdam from our central location between a picturesque canal and the famous Museum Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, NHHotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HotelsNL so you can book your NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Museum Quarter Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.