We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hobbemakade, 50 | Old South, Museumplein, 1071XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter) (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #82 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Friendly staff who of course spoke excellent English and were very helpful, spacious room, great breakfast and best location for the museums. We had a room overlooking the canal and I enjoyed watching the bike and boat traffic through the long evening.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for your review about NH Museum Quarter. It is always a pleasure to read you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and Amsterdam. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in NH Museum Quarter or in one of our other hotels.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    378
    114
    31
    15
See reviews for
105
349
28
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
calgary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We had a great stay. The front desk workers were wonderful. So helpful and kind.

We were given a free upgrade to a beautiful room that had floor to ceiling windows, and an amazing view of the canal. We were very happy with that. We later realized that we might have been given the upgrade, because the rooms at the top of the hotel were so hot, but we were happy with it nevertheless.

The location was great. We really liked the Pijp area, which is just on the other side of the canal. There were lots of great restaurants, and good people watching in that area.

The location was also great for access to the tram. We caught trams easily from the hotel to get to Centraal Station. We also found it very easy to walk to Vondel Park and other sightseeing areas.

We also appreciated having access to free laundry in the basement.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for your review about the NH Museum Quarter. It is a pleasure to read you had a great time in Amsterdam and that we contributed to that. I have shared your review with the team.

I would also like to thank you about the remark about the rooms on the top floor. These are the best rooms in the hotel, but on a hot sunny summer day they can be hot because of the windows from floor to ceiling. We always advise our guests to keep the curtains closed during the day to keep the sun out.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This hotel is ideally located right next to a canal and near so many wonderful museums (plus Vondel Park). Our room was big and bright with a beautiful view. The beds and TV were new, but the rug in the room was ready for an overhaul, which they are in the process of doing floor by floor. We utilized the free tea/coffee provided in our room, as well as the vending machine for some stroopwaffles with it. There is a wonderful little cafe right behind the hotel for a good breakfast. The best thing about the hotel is the staff who were so helpful and answered our multitude of questions, as well as provided us with maps and directions to use the trams around the city. It was our favorite hotel (out of three) on this trip!

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view so you can look out and see waterbirds serenely floating by!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for your review through Tripadvisor and for the trust you have placed in NH Museum Quarter.

It was a real pleasure to read your comments about our hotel. I have shared these with our staff. They are the principal of our values, a service characterized by professionalism and continuous effort to satisfy all our customers. I assure you that comments like yours provides with the esteem to continue in our daily effort and it is our commitment to show that we can
make you feel surprised and special while staying with us.

Hoping to welcome you for your next stay with us.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Friendly and helpful staff.
big rooms and in our case nice views.
little bit disapointing breakfast when compairing with NH standards.
There is no Parking!!
Free Wifi
very close to van Gogh Museum and Reijksmuseum.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Good afternoon,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing us for your stay at NH Museum Quarter as well as for taking the time to send us your comments.

We were very happy to read you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel regarding our rooms and staff. We would also like to thank you for the comments regarding our breakfast. The Antiox breakfast concept is made to fulfill our guest´s demand on a healthy, variety and tasty breakfast. This concept can be found in all hotels of the NH Hotel group, and I am dissapointed to read your experience where our breakfast did not meet the NH standards.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I can only write good things about this great 4-star hotel. Originally our travel agent placed us in a hotel in in the centre of Amsterdam where we were overwhelmed by the crowds, scruffy streets and equally scruffy looking coffee shop patrons. We didn't feel comfortable and being over 50 out of our comfort zone. In desperation and having had a great experience at an NH Hotel in Leon, Spain I called the NH in the Museum Quarter, after noticing while on the hop-on-hop-off bus that the area looked clean and enticing with an abundance of shops, cafes and beautiful traditional buildings. We were not disappointed and received 5-star service from the moment we set foot in the door.
We were offered an upgrade to a larger room with free breakfast for 15 euro inclusive, which we promptly accepted. Our room was much bigger than standard hotel rooms, with a view over the canal outside and had every feature we could possibly need including free Wi-Fi. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff are amazing in their helpfulness and dedicated service to the guests. And it has a guest laundry which was such a bonus after travelling around Europe for some weeks. Breakfast was a choice of hot English or continental and the lounge areas were cosy and comfortable. The World Cup was on and we happened to be in Amsterdam on the night The Netherlands played Brazil - the place was rocking with orange shirts, shirts and onesies everywhere!!! Great fun.
When I arrived home I realised I left a small article of clothing behind in the guest room. However, no problems at all - the staff were on to it immediately and it is now winging its way to Australia. I can't write highly enough of the attention we received from the staff at this hotel. I will definitely seek out NH Hotels wherever I travel.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms overlook a well used canal. Always something to see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Good afternoon,

First, let me show you my sincere gratitude for taking the time in sending us your
review through Tripadvisor and for the trust you have placed in our hotel, by choosing it
for your stay at NH Museum Quarter,

I really appreciate the excellent comments, that I have shared with our staff. They are
the principal of our values, a service characterized by professionalism and continuous
effort to satisfy all our customers. I assure you that comments like yours provides with
the esteem to continue in our daily effort and it is our commitment to show that we can
make you feel surprised and special while staying with us.

Hoping to welcome you for your next stay with us so that I can meet you personally.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Good service as well! We asked about a local vegetarian option (there are many in town) and the Receptionist was very helpful. Bar service was a bit slow initially (and not busy at the time) but after catching the bartender's eye the situation improved. Peaceful inner courtyard too, where I could enjoy my bar purchase!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for your review. It is a pleasure to read you had a great time in NH Museum Quarter and in Amsterdam. We are looking formward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Quality accommodation with friendly staff would recommend to all of my work colleagues and friends
Ideal location for those visiting the museums and interesting walks to the town centre
Look forward to my next visit to be able to more of the surrounding area




  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review. What a pleasure to read you will come to visit us again in the future and hopelfulloy a lot of your friends and colleagues too!

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Address: Hobbemakade, 50 | Old South, Museumplein, 1071XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#69 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the 4-star NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter are surrounded by the art and culture of beautiful Amsterdam from our central location between a picturesque canal and the famous Museum Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Museum Quarter Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.