We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice in Amsterdam” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Museum Quarter

Save Saved
You added NH Museum Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
NH Museum Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hobbemakade 50, 1071 XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #87 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Karlsruhe, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good choice in Amsterdam”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Friendly and helpful staff.
big rooms and in our case nice views.
little bit disapointing breakfast when compairing with NH standards.
There is no Parking!!
Free Wifi
very close to van Gogh Museum and Reijksmuseum.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    343
    107
    30
    15
See reviews for
88
319
28
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I can only write good things about this great 4-star hotel. Originally our travel agent placed us in a hotel in in the centre of Amsterdam where we were overwhelmed by the crowds, scruffy streets and equally scruffy looking coffee shop patrons. We didn't feel comfortable and being over 50 out of our comfort zone. In desperation and having had a great experience at an NH Hotel in Leon, Spain I called the NH in the Museum Quarter, after noticing while on the hop-on-hop-off bus that the area looked clean and enticing with an abundance of shops, cafes and beautiful traditional buildings. We were not disappointed and received 5-star service from the moment we set foot in the door.
We were offered an upgrade to a larger room with free breakfast for 15 euro inclusive, which we promptly accepted. Our room was much bigger than standard hotel rooms, with a view over the canal outside and had every feature we could possibly need including free Wi-Fi. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff are amazing in their helpfulness and dedicated service to the guests. And it has a guest laundry which was such a bonus after travelling around Europe for some weeks. Breakfast was a choice of hot English or continental and the lounge areas were cosy and comfortable. The World Cup was on and we happened to be in Amsterdam on the night The Netherlands played Brazil - the place was rocking with orange shirts, shirts and onesies everywhere!!! Great fun.
When I arrived home I realised I left a small article of clothing behind in the guest room. However, no problems at all - the staff were on to it immediately and it is now winging its way to Australia. I can't write highly enough of the attention we received from the staff at this hotel. I will definitely seek out NH Hotels wherever I travel.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms overlook a well used canal. Always something to see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good service as well! We asked about a local vegetarian option (there are many in town) and the Receptionist was very helpful. Bar service was a bit slow initially (and not busy at the time) but after catching the bartender's eye the situation improved. Peaceful inner courtyard too, where I could enjoy my bar purchase!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Museum Quarter, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for your review. It is a pleasure to read you had a great time in NH Museum Quarter and in Amsterdam. We are looking formward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Quality accommodation with friendly staff would recommend to all of my work colleagues and friends
Ideal location for those visiting the museums and interesting walks to the town centre
Look forward to my next visit to be able to more of the surrounding area




  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Museum Quarter, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review. What a pleasure to read you will come to visit us again in the future and hopelfulloy a lot of your friends and colleagues too!

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a great hotel. It was quiet, away from the hub of the train station area and close to the Riyk's and Van Gogh museums. They have bikes to rent and it is easy to catch a tram to wherever you want to go. The front of the hotel overlooks a canal, which is inherently relaxing and beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Museum Quarter, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to read you had a wonderful stay in Amsterdam.We hope to welcoming you again in our hotel!

Kind regards,
Nataja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was very handy to some nice restaurants, trendy bars, easy transport (trams are best) and a great view of the canal which had plenty activity every day to watch. Staff were friendly and helpful .
Breakfast was not included however there are markets every day 5 minutes walk where you can get an array of delicious food. We highly recommend Venetto cafe just over the bridge on right hand side before you get to the markets.... Absolutely beautiful fresh healthy food yum!

Room Tip: Get a room with a canal view.... Very entertaining
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Museum Quarter, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read your enjoyed the location of the hotel and the nice suroundings. Will you come and visit us again?

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is quite old and needs renovation. Our room was spacious but lacks proper furniture. You walk in the bathroom and feel you are in the fifties of last century. Our room rate did not include breakfast. Upon checking in, we were offered the buffet for 15 Euros per person. We took it for 2 days and cancelled it for the rest of our stay for its poor quality and value. I would not certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Museum Quarter, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for your review. We constantly aim to provide our guests with the finest of facilities and services and it was a great disappointment to read that we were not able to meet up with your expectations. Please accept my apologies, although I understand this will not change your experience in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH MuseumkQuarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Museum Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Museum Quarter

Address: Hobbemakade 50, 1071 XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#87 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Museum Quarter 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Venere, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com and HotelsNL so you can book your NH Museum Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Museum Quarter Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Museum Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.