We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hobbemakade, 50 | Old South, Museumplein, 1071XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter) (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #83 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Moscow, Russia
1 review
“Very good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Good service as well! We asked about a local vegetarian option (there are many in town) and the Receptionist was very helpful. Bar service was a bit slow initially (and not busy at the time) but after catching the bartender's eye the situation improved. Peaceful inner courtyard too, where I could enjoy my bar purchase!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for your review. It is a pleasure to read you had a great time in NH Museum Quarter and in Amsterdam. We are looking formward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    376
    114
    31
    15
See reviews for
105
347
28
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Quality accommodation with friendly staff would recommend to all of my work colleagues and friends
Ideal location for those visiting the museums and interesting walks to the town centre
Look forward to my next visit to be able to more of the surrounding area




  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review. What a pleasure to read you will come to visit us again in the future and hopelfulloy a lot of your friends and colleagues too!

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This was a great hotel. It was quiet, away from the hub of the train station area and close to the Riyk's and Van Gogh museums. They have bikes to rent and it is easy to catch a tram to wherever you want to go. The front of the hotel overlooks a canal, which is inherently relaxing and beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to read you had a wonderful stay in Amsterdam.We hope to welcoming you again in our hotel!

Kind regards,
Nataja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The hotel was very handy to some nice restaurants, trendy bars, easy transport (trams are best) and a great view of the canal which had plenty activity every day to watch. Staff were friendly and helpful .
Breakfast was not included however there are markets every day 5 minutes walk where you can get an array of delicious food. We highly recommend Venetto cafe just over the bridge on right hand side before you get to the markets.... Absolutely beautiful fresh healthy food yum!

Room Tip: Get a room with a canal view.... Very entertaining
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read your enjoyed the location of the hotel and the nice suroundings. Will you come and visit us again?

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This hotel is quite old and needs renovation. Our room was spacious but lacks proper furniture. You walk in the bathroom and feel you are in the fifties of last century. Our room rate did not include breakfast. Upon checking in, we were offered the buffet for 15 Euros per person. We took it for 2 days and cancelled it for the rest of our stay for its poor quality and value. I would not certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for your review. We constantly aim to provide our guests with the finest of facilities and services and it was a great disappointment to read that we were not able to meet up with your expectations. Please accept my apologies, although I understand this will not change your experience in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH MuseumkQuarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed two nights in a "superior" room. The room and bathroom combined were about 60sqm, very large. We were supposed to have a king-sized bed but we think it was more a queen-size. The doona was too small for the bed. The two-seater lounge cover was stained. The carpet was stained and some idiot had previously put the iron on the carpet and burnt it. On the other hand the room was well furnished with the lounge, a table and two chairs and a desk. The wi-fi worked well. The room had plenty of power outlets. In general the room was very big, comfortable but due for renovation.

The location is just a few minutes stroll to the Rijksmuseum and Museum Plein, and in the other direction a few minutes stroll to many cafes. Across the canal and a few hundred metres away is the Albert Cuypstraat markets which are worth a visit to sample all sorts of Dutch delicacies and the usual market products. They stretch for several street blocks and are not overly-crowded..

Room Tip: A superior room does not cost that much more but gives heaps of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for your review. And thank you for your remarks about the room. These comments will definitely be shared with our headquarters, which might speed up things for renovating the carpet etc. in the room you are talking about.

We hope to welcoming you again in NH Museum Quarter.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Amsterdam was a wonderful city and the location and convenience of this hotel was excellent.
I am writing the review because my husband forgot a pair of slacks in the closet before we continued to Copenhagen and a 9 day cruise. When we got back to the states, I contacted the hotel and they were kind enough to correspond with me and send the abandoned pants back to us, at their expense. The experience of dealing with human beings who were kind, sensitive, and had a sense of humor enhanced our trip and will make for a lovely footnote to the vacation. A great place to stay -- you are treated as a personal guest.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review. I am very proud and happy to read you felt treated as a personal guest. That is exactly hat we aim for. And off course, it is our pleasure to return your forgotten pants.

Will you come and visit us again some day?

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Address: Hobbemakade, 50 | Old South, Museumplein, 1071XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#68 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the 4-star NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter are surrounded by the art and culture of beautiful Amsterdam from our central location between a picturesque canal and the famous Museum Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Museum Quarter Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.