We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the museums” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hobbemakade, 50 | Old South, Museumplein, 1071XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter) (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #89 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location for the museums”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed two nights in a "superior" room. The room and bathroom combined were about 60sqm, very large. We were supposed to have a king-sized bed but we think it was more a queen-size. The doona was too small for the bed. The two-seater lounge cover was stained. The carpet was stained and some idiot had previously put the iron on the carpet and burnt it. On the other hand the room was well furnished with the lounge, a table and two chairs and a desk. The wi-fi worked well. The room had plenty of power outlets. In general the room was very big, comfortable but due for renovation.

The location is just a few minutes stroll to the Rijksmuseum and Museum Plein, and in the other direction a few minutes stroll to many cafes. Across the canal and a few hundred metres away is the Albert Cuypstraat markets which are worth a visit to sample all sorts of Dutch delicacies and the usual market products. They stretch for several street blocks and are not overly-crowded..

Room Tip: A superior room does not cost that much more but gives heaps of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for your review. And thank you for your remarks about the room. These comments will definitely be shared with our headquarters, which might speed up things for renovating the carpet etc. in the room you are talking about.

We hope to welcoming you again in NH Museum Quarter.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    388
    118
    34
    15
See reviews for
108
351
31
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Amsterdam was a wonderful city and the location and convenience of this hotel was excellent.
I am writing the review because my husband forgot a pair of slacks in the closet before we continued to Copenhagen and a 9 day cruise. When we got back to the states, I contacted the hotel and they were kind enough to correspond with me and send the abandoned pants back to us, at their expense. The experience of dealing with human beings who were kind, sensitive, and had a sense of humor enhanced our trip and will make for a lovely footnote to the vacation. A great place to stay -- you are treated as a personal guest.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review. I am very proud and happy to read you felt treated as a personal guest. That is exactly hat we aim for. And off course, it is our pleasure to return your forgotten pants.

Will you come and visit us again some day?

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This hotel has been a very pleasant experience. Large rooms (Superior) overlooking canal. Clean, quiet, beautiful. Great location. One block from the museums, two blocks from very nice restaurants. Wi-FI in rooms is strong. What more can I say. If coming to Amsterdam, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Get the superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your nice words about our hotel. We are very happy to read you enjoyed your time with us. Adn we are looking forward to welcoming you again off course.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville tn
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Well situated hotel, close in without being so overwhelmed by the Amsterdam Street Life.
Excellent morning best, good gym, nice staff. Rooms were very spacious and quiet.
Very close to 14&26 Tram Lines and all the good museums.

Room Tip: seventh floor has huge windows with great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for tour review. We are happy te read you enjoyed your stay in NH Museum Quarter and Amsterdam! We hope to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gangelt, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

My husband & I stayed here using Travelocity's "secret deal" which doesn't tell you which hotel you get until after you book it. I was looking at this hotel anyways-at 160€ per night however when I did the secret deal, I got it for $153 per night, so about a 50€ savings. The location is amazing-less than 1/2 mile from Rijks museum, close to lots of places to eat & shop, full bar & restaurant in hotel, staff was great, room was excellent.
Only thing that sucked is I looked up to see if the hotel had parking prior to coming because parking in Amsterdam is notorious-yes we found parking (hotel doesn't have it-you need to park on the street), it was 36€ for 24 hours!!! Ouch! That sucked. So make sure you include the price of parking in your budget. Other than that, hotel rocked. Would totally stay there again.
C

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for your nice review about the hotel. It is an absolute pleasure to read you were surprised about our location. Indeed, parking in Amsterdam is expensive. We usually advise our guests to use the Park and Ride (P+R) facilities in Amsterdam. Usually, that is the cheapest option if you travel by car.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Had two nights here recently and as most reviews its good location and amenities make it worth a stay.We had a room on 5th floor overlooking canal and was very well presented except that the carpet could do with replacing,due to wear and tear and dirt and stains.The rest of the room was excellant,spacious, clean and very quiet.The bed was also very comfortable.The hotel was very handy to the trams and the museums and other attractions in the general area.We had breakfast on two occasions and it was good.If in Amsterdam we would happily return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing canal have nicer views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for your review. Unfortunately, we are aware in some rooms the carpet needs to be replaced. There are some staines which cannot be removed, how hard we have tried. We have plans to renew the carpet in the hotel, although we don't have a definite date yet.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

A wonderful experience for our first trip to Amsterdam. Would definitely go back to the same hotel. Food excellent - beds very comfortable - cleanliness excellent. Very quiet location - easy access to Dam Square.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for your nice words about NH Museum Quarter. It is wonderful to read you had a great time in our hotel and Amsterdam. Thank you again!

Will you come and visit us again?

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Address: Hobbemakade, 50 | Old South, Museumplein, 1071XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#66 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the 4-star NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter are surrounded by the art and culture of beautiful Amsterdam from our central location between a picturesque canal and the famous Museum Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, NHHotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Otel, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Museum Quarter Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.