We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hobbemakade, 50 | Old South, Museumplein, 1071XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter) (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #89 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Surrey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Great hotel and friendly staff.Breakfast catered for everyone.Location for touring was superb with easy access to all attractions via trams.The people in general are very nice,would certainly return there at some point.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you very much for your review about NH Muiseum Quarter. We are happy to read you had a great time in Amsterdam. We will be more than happy to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    395
    119
    35
    15
See reviews for
108
358
31
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed in Oct 2013 with this being our first trip away with our 6 month old baby.

The location is perfect for museum hopping and it is an easy walk in to the canal area if you wish to explore. Our room was on the top floor and really airy and spacious with floor to ceiling windows and the cot with baby blanket and baby toiletries was a nice touch on arrival.

We would have had a perfect stay but for a couple of issues-1) the reception staff were pretty unfriendly on check in and throughout our stay 2) the wifi code was not automatically provided at check in and changed on a daily basis requiring numerous trips back down to reception to get the code 3) strangely the mini fridge was locked on arrival and again this required me to go back down again to the reception to get a key - why could this not have been provided at check in?! 4) on our last day the room had not been cleaned or beds made up and when we asked about this we were told we had put the 'do not disturb' sign on the door-of course we would not have as we were complaining! and finally 5) one of our baby towels was taken away by the cleaner and when we enquired about it they staff were not very apologetic although eventually they sent a replacement towel to our home.
This could be a great hotel for a weekend break but it was let down by things which could easily be fixed-it is the little details like this that you would expect as standard from a 4* hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review and sharing your issues with me.

After more remarks about the locked minibars, we decided to open the door so you will not have to use a key anymore. I am also happy to say that it is much easier to log in on wifi, after an update done by the provider. Please believe me if I will tell you that your remarks about the satff and the fact your room has not been cleaned one day will be discussed with the Housekeeping and Front office manager. Last but not least, I hope your baby likes the towel we picked for her.

Although this will not change your experience in our hotel, I do hope you will consider us again for a stay in Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraardsbergen, Belgium
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Staff very friendly.
Room ok but dated,dust under the bed and on top of the air co.
As for food room service, I asked for chicken soup, no way just tomatoe soup which arrived cold,then salmon not available, I asked for tortellini,spinach and Italian veg,also lukewarm, the cheese was also missing.
Breakfast ok

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences in our hotel. I am very dissapointed to read your remarks about the dust in your rooms and our roomservice. Please accept my sincere apologies, and believe me if I say this is absolutely NOT the standard we try to maintain in the hotel. This will be discussed with the head of departments involved.

Although I understand this will not change your experience in our hotel, I hope you will give us a second change someday, so we can show you a different side. Please, do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The hotel was in a great location if you want to be near the museums or the Concertgebouw, but could use an upgrade. My room was relatively clean, but I noticed the carpet was still a bit dirty, especially in the corners. The staff was friendly and eager to help.

The biggest fault is that the buffet breakfast is very limited and not worth the €20. For that money, you could eat very well at any of the restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to read you enjoyed our location around the corner of the museums. You are absolutely right about the carpet. Unfortunately, the carpet is quite old, and needs to be replaced in some parts of the hotel. This is a project which is not definite yet, but we are working on it.

We are sorry to read you experienced our breakfast buffet as limited.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again some day.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

For some inexplicable reason while Amsterdam is a major global destination for business and tourism, hotels do not seem to feel the need to be overly competitive in terms of quality and services. Its almost as if they have all come to an understanding that if none of us improve then we can all get away with it. Working on the basis that the standard of quality in this city is not of an international level (NYC, HKG, Dubai etc), then this hotel is amazing for it's short walk to some of the best museums in the world, it's picturesque canal views and it's easy access to public transport. The rooms are fine and the staff are helpful as any NH hotel. Clean, charming and cheerful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review. Although you Amsterdam hotels in general do not meet your standards, I am happy to read you appreciated our hotel for it's view, location, easy acces to the public transport, fine rooms and helpfull staff.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel was very comfortable and the rooms were large and clean. Best to ask for a room overlooking the canal, as the rooms on the other side of the hotel do not have much of a view. The breakfast buffet was exceptional with choices for all tastes. The hotel is very well located for the major museums and also exploring the rest of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review. We are very happy to read you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam en enjoyed the excellent location of NH Museum Quarter. We hope to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

The purpose of our recent stay in Amsterdam was to visit the major art museums. Our travel agent suggested the NH Museum Quarter, and we found everything about the hotel very good. Our very large room overlooked a canal and had three windows. Everything was very clean, and the staff was pleasant and helpful. The art museums were less than ten minutes by foot.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your nice words about our hotel. We are very happy to read you had a wonderfull time in Amsterdam.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in NH Museum Quarter!

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Address: Hobbemakade, 50 | Old South, Museumplein, 1071XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the 4-star NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter are surrounded by the art and culture of beautiful Amsterdam from our central location between a picturesque canal and the famous Museum Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, NHHotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Museum Quarter Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.