We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NH = nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hobbemakade 50, 1071 XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter) (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER PROMO
Ranked #86 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego, California
1 review
“NH = nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Great location to museums and view of the canal. Needs TV update and better bedding. Pillows too small and needed a comforter that was larger and warmer.
Front desk was extremely helpful when we needed the safe and TV fixed. The breakfast was good but too expensive.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review. Although it will not change the experience you had in our hotel, I am very happy to announce we recived new tv's and beds for the hotel the last 3 weeks. I hope you will come back to visit us again and enjoy the new bed and tv. Will you come and visit us again?

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    508
    149
    43
    18
See reviews for
132
488
48
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Lovely hotel, clean and comfortable hotel ,friendly helpful staff and a great selection for the breakfast. My friend and l enjoyed our stay very much and there are a few nice places to eat nearby the hotel




  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are looning forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I stayed at the NH Museum Quarter on a recent business trip and quite enjoyed my stay there. The location is beautiful and easy accessible to the tram. I loved the peacefulness of the location and the canal view from the lobby and restaurant. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to read. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in April with my 77 year old mum. Room was extremely spacious, very clean and comfortable. Large window overlooking the canals and houses. It was an easy 5 minute walk to the museums and transport to the city easily accessible either just up from the hotel or near the museums. Breakfast was good with plenty of choices. Dinner was excellent even if our choice was limited due to Kings Day celebrations that left a lot of places closed and our restaurant very very busy! The staff were very attentive and helpful. We were on the 6th floor, and as mentioned, we were there on Kings Day which is just one very long, large, noisy street party that encompasses the entire city area :). We had no noise after about 9.30 on the Saturday night, even with a pub just over the canal, and party boats going up and down the canal.

Perhaps my only criticism is that the shower is in a very high bath. My poor 77 yr old very short mum was not able to physically get into the bath at all. Something to consider when travelling with older people.

Otherwise good value for money and an excellent position.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the canal to see Amsterdam life passing by
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review. Did you enjoy the celebration of Kings day in Amsterdam? We are very happy to read you had a great time in Amsterdam. I can inagine the bathtub might be difficult to use for elderly people, and I apologize for that. We have one room in the hotel which a easier accesible shower. In case you will come and visit us again, please feel free to check if this room is available.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Hotel is close to museums and in quiet, residential area....no problems with noise. We loved the big windows that open up and let the breeze in...we had nice view of the canal and a church. We found a good Italian deli with seating and had a good, reasonably priced dinner.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Really nice hotel in quiet location, despite being in a busy area. The major museums are 5 minutes walk away. Staff are pleasant. Only criticism is the breakfast which was 20 euros per person - a crazy price. Suggest you want right out of hotel, then left over bridge - a 100m or so there is a great bakery/cafe.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for your noce review on tripadvisor. It is a pleasure to read you have a great time in our hotel and Amsterdam. Thank you for your remark about our breakfast. In case you are a small eater, there are several other option in the surroundings.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
139 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

The hotel was relatively easy to find from Schiphol airport with a map. As taxis are fairly pricey at 40-50 euros, we followed the sign for buses and at stop B11, to the right of the IAMSTERDAM statue, caught the 197 bus to the Museumplein for 5 euros each. It actually stops outside the Concert-gebouw on Van Baerlestraat so you walk down the street, turning left into Nicolaas Maesstraat which takes you directly to the hotel which is on the corner of Nicolaas Maesstraat and Hobbemakade. As rain threatened on our return journey, we booked the Hotel Shuttlebus through reception which was 17 euros each.

I had informed the hotel that we were visiting Amsterdam to celebrate my husband's birthday, so it was a lovely surprise to receive a complimentary upgrade to a superior canal-view room. Facilities included iron, ironing board, large safe, mini-bar, ice bucket, good size desk and chair and a flat screen TV was installed during our stay. Excellent bio-degradable toiletries with a lovely tangy citrus smell: shampoo, shower gel, soap and body milk but no conditioner. Delicious breakfast of cereals with sprinkles of goji berries, chopped dried fruit, spelt, various chopped nuts, yogurts, fresh fruits; breads and cold cuts; bacon and scrambled eggs. Slightly expensive at 20 euros, if, like me, you can only manage a bowl of cereal in the morning, though it is reduced to 15 euros if booked in advance. The excellent coffee machine actually ground the beans before brewing. We took one dinner which was pleasant enough, though choice was limited as the King's Day celebrations the day before had virtually emptied the larder. However, you are just 5 minutes walk away from excellent restaurants such as the Pheun Thai (turn right down the Hobbemakade outside the hotel and it's just past the bridge); and the Balti House, Monteverde, Orontes and Juuls which are all to be found on Albert CuypStraat (turn right outside the hotel along Hobbemakade and then left across the bridge.)

You can actually see the Rijksmuseum from the hotel, and the Van Gogh and Stedelijk museums are close by, as are places to take canal trips and hop on hop off bus tours. The Heineken experience is also nearby. The Vondelpark is a welcome oasis of greenery and the canals outside the hotel are full of waterbirds and their chicks right now. The tram to the Centraal Station stops just 2 minutes away down the Ruysdaelstraat. If you know where you want to visit, you can save money and time queuing by visiting Tours and Tickets who have a ticket shop in the square near the museums www.tours-tickets.com and buying combi-tickets. You may also save money by buying an IAMSTERDAM card which provides free travel on most public transport and free or discounted entry to many museums and attractions.http://www.iamsterdam.com/en-GB/experience/deals/i-amsterdam-city-card Alternatively, the hotel has bicycles for hire.

Staff throughout the hotel were friendly and helpful. My only criticisms of the hotel would be the pillows - there was an extra one in our wardrobe but we did not find any of them comfortable - and the lack of storage space for clothes. We only had a rucksack each but I ended up rolling up our jumpers, t-shirts and underwear to store in the open shelf each side of the bed.

Room Tip: Higher floors have good views. Ask for a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your detailed review. This will be a great help for our future guests. Hopefully we can welcome you in our hotel again. please keep in mind that we have several different kinds of pillows in store. So please feel free to ask for one or two made of a differnet kind of material.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#79 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,553 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#168 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,947 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#80 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#124 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 539 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#43 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#55 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Address: Hobbemakade 50, 1071 XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the 4-star NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter are surrounded by the art and culture of beautiful Amsterdam from our central location between a picturesque canal and the famous Museum Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, NHHotels, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Museum Quarter Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.