We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel/” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Save Saved
You added NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hobbemakade, 50 | Old South, Museumplein, 1071XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter) (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #86 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Hamilton, Ontario
1 review
“Lovely Hotel/”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I stayed at the NH Museum Quarter on a recent business trip and quite enjoyed my stay there. The location is beautiful and easy accessible to the tram. I loved the peacefulness of the location and the canal view from the lobby and restaurant. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to read. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    368
    114
    30
    15
See reviews for
102
338
28
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in April with my 77 year old mum. Room was extremely spacious, very clean and comfortable. Large window overlooking the canals and houses. It was an easy 5 minute walk to the museums and transport to the city easily accessible either just up from the hotel or near the museums. Breakfast was good with plenty of choices. Dinner was excellent even if our choice was limited due to Kings Day celebrations that left a lot of places closed and our restaurant very very busy! The staff were very attentive and helpful. We were on the 6th floor, and as mentioned, we were there on Kings Day which is just one very long, large, noisy street party that encompasses the entire city area :). We had no noise after about 9.30 on the Saturday night, even with a pub just over the canal, and party boats going up and down the canal.

Perhaps my only criticism is that the shower is in a very high bath. My poor 77 yr old very short mum was not able to physically get into the bath at all. Something to consider when travelling with older people.

Otherwise good value for money and an excellent position.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the canal to see Amsterdam life passing by
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review. Did you enjoy the celebration of Kings day in Amsterdam? We are very happy to read you had a great time in Amsterdam. I can inagine the bathtub might be difficult to use for elderly people, and I apologize for that. We have one room in the hotel which a easier accesible shower. In case you will come and visit us again, please feel free to check if this room is available.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Hotel is close to museums and in quiet, residential area....no problems with noise. We loved the big windows that open up and let the breeze in...we had nice view of the canal and a church. We found a good Italian deli with seating and had a good, reasonably priced dinner.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Really nice hotel in quiet location, despite being in a busy area. The major museums are 5 minutes walk away. Staff are pleasant. Only criticism is the breakfast which was 20 euros per person - a crazy price. Suggest you want right out of hotel, then left over bridge - a 100m or so there is a great bakery/cafe.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for your noce review on tripadvisor. It is a pleasure to read you have a great time in our hotel and Amsterdam. Thank you for your remark about our breakfast. In case you are a small eater, there are several other option in the surroundings.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

The hotel was relatively easy to find from Schiphol airport with a map. As taxis are fairly pricey at 40-50 euros, we followed the sign for buses and at stop B11, to the right of the IAMSTERDAM statue, caught the 197 bus to the Museumplein for 5 euros each. It actually stops outside the Concert-gebouw on Van Baerlestraat so you walk down the street, turning left into Nicolaas Maesstraat which takes you directly to the hotel which is on the corner of Nicolaas Maesstraat and Hobbemakade. As rain threatened on our return journey, we booked the Hotel Shuttlebus through reception which was 17 euros each.

I had informed the hotel that we were visiting Amsterdam to celebrate my husband's birthday, so it was a lovely surprise to receive a complimentary upgrade to a superior canal-view room. Facilities included iron, ironing board, large safe, mini-bar, ice bucket, good size desk and chair and a flat screen TV was installed during our stay. Excellent bio-degradable toiletries with a lovely tangy citrus smell: shampoo, shower gel, soap and body milk but no conditioner. Delicious breakfast of cereals with sprinkles of goji berries, chopped dried fruit, spelt, various chopped nuts, yogurts, fresh fruits; breads and cold cuts; bacon and scrambled eggs. Slightly expensive at 20 euros, if, like me, you can only manage a bowl of cereal in the morning, though it is reduced to 15 euros if booked in advance. The excellent coffee machine actually ground the beans before brewing. We took one dinner which was pleasant enough, though choice was limited as the King's Day celebrations the day before had virtually emptied the larder. However, you are just 5 minutes walk away from excellent restaurants such as the Pheun Thai (turn right down the Hobbemakade outside the hotel and it's just past the bridge); and the Balti House, Monteverde, Orontes and Juuls which are all to be found on Albert CuypStraat (turn right outside the hotel along Hobbemakade and then left across the bridge.)

You can actually see the Rijksmuseum from the hotel, and the Van Gogh and Stedelijk museums are close by, as are places to take canal trips and hop on hop off bus tours. The Heineken experience is also nearby. The Vondelpark is a welcome oasis of greenery and the canals outside the hotel are full of waterbirds and their chicks right now. The tram to the Centraal Station stops just 2 minutes away down the Ruysdaelstraat. If you know where you want to visit, you can save money and time queuing by visiting Tours and Tickets who have a ticket shop in the square near the museums www.tours-tickets.com and buying combi-tickets. You may also save money by buying an IAMSTERDAM card which provides free travel on most public transport and free or discounted entry to many museums and attractions.http://www.iamsterdam.com/en-GB/experience/deals/i-amsterdam-city-card Alternatively, the hotel has bicycles for hire.

Staff throughout the hotel were friendly and helpful. My only criticisms of the hotel would be the pillows - there was an extra one in our wardrobe but we did not find any of them comfortable - and the lack of storage space for clothes. We only had a rucksack each but I ended up rolling up our jumpers, t-shirts and underwear to store in the open shelf each side of the bed.

Room Tip: Higher floors have good views. Ask for a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your detailed review. This will be a great help for our future guests. Hopefully we can welcome you in our hotel again. please keep in mind that we have several different kinds of pillows in store. So please feel free to ask for one or two made of a differnet kind of material.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This was a great hotel for my recent vacation. I was only in Amsterdam for a few nights but loved the location. It is walking distance to all the museums and close to 2 trams that run into the city center. The property was clean and neat and the front desk was mostly helpful. We opted to add on the buffet breakfast for $15/person/morning and I would say save the money and find something near by. We added it for the convenience but for the price it was not worth it. Again the staff was friendly but we felt it was average at best, nothing special. Also, you have to check out in person so make sure you leave enough time for that. When we were ready to check out there was a long line with both front desk attendants working as fast as they could.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review. It is a pleasure to read you had a great stay in Amsterdam. We hope to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here recently on a short break to Amsterdam. Definitely a good area to use as a base given the proximity of some of the museum attractions. Close also to canal transport options.

The hotel, part of a chain, was pleasant with friendly staff. The room suited our needs although there was very little wardrobe and drawer storage for clothes. A problem if you were staying longer than 2/3 nights possibly. Free wifi in the room was limited to a small bandwidth but adequate for picking up email and browsing less graphic orientated websites.

We ate at the hotel one night. The food was good, although the restaurant area for evening meals seems fairly small and the menu limited. The breakfasts were good with plenty of variety to the usual buffet.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review. It is a pleasure to read you enjoyes your time with us. Unfortunately, we are aware the wardrobe is small if you are staying for a longer period, and we apologize for the inconveniece that may have caused you.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Address: Hobbemakade, 50 | Old South, Museumplein, 1071XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the 4-star NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter are surrounded by the art and culture of beautiful Amsterdam from our central location between a picturesque canal and the famous Museum Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, NHHotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL and Venere so you can book your NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Museum Quarter Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.