We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hobbemakade, 50 | Old South, Museumplein, 1071XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter) (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #89 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

I was slightly apprehensive about this hotel after reading some negative reviews. We found the hotel to be very pleasant. Well located to explore - particularly close to the museums and the heineken experience. Our room was lovely no canal view but floor to ceiling windows. Room was spacious, clean and well equipt. Staff were helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am very pleased to read we were able to change your feelings of the Museum Quarter. We always aim to give our guests the best service and attention we can. Will you come and visit us again?

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    396
    120
    35
    15
See reviews for
108
361
31
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madera, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and tidy with a lovely view of the canal. It was an easy walk to the Rijks and the Van Gogh museums. The tram stop, for all other locations, was less than a block away. Breakfast was excellent. We found a great Indian Restaurant just up the street, and there is a pub across the street. The TV could use an upgrade but that is not a high priority for me. They had lovely bath products. My only real complaint was a very hard pillow. I stayed two nights and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view, it is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review. It is a pleasure to read you have enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and found your way around in this neighbourhood. We are happy to read you would like to visit us again. Please keep in mind that we can provide you with a different type of pillows if the one in the rooms does not feel comfortable.

We are pleased to say we have installed new tv's in the last 2 weeks.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Our room was a "superior king" corner room with wide windows on two sides---beautiful views of the canal and neighborhood. The room and bath were very spacious, modern, clean, and stylish. The public areas of the hotel are attractive and well appointed, with lounge areas, a bar, big windows, and a very comfortable formal restaurant, in addition to the slightly less formal breakfast area. The breakfast buffet may be the best I have ever seen. Easy walking to museums and great restaurants. The staff were all first-rate and easily handled questions of all sorts. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We were on only the second floor (in America, third floor), so we were worried about street noise, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for your lovely words about NH Museum Quarter! It is an absolute pleasure to read you had a perfect stay in Amsterdam. We certainly are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I know very well Amsterdam (lived there 2 years) and knew this hotel has an amazing and very handy location.
I was however very disappointed by the room (very large but very old fashion) and the bed was AWFULL (my grand-mother's old beds are far better than these old-stype spring-mattresses.
Must say I mainly come to hotels to sleep. Bad idea in there.
Breakfast buffet is nice and classical.
I will not book there for my next trup in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to read you did not sleep well during your stay. The last two weeks we changed all the beds and tv's in the hotel. We do understand this will not change your experience in our hotel. But we certainly hope you will consider to stay with us the next time you will visit Amsterdam.

Again, please accept our apologies.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed for two nights at this hotel. It was family friendly. The location is quiet and at the same time, it is close to the musuems. A tram stop is just a block away and from there, you can go to any place in the city centre including central station. There is a lovely view over a canal and some restaurants nearby. A park next to the museums is perfect for kids.

Room Tip: Choose a room with view over the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your review. It is a pleasure to read you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam together with your children. And we are happy to have contributed to this experience.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uae
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Lovely little hotel and the location of the place makes it good.

Staff were lovely and helpful in assisting with advice on transport etc.

The only negative is the lack of modernity in the rooms. TV and carpet quite old and worn out.

Other than that bathroom was clean etc.

Would stay here again :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you very much for your review and your nice words about our hotel and the staff. We are very happy to tell you that the last weeks we have been very busy with replacing all the tv's in the hotel.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Sinai
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I love the place and surroundings: from three museums to bustling tourist places - all at the walking distances. I especially like the rooms (superior - just a bit more expensive) on the top with wall-wide and wall-high window, where you have panoramic view of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Good afternoon,

We are very happy to read you had a great stay in Amsterdam and it is a pleasure to read you enjoyed our superior room with the great view. Will you come and visit us again?

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Address: Hobbemakade, 50 | Old South, Museumplein, 1071XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#68 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the 4-star NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter are surrounded by the art and culture of beautiful Amsterdam from our central location between a picturesque canal and the famous Museum Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, NHHotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Museum Quarter Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.