We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Save Saved
You added NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hobbemakade, 50 | Old South, Museumplein, 1071XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter) (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #86 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Good location and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I returned to the NH Museum Quarter for a business trip. The location is a a real plus: the hotel has a canal view and is located in a quiet district, but it is walking distance to the museums, the street market, and a lot of restaurants in the neighboring De Pijp district. The tram downtown stops one block away. The rooms are decent-sized by European standards, with comfortable beds, although the decor is fairly minimal. The hotel offers a good choice of food at breakfast, although I find it very odd that the omelette chef only turns up very briefly -- you can't count on him!! We used the public spaces in the hotel for daytime business meetings and found the staff to be very accommodating..

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to read you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the surroundings as much as we do. Indeed, the breakfast chef is not always present in the breakfastroom, but he is always available to make you any kind of omelette.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    367
    114
    30
    15
See reviews for
102
338
28
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Went with friends on girly weekend, good value for money as there is so much to do in Amsterdam you don't spend much time there.
Good central location, average sized rooms.
Good TV choice, not great views.
Friendly reception staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review. it is nice to read you enjoyed your girl weekend in Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

The location of the Hotel is just perfect for a silent, peaceful stay. The room was very comfortable and clean; the staff were very friendly and helpful whenever we needed assistance. We liked our stay very much.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are happy to read you had a wonderful time with us and hope to welcoming you again in NH Museum Quarter.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irvine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

1st time in amsterdam, will certainly go back for for a better look around this amazing city. on your first time in the city you just about get your bearings in a few days. the buildings are amazing, lots to see but more time required. like everywhere else on the planet the more touristy areas are more expensive but just ask the locals and they will keepyou right with where to eat and drink at reasonable prices. the hotel was geat, we got good service from the staff from we arrived until we left. while we checked in the reception staff offered to made our online flight bookings for returning. the hotel itself was definatley good value and the rooms were clean and tidy, the only criticism (which our party all agreed on) was that the beds were on the firm side. We didn't eat at the hotel as we were up and out exploring early doors and didn't return to the hotel each night until we were all ready to collapse into bed. the hotel was in a great location as it was away from the busier/nosier part of the city but still only a few mins by tram. would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for your nice words about Amsterdam. Great to read you want to come back again to explore more of the city. We understand, because there is so much to see! Will you come and stay with us again?

We are very pleased to inform you we will receive new beds for the hotel in the next few months.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Just returned after staying at hotel for 3 days - great location, about 10 mins on tram from railway station - very quiet part of Amsterdam near to lots of restaurants - the Italian over the bridge,Monte Verde was very reasonable and very good food - close to the daily(not Sunday) street market.
Our room was on 6th floor and overlooked canal and panoramic view of Amsterdam - only criticism was breakfast,which was a bit limited compared to NH Berlin which we stayed in last year

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thak you very much for your review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your time in our hotel and in Amsterdam. Indeed, there is a lot to do in the surroundings of the hotel. I regret to read you did not enjoyed our breakfast buffet as much as the one from our colleages in Berlin. Still, we hope to welcoming you again in NH Museum Quarter.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Very Clean and friendly. Easy access to Trams just on corner of Hotel that take you to all locations. We Will go back again and stay at this hotel.
Although we found eating out expensive and bicycles were a hazard and took time getting use to.


  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor. We are very happy to read you recommend our hotel and would like to visit us again. Our Front Office team will be happy to provide you with some names of restaurants in the surroundings of NH Museum Quarter.

We are looking formward to welcoming you again!

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Be warned you will share this hotel with hen and stag parties. Went down to breakfast on Sat am stepping over the vomit on the landing and stairwell. Basic room but easy chair badly soiled and a broken lamp contributed to the overall dimness and very worn appearance of the room. Staff polite but totally impersonal. The photographs make the hotel look nicer than it actually is. Would not choose to stay here again despite its location.

Room Tip: Choose an upgrade with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review. Our aim is make sure every guest has a great time staying with us, and we were dissapointed to read your experience. We do apologize for all the inconveniece caused, and we are fully aware the things you mention are not acceptable.

Please believe me, these comments are discussed with the management team and necessary actions are taken.

Again, please accept my sincere apology, although I understand this does not change the way you feel about or hotel.

I do hope you will give us a second chance somewehere in the future, so we can show you we normally welcome our guests.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Address: Hobbemakade, 50 | Old South, Museumplein, 1071XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the 4-star NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter are surrounded by the art and culture of beautiful Amsterdam from our central location between a picturesque canal and the famous Museum Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, NHHotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelsNL and TripOnline SA so you can book your NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Museum Quarter Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.