We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean quiet hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Museum Quarter

Save Saved
You added NH Museum Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH Museum Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hobbemakade 50, 1071 XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #88 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Grantham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Clean quiet hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my wife stayed here in November 2013 for a shopping trip for 3 nights, the hotel is situated quite a distance from the main centre however there is a fantastic tram service and I recommend a day pass it saves you money, and a stop is situated in the next street from hotel, the rooms are medium size with spacious bathrooms and the whole room was clean, carpet will soon need updating but still acceptable, beds are what you would expect. Breakfast was very good if your English don't expect traditional fry up you are in Amsterdam so what is offered was excellent, a wide selection of FRESH fruit, cereals, bacon eggs and cereals and lots yogurts etc, the evening meal offering I am sorry to say was poor we never ate once, limited menu so sorry can't recommend, however the staff were great the manager especially, free wi-fi a plus and public area's very nice! Must recommend themassive street market just over the river ask at friendly reception the offer a free map

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Museum Quarter, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your nice review. We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam. Indeed, we are located a little outside the center of Amsterdam, but the tramservice is very good and brings you to Dam Square in about 10 minutes.

I understand you are a bit dissapointed in the limited menu we offer during the evening. We are trying to find a way to improve the menu and are happy to say we are working on a new menu at the moment.

We hope to welcoming you another time in NH Museum Quarter!

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    346
    108
    30
    15
See reviews for
89
320
28
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed here for three nights and it was overall a very pleasant stay.

We arrived at 9:30 pm for check in.
The receptionnist was very welcoming and helpful. Checked in quickly. However, the directions she gave us to a restaurant we wanted to go to were a bit off as she said it was a ten min walk, we got there in just 5 minutes.

The room - on the 3rd floor- was nice, spacious (superior double). A coffee machine, which was toped up daily, was a nice touch. The bed was huge (king size) and comfortable. The cushions were a bit thin, but there was the possibilty to "order" other ones. No particular style or decoration, perfectly functionnal.
No noise issues, we didn't hear neighbors or people in the hall comming and going.
The TV was old and very few channels but hey, we weren't in Dam to watch TV.
The bathroom was fine, nice toiletries provided (like in all NH hotels). The pressure in the shower was a bit weak.
Good view from our room on the canal.
There are lots of restaurants and bars in the area. I would recommend the "Entrecote et les dames". We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant.
We walked everywhere (Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh, Pijip, old Amsterdam centre.)
There are a lot of trams nearby which take you anywhere you need to go. Taxi from the Amsterdam Centraal station was 18 euros.
I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Superior room, very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Museum Quarter, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for gining us your opinion about your stay in Amsterdam. It is nice to read you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam. We are pleased to tell you we expect new tv's for the hotel within the next few months.

We hope to see you again in our hotel.

kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I recommend this hotel. Easy to get to from the airport (take the 197 bus for 5 euros), 100m from tram stops which take you into the city centre. 5 minutes from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and Concertgebouw; about 10 minutes from the A Cuyp market. You can buy a bus/tram pass from reception,.
All the staff were friendly and helpful, particularly the girls on reception and the woman in charge at breakfast.
Our room was great. We paid a bit more for a superior room which gave us a view over the canal. We were in room 314, on the corner of the building so the room was flooded with light. One minor niggle? it would have been nice to have had a bit more shelf or drawer space but that really is me being picky. Great to have tea/coffee making facilities in the room; windows that opened; a huge bed and a good bathroom.
We didn't eat an evening meal at the hotel but did have breakfast. We paid 15 euros for it. A bit steep? Not really. We filled up with a good hearty breakfast and then made ourselves a couple of sandwiches to take with us for lunch. It was a buffet breakfast with enough choice to keep most people happy.
While you're close to Museumplein, it's also an area where people live. It was quiet at night. Lovely to watch people cycling to work in the morning and coming home in the evening. If we go back to Amsterdam, and I hope we will, we would definitely come back to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Corner rooms (next to the lit sign) have windows on two sides, are bright and sunny and with a lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Museum Quarter, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your nice review. We are very happy to read you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam and NH Museum Quarter. Indeed, the rooms facing the canal give a very nice view, and this is even more beautiful in spring and summer.

Hopefully we see you again in teh NH Museum Quarter.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Very nice hotel and staff. Room are clean and comftable. Great breakfast and service. I will come again on my next trip to ISE.Bar tender give us very useful advice about travel around and dinning places. Thanks

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Museum Quarter, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you later this year.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed here for one night because we had to visit the embassy nearby. We also had our 3 month old so we had to pick somewhere walking distance from all the action and yet reasonably affordable. NH has a perfect location and was very accommodating with the needs of our baby. Friendly staff and good (but pricey) breakfast. We would definitely stay again and definitely recommend an upgrade to a room with a view. Stunning!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Museum Quarter, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your nice review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your time with us. Will you come and visit us again with your son? We always enjoy to meet the guests of the future.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We were given the option of upgrading as well and took it. It got us a room on the top floor with a lovely view. I felt that the price was ok for what we got. The room was a good size, clean, and had a lovely view. The bed was really uncomfortable. I think it was old. We could feel the springs. Everything else was good. The water was hot, the staff friendly and responsive, and they helped us find our way around.

The hotel is very close to the Rijksmuseum. A very short walk. And upscale name-brand shopping. A couple more blocks for more shopping and restaurants. We walked to the Anne Frank House and had a lovely time, but it is quite a walk and others might do better with a tram or bus. The bus to the airport is right by the hotel. I felt like the location was great. It was close enough for us to enjoy our time, but not as loud as some of the areas closer to Jordaan.

The bar in the hotel is only open until 11, but it isn't a busy bar anyway and it's better to go out for your entertainment. There are plenty of enjoyable places close.

Room Tip: I don't know how the other rooms are, but the upgrade gave us a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Museum Quarter, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences in our hotel. It is good to read you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam.

I am sorry to read about the bed. I am happy to tell you we will receive new matrassess for the hotel later this year. Will you come and try these another time?

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for our visit to Amsterdam this January. Before departing for our trip I read a lot of the negative reviews about this hotel, and I have to say that most of them were very shallow and nit picky. The staff is very helpful, and very friendly. The negative reviews about the small and outdated TVs is true, however, you don't travel all the way to Amsterdam to sit in your hotel room and watch tv! In addition the free wifi is a little slow, but again it is free. Likewise, you don't go to Amsterdam to surf the web. One thing I would like to see however, are the vending machines fixed on all floors.

There are so many amazing things to see that are just within walking distance from the hotel. The museum and fashion district, which is where the hotel is located, is very family friendly and there is a huge park right in the middle of all the museums. If you are a Hard Rock fan like we are, the cafe is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel which follows one of the canals.

Great hotel for price and great location, would stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Museum Quarter, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are very proud of our location and it is always a pleasure to read that guests feel the same way.

We are in the middel of removing the old vendingmachine of the corridors, so unfortunately I can not make you that promiss for your next stay. But we do hope to change all the tv's within the next few months.

We hope to see you again in Amstedam.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Museum Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Museum Quarter

Address: Hobbemakade 50, 1071 XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#89 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Museum Quarter 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelsNL and Venere so you can book your NH Museum Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Museum Quarter Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Museum Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.