We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant for city break or business” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hobbemakade, 50 | Old South, Museumplein, 1071XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter) (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #88 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant for city break or business”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I recommend this hotel. Easy to get to from the airport (take the 197 bus for 5 euros), 100m from tram stops which take you into the city centre. 5 minutes from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and Concertgebouw; about 10 minutes from the A Cuyp market. You can buy a bus/tram pass from reception,.
All the staff were friendly and helpful, particularly the girls on reception and the woman in charge at breakfast.
Our room was great. We paid a bit more for a superior room which gave us a view over the canal. We were in room 314, on the corner of the building so the room was flooded with light. One minor niggle? it would have been nice to have had a bit more shelf or drawer space but that really is me being picky. Great to have tea/coffee making facilities in the room; windows that opened; a huge bed and a good bathroom.
We didn't eat an evening meal at the hotel but did have breakfast. We paid 15 euros for it. A bit steep? Not really. We filled up with a good hearty breakfast and then made ourselves a couple of sandwiches to take with us for lunch. It was a buffet breakfast with enough choice to keep most people happy.
While you're close to Museumplein, it's also an area where people live. It was quiet at night. Lovely to watch people cycling to work in the morning and coming home in the evening. If we go back to Amsterdam, and I hope we will, we would definitely come back to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Corner rooms (next to the lit sign) have windows on two sides, are bright and sunny and with a lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your nice review. We are very happy to read you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam and NH Museum Quarter. Indeed, the rooms facing the canal give a very nice view, and this is even more beautiful in spring and summer.

Hopefully we see you again in teh NH Museum Quarter.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    396
    120
    35
    15
See reviews for
109
362
32
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Very nice hotel and staff. Room are clean and comftable. Great breakfast and service. I will come again on my next trip to ISE.Bar tender give us very useful advice about travel around and dinning places. Thanks

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you later this year.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed here for one night because we had to visit the embassy nearby. We also had our 3 month old so we had to pick somewhere walking distance from all the action and yet reasonably affordable. NH has a perfect location and was very accommodating with the needs of our baby. Friendly staff and good (but pricey) breakfast. We would definitely stay again and definitely recommend an upgrade to a room with a view. Stunning!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your nice review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your time with us. Will you come and visit us again with your son? We always enjoy to meet the guests of the future.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We were given the option of upgrading as well and took it. It got us a room on the top floor with a lovely view. I felt that the price was ok for what we got. The room was a good size, clean, and had a lovely view. The bed was really uncomfortable. I think it was old. We could feel the springs. Everything else was good. The water was hot, the staff friendly and responsive, and they helped us find our way around.

The hotel is very close to the Rijksmuseum. A very short walk. And upscale name-brand shopping. A couple more blocks for more shopping and restaurants. We walked to the Anne Frank House and had a lovely time, but it is quite a walk and others might do better with a tram or bus. The bus to the airport is right by the hotel. I felt like the location was great. It was close enough for us to enjoy our time, but not as loud as some of the areas closer to Jordaan.

The bar in the hotel is only open until 11, but it isn't a busy bar anyway and it's better to go out for your entertainment. There are plenty of enjoyable places close.

Room Tip: I don't know how the other rooms are, but the upgrade gave us a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences in our hotel. It is good to read you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam.

I am sorry to read about the bed. I am happy to tell you we will receive new matrassess for the hotel later this year. Will you come and try these another time?

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for our visit to Amsterdam this January. Before departing for our trip I read a lot of the negative reviews about this hotel, and I have to say that most of them were very shallow and nit picky. The staff is very helpful, and very friendly. The negative reviews about the small and outdated TVs is true, however, you don't travel all the way to Amsterdam to sit in your hotel room and watch tv! In addition the free wifi is a little slow, but again it is free. Likewise, you don't go to Amsterdam to surf the web. One thing I would like to see however, are the vending machines fixed on all floors.

There are so many amazing things to see that are just within walking distance from the hotel. The museum and fashion district, which is where the hotel is located, is very family friendly and there is a huge park right in the middle of all the museums. If you are a Hard Rock fan like we are, the cafe is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel which follows one of the canals.

Great hotel for price and great location, would stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are very proud of our location and it is always a pleasure to read that guests feel the same way.

We are in the middel of removing the old vendingmachine of the corridors, so unfortunately I can not make you that promiss for your next stay. But we do hope to change all the tv's within the next few months.

We hope to see you again in Amstedam.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Rooms are ok. Location is great. Service isn't great. Adequate room tidy. Front desk just does a basic service. However if you want a drink in the bar after 11pm forget it. Lets face it when on a city break you are quite often out until 11pm and go back to the hotel for a last drink and chat. Not in this hotel. Extremely poor.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review. Our main goal is to make sure you have a wonderful time in Amsterdam. I am dossapointed to read our front desk staff service did not meet your expectations. I will make sure this will be discussed with the team.

Our bar is open on a daily basis from 11 am until 11pm. Occasionally, if requested for a group or a special event, the bar stayes open until midnight. I am sorry you were dissapointed.

We still hope to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed three nights at this hotel, checking out yesterday. The room we had was large, clean and comfortable all at, what I think, a very good price. The hotel was in a good location and we were able to walk everywhere but the tram was close by if we had wanted to use it. The receptionists were extremely helpful and contributed to making our short trip to Amsterdam a very enjoyable one. This is a thoroughly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your great review. We are very pleased to hear we contributed to your enjoyable stay in Amsterdam. We hope to welcoming you again in the future. Mayby in spring or summer?

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Address: Hobbemakade, 50 | Old South, Museumplein, 1071XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the 4-star NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter are surrounded by the art and culture of beautiful Amsterdam from our central location between a picturesque canal and the famous Museum Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, NHHotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Museum Quarter Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.