We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and location..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Museum Quarter

Save Saved
You added NH Museum Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
NH Museum Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hobbemakade 50, Amsterdam 1071 XL, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #85 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Milpitas, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent hotel and location..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Nice and clean hotel. We got the map and other useful information from front desk. Breakfast was good. Bus stops, restaurants, souvenir shops are pretty close by. Couple of attractions where we planned to visit were just a few mins walk away from hotel. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Museum Quarter, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Good afternoon,

What a pleasure to read your nice reviews. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam. Please let us know in case you are planning to visit Asterdam again!

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    326
    105
    24
    16
See reviews for
73
282
26
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

One of main reasons we chose the hotel is the room space compared with the price in such cities like Amsterdam. The location is good, 2-minute walking to the tram station. We booked a superior room which space is quite decent actually. But the photos about the superior room on their web more or less are misleading, we thought every superior room has a glass wall. When we checked in, a room at the 2nd floor was given. Finally we had one at the 5th floor.

Facility (3.5):
Quite basic, the 4-star hotel looks very likely run in budget. They don't have fridge in the room. But with basic tea facilities like cups, sugar, creamer (milky powder). The furniture is ok which we don't pay much attention on it.

Room service(4)
The one of few things we think is up to 4-star quality.

Quietness (3.5)
Our superior room is at the corner of the building. The road at the river bank is busier than we thought. The window is not sound-proof, so we can hear the traffic very clearly, specifically in the morning.

Sleep Quality(3)
Ok. The bed is quite big and the mattress is a little too softer for us. The main problem is the traffic noise in the morning.

Shower Quality (2)
The shower head is more keen to save water and compromise a lot of the conformable. We do want a cosy and comfortable shower after one-day's exploring. The shower didn't give us one. We even felt a little bit cold when using it because of the not-enough water volume.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard could be quieter. Not every superior room has a full glass wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Museum Quarter, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experiences in NH Museum Quarter. We always try our best to provide our guests with the best service possible and we are a bit dissapointed to read some of your remarks. Unfortunately, not all of our rooms have a glass wall, but we are happy to say that almost all of the rooms have a nice view of the canals.

We have discussed your remarks with the management team and will take action if necessary. I hope you will visit us again some day.

Regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

A wonderful location for any visit to Amsterdam. I will def. stay here on my next trip. NH Museum Quarter is a short walk away from the I Am Amsterdam sculpture. The rooms were comfortable, spacious and best of all very quiet.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Museum Quarter, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read you had a great time in Amsterdam and in NH Museum Quarter and enjoyed our rooms. We are looking forward seeing you again with us.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Excellent hotel, not too expensive, near the museum quarter and a tram stop to reach the center of the city, holland casino at walking distance too. Nice room with canal view, cleaned room even when we left it around lunch time after NYE, and everything else.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Museum Quarter, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam. Will you come again to stay with us?

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Just returned back from a 5 night stay at the NH Museum Quarter Hotel. We thought this hotel was in a lovely location overlooking the canal. Booked a superior room and when we arrived we were given a room on the 7th floor with lovely views. The room was large with everything you could need. It was also very clean. We found the staff to be very friendly. The Barman in particular was friendly and helpful, he served drinks and cooked the food we ordered in the evenings, nothing was to much trouble.
Breakfast was also very good, plenty of choice.
Would definitely stay there again if we returned to Amsterdam and would recommend the Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Museum Quarter, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for your comments. The view is amazing right? We are happy to read we have contributed to your pleasant stay in Amsterdam. And of course, you are more then welcome to visit us again.

Kind regards,
Natasja heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Lovely location, room was a decent size. Out of the hustle and bustle of the city.....close to the museums and tourist attractions. Near PC Hoofstraat if you like designer shopping experiences. Some good food choices locally. Good tram options near hotel also.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Museum Quarter, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
What a pleasure to read you have had a pleasant stay in our hotel and enjoyed the surroundings. We hope to welcoming you again another time.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager
NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

So many problems: rude and unhelpful staff who don’t care even when you complain, no control over central heating so we froze or sweated and the wishes of central control, horrible room furniture, tiny & outdated TV which we couldn’t see properly from bed, corridors out of a soviet hospital, grubby sink, indescribable toiletries, almost no lighting in the room, weak Internet & the rule of 50 euro deposit even though full payment had been received…. Not a four star more a 3 star with 1 star service

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Museum Quarter, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your recent experiences with regards to your stay at NH Museum Quarter. We constantly aim to provide our guests with the finest of facilities and services and you will understand it was a great disappointment for us to read the inconveniences you have dealt with during your stay.

We would like to assure you that we haven taken your feedback seriously. Please accept our apologies for all the inconveniences caused and that we failed in providing the correct services that you can expect from us. However we also do realize that this will not change your experience with our hotel.

We still hope to welcoming you another time.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Museum Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Museum Quarter

Also Known As:
Nh Museum Quarter Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Address: Hobbemakade 50, Amsterdam 1071 XL, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#99 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Museum Quarter 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your NH Museum Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Museum Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.