We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Museum Quarter

Save Saved
You added NH Museum Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
NH Museum Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hobbemakade 50, 1071 XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #89 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A very good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Just returned back from a 5 night stay at the NH Museum Quarter Hotel. We thought this hotel was in a lovely location overlooking the canal. Booked a superior room and when we arrived we were given a room on the 7th floor with lovely views. The room was large with everything you could need. It was also very clean. We found the staff to be very friendly. The Barman in particular was friendly and helpful, he served drinks and cooked the food we ordered in the evenings, nothing was to much trouble.
Breakfast was also very good, plenty of choice.
Would definitely stay there again if we returned to Amsterdam and would recommend the Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Museum Quarter, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for your comments. The view is amazing right? We are happy to read we have contributed to your pleasant stay in Amsterdam. And of course, you are more then welcome to visit us again.

Kind regards,
Natasja heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    202
    364
    115
    30
    16
See reviews for
86
318
28
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Lovely location, room was a decent size. Out of the hustle and bustle of the city.....close to the museums and tourist attractions. Near PC Hoofstraat if you like designer shopping experiences. Some good food choices locally. Good tram options near hotel also.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Museum Quarter, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
What a pleasure to read you have had a pleasant stay in our hotel and enjoyed the surroundings. We hope to welcoming you again another time.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager
NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

So many problems: rude and unhelpful staff who don’t care even when you complain, no control over central heating so we froze or sweated and the wishes of central control, horrible room furniture, tiny & outdated TV which we couldn’t see properly from bed, corridors out of a soviet hospital, grubby sink, indescribable toiletries, almost no lighting in the room, weak Internet & the rule of 50 euro deposit even though full payment had been received…. Not a four star more a 3 star with 1 star service

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Museum Quarter, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your recent experiences with regards to your stay at NH Museum Quarter. We constantly aim to provide our guests with the finest of facilities and services and you will understand it was a great disappointment for us to read the inconveniences you have dealt with during your stay.

We would like to assure you that we haven taken your feedback seriously. Please accept our apologies for all the inconveniences caused and that we failed in providing the correct services that you can expect from us. However we also do realize that this will not change your experience with our hotel.

We still hope to welcoming you another time.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here for New Year - the second year in a row. The staff are so friendly and welcoming and the hotel is really nicely placed out of town, but on a good tram route (16 and 24) and near Muzeumplein. Make sure that you get a gvb tram ticket (we got ours from the tourist information desk at Schipol 16.5 euro for 72 hours) that lets you hop on and off the trams and buses at will.

The hotel is very well run and we have no adverse comments at all

Room Tip: Usually when registering you will be offered an up-grade for approx 15 euros a night - we took it an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Museum Quarter, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Good afternoon,

Good to hear you stayed with us for the second time already. Can we reserve a room for you December 31st 2014 already ? ;-) Thank you for your review an d a happy new year.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I had so much fun staying at this hotel because of its location and staff. We had a nice room, internet access worked great, but you need to re login every 6 hours. It was easy for us to move around, get into town, see sights. So many places are in walking distance and the room was beautiful. Well worth the money. This place comes highly recommended. Oh, breakfast is slightly overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, Manager at NH Museum Quarter, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for the review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam and we hope seeing you again in 2014!

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Manager NH Museumquarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This place is perfectly fine. The beds are comfortable and the canal views really nice. Hotel is close to the museums and easy access to transport to the rest of the city. It's quiet and comfortable. The hallway smells a little bit like stale urine but the rooms are very clean. The hotel touts free wifi all over the place, and you can connect to the "basic" service, but it's terrible and really they want you to purchase the "premium" for 9 euros per 24 hours. That's fine, but they go over the top to make the internet seem free.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Museum Quarter, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your comments about NH Museum Quarter. We are happy you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam. Unfortunately, I have to agree the basic internet is not always working as it should. This is on the prioritylist for 2014. We hope to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wittlich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We enjoyed our 3 night stay at this NH Hotel. The location was relatively close to city center and we really enjoyed the convenience of being able to hop on and off the tram stop that was very closeby. We purchased the 3-day tram pass and it was very affordable. The staff was very friendly and were quick to bring a few items to our room that we requested (extra towels, pillows, etc). Our room was quite large with a view of the canal and we were able to get a decent price for our stay. The only complaint would be that the rooms were a little dated and are going to need some updating soon. However, other than sleeping, showering, and a few rests before going out for the evening, we did not spend much time there. We would use it again for our next visit to Amsterdam (or another NH hotel also close to the city center).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Museum Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Museum Quarter

Address: Hobbemakade 50, 1071 XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Museum Quarter 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, NHHotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelsNL and Venere so you can book your NH Museum Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Museum Quarter Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Museum Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.