We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hobbemakade, 50 | Old South, Museumplein, 1071XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter) (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER PROMO
Ranked #88 of 353 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Just returned back from a 5 night stay at the NH Museum Quarter Hotel. We thought this hotel was in a lovely location overlooking the canal. Booked a superior room and when we arrived we were given a room on the 7th floor with lovely views. The room was large with everything you could need. It was also very clean. We found the staff to be very friendly. The Barman in particular was friendly and helpful, he served drinks and cooked the food we ordered in the evenings, nothing was to much trouble.
Breakfast was also very good, plenty of choice.
Would definitely stay there again if we returned to Amsterdam and would recommend the Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for your comments. The view is amazing right? We are happy to read we have contributed to your pleasant stay in Amsterdam. And of course, you are more then welcome to visit us again.

Kind regards,
Natasja heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    485
    144
    42
    18
See reviews for
127
469
43
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Lovely location, room was a decent size. Out of the hustle and bustle of the city.....close to the museums and tourist attractions. Near PC Hoofstraat if you like designer shopping experiences. Some good food choices locally. Good tram options near hotel also.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
What a pleasure to read you have had a pleasant stay in our hotel and enjoyed the surroundings. We hope to welcoming you again another time.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager
NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

So many problems: rude and unhelpful staff who don’t care even when you complain, no control over central heating so we froze or sweated and the wishes of central control, horrible room furniture, tiny & outdated TV which we couldn’t see properly from bed, corridors out of a soviet hospital, grubby sink, indescribable toiletries, almost no lighting in the room, weak Internet & the rule of 50 euro deposit even though full payment had been received…. Not a four star more a 3 star with 1 star service

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your recent experiences with regards to your stay at NH Museum Quarter. We constantly aim to provide our guests with the finest of facilities and services and you will understand it was a great disappointment for us to read the inconveniences you have dealt with during your stay.

We would like to assure you that we haven taken your feedback seriously. Please accept our apologies for all the inconveniences caused and that we failed in providing the correct services that you can expect from us. However we also do realize that this will not change your experience with our hotel.

We still hope to welcoming you another time.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here for New Year - the second year in a row. The staff are so friendly and welcoming and the hotel is really nicely placed out of town, but on a good tram route (16 and 24) and near Muzeumplein. Make sure that you get a gvb tram ticket (we got ours from the tourist information desk at Schipol 16.5 euro for 72 hours) that lets you hop on and off the trams and buses at will.

The hotel is very well run and we have no adverse comments at all

Room Tip: Usually when registering you will be offered an up-grade for approx 15 euros a night - we took it an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Good afternoon,

Good to hear you stayed with us for the second time already. Can we reserve a room for you December 31st 2014 already ? ;-) Thank you for your review an d a happy new year.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I had so much fun staying at this hotel because of its location and staff. We had a nice room, internet access worked great, but you need to re login every 6 hours. It was easy for us to move around, get into town, see sights. So many places are in walking distance and the room was beautiful. Well worth the money. This place comes highly recommended. Oh, breakfast is slightly overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for the review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam and we hope seeing you again in 2014!

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Manager NH Museumquarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This place is perfectly fine. The beds are comfortable and the canal views really nice. Hotel is close to the museums and easy access to transport to the rest of the city. It's quiet and comfortable. The hallway smells a little bit like stale urine but the rooms are very clean. The hotel touts free wifi all over the place, and you can connect to the "basic" service, but it's terrible and really they want you to purchase the "premium" for 9 euros per 24 hours. That's fine, but they go over the top to make the internet seem free.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your comments about NH Museum Quarter. We are happy you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam. Unfortunately, I have to agree the basic internet is not always working as it should. This is on the prioritylist for 2014. We hope to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wittlich, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We enjoyed our 3 night stay at this NH Hotel. The location was relatively close to city center and we really enjoyed the convenience of being able to hop on and off the tram stop that was very closeby. We purchased the 3-day tram pass and it was very affordable. The staff was very friendly and were quick to bring a few items to our room that we requested (extra towels, pillows, etc). Our room was quite large with a view of the canal and we were able to get a decent price for our stay. The only complaint would be that the rooms were a little dated and are going to need some updating soon. However, other than sleeping, showering, and a few rests before going out for the evening, we did not spend much time there. We would use it again for our next visit to Amsterdam (or another NH hotel also close to the city center).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Address: Hobbemakade, 50 | Old South, Museumplein, 1071XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#66 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#68 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the 4-star NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter are surrounded by the art and culture of beautiful Amsterdam from our central location between a picturesque canal and the famous Museum Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, EasyToBook, Booking.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Museum Quarter Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.