We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never, ever again!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of NH Museum Quarter

Save Saved
You added NH Museum Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH Museum Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hobbemakade 50, 1071 XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #88 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never, ever again!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

So many problems: rude and unhelpful staff who don’t care even when you complain, no control over central heating so we froze or sweated and the wishes of central control, horrible room furniture, tiny & outdated TV which we couldn’t see properly from bed, corridors out of a soviet hospital, grubby sink, indescribable toiletries, almost no lighting in the room, weak Internet & the rule of 50 euro deposit even though full payment had been received…. Not a four star more a 3 star with 1 star service

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Museum Quarter, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your recent experiences with regards to your stay at NH Museum Quarter. We constantly aim to provide our guests with the finest of facilities and services and you will understand it was a great disappointment for us to read the inconveniences you have dealt with during your stay.

We would like to assure you that we haven taken your feedback seriously. Please accept our apologies for all the inconveniences caused and that we failed in providing the correct services that you can expect from us. However we also do realize that this will not change your experience with our hotel.

We still hope to welcoming you another time.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    346
    108
    30
    15
See reviews for
89
320
28
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here for New Year - the second year in a row. The staff are so friendly and welcoming and the hotel is really nicely placed out of town, but on a good tram route (16 and 24) and near Muzeumplein. Make sure that you get a gvb tram ticket (we got ours from the tourist information desk at Schipol 16.5 euro for 72 hours) that lets you hop on and off the trams and buses at will.

The hotel is very well run and we have no adverse comments at all

Room Tip: Usually when registering you will be offered an up-grade for approx 15 euros a night - we took it an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Museum Quarter, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Good afternoon,

Good to hear you stayed with us for the second time already. Can we reserve a room for you December 31st 2014 already ? ;-) Thank you for your review an d a happy new year.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I had so much fun staying at this hotel because of its location and staff. We had a nice room, internet access worked great, but you need to re login every 6 hours. It was easy for us to move around, get into town, see sights. So many places are in walking distance and the room was beautiful. Well worth the money. This place comes highly recommended. Oh, breakfast is slightly overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, Manager at NH Museum Quarter, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for the review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam and we hope seeing you again in 2014!

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Manager NH Museumquarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This place is perfectly fine. The beds are comfortable and the canal views really nice. Hotel is close to the museums and easy access to transport to the rest of the city. It's quiet and comfortable. The hallway smells a little bit like stale urine but the rooms are very clean. The hotel touts free wifi all over the place, and you can connect to the "basic" service, but it's terrible and really they want you to purchase the "premium" for 9 euros per 24 hours. That's fine, but they go over the top to make the internet seem free.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Museum Quarter, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your comments about NH Museum Quarter. We are happy you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam. Unfortunately, I have to agree the basic internet is not always working as it should. This is on the prioritylist for 2014. We hope to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wittlich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We enjoyed our 3 night stay at this NH Hotel. The location was relatively close to city center and we really enjoyed the convenience of being able to hop on and off the tram stop that was very closeby. We purchased the 3-day tram pass and it was very affordable. The staff was very friendly and were quick to bring a few items to our room that we requested (extra towels, pillows, etc). Our room was quite large with a view of the canal and we were able to get a decent price for our stay. The only complaint would be that the rooms were a little dated and are going to need some updating soon. However, other than sleeping, showering, and a few rests before going out for the evening, we did not spend much time there. We would use it again for our next visit to Amsterdam (or another NH hotel also close to the city center).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We got here last night. At first glance it wasn't what I would expect from a 4 star hotel. Having said that the room is a nice size, bed was comfortable, bathroom was a good size and staff for the most part were friendly. I think next time I would prefer a hotel closer to the center but again not a bad stay. A plus was that we were able to do laundry in the hotel.
Food is pricey in Amsterdam, hotel breakfast was very expensive. We opted to eat in town for less.

Room Tip: I didn't know that you could pay and extra 15 euro and upgrade. When I commented on the room I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, was in a great location, 2min walk from the tram stop just round the corner, number 16 and 24 run straight to central station and the dam. Rooms were clean, had a nice view of the canal, breakfast was ok but I think for the extra you pay it would be more worth while just going to a local cafe, all in all a great stay, will be back for sure.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Museum Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Museum Quarter

Address: Hobbemakade 50, 1071 XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#89 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Museum Quarter 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelsNL and Venere so you can book your NH Museum Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Museum Quarter Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Museum Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.