We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great breakfast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hobbemakade 50, 1071 XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter) (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER PROMO
Ranked #86 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
468 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Good hotel, great breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The hotel is located a bit out from the centre of all the hassle and bustle, but behind the museum, which is worth a visit and near the Heineken Museum.
The best thing about the hotel, is the standard of the room, modern and spacious with excellent bathroom facilities and toiletries and the breakfast. There was an assortment of foods, but personally I loved that you helped yourself to as much coffee as you wanted from a vending machine! We stayed here for a couple of nights, and the hotel is not far from a McDonalds or a supermarket if you fancy buying some snacks. We enjoyed the standard of this hotel and would use the NH hotels again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    506
    149
    42
    18
See reviews for
132
486
48
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

A very good hotel. Large room, comfortable bed. Breakfast excellent, but important to arrive before or after peak period. Cross nearest bridge, straight on to several good restaurants. Walking distance to main museums. Staff efficient, but, by Irish standards, not friendly. Would stay there when next in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: High up is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Wa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had a large room and the view was fabulous. The hotel was very convenient for getting around the city with it proximity to trams and canals. Breakfast buffet was good with a decent selection to chose from.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The NH Museum Quarter Hotel was a great location - located near the museums. Hotel was efficient and clean, a great value. Staff was friendly and helpful. There is a great authentic Italian restaurant right down the street that is better than any place in US, and comparable to places in Italy. There is a Red Light District down the street as well, but it is Amsterdam, after all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its excellent location near the museums and concert hall (and because we made our reservations at the last minute and it was one of the few hotels w/availability). Our room was large, clean, and quiet, and everything worked. The breakfast spread was generous and good. Front desk service was adequate. We did not opt for the upgrade, and the complimentary wi-fi was slow. We recommend this hotel and will be back. We are a couple in our 60's whose son lives in The Hague.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Neat and clean property. If you don't get the breakfast package be ready to PAY!!! I felt 20 euros a person was expensive esp for what was offered. the staff is very helpful. Our view was lovely. Restaurants very close. Nice area of town. Weahter was rainy but expected for Oct.

Room Tip: ask for canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel was perfect for our visit to Amsterdam as we were particularly keen to visit the main museums/galleries - Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh and Stedlijk, all of which were within an easy 10 minute walk. It was also within easy walking distance of Albery Cuyp Straat market and there were a reasonable number of bars/restaurants within 10 - 15 min walk. The main Station is a 15 min tram ride from/to the hotel and tram stop is about 200m from the hotel on Ruysdeal Straat.

The hotel faces on to a moderately busy street and a canal but the rooms are quiet. We were in a room facing into the inner courtyard, so this was very quiet indeed.
We were in a standard room, which was clean, modern, spacious with a bath, with shower over and hanging space for clothes, an ironing board etc.. We were paying for room only and did not bother with the 20 Euro breakfast. It didnt look anything special and there are places in the local area (10 min walk) that provided better value for money. The evening meal service also looked very uninspiring but as Amsterdam is full of good restaurants and cafes this was never an option for us.

We booked via Lastminute.com as part of a package with the flight and got a good deal. The rack rate is quite pricey (£150 a night) so try shopping around.

Room Tip: for a very quiet room ask for one that overlooks the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#79 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,551 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#165 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,934 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#73 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#120 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 538 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#41 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 518 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#56 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Address: Hobbemakade 50, 1071 XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the 4-star NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter are surrounded by the art and culture of beautiful Amsterdam from our central location between a picturesque canal and the famous Museum Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, NHHotels, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Museum Quarter Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.