We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Save Saved
You added NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hobbemakade, 50 | Old South, Museumplein, 1071XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter) (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #86 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Orlando, Florida, Usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location and value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The NH Museum Quarter Hotel was a great location - located near the museums. Hotel was efficient and clean, a great value. Staff was friendly and helpful. There is a great authentic Italian restaurant right down the street that is better than any place in US, and comparable to places in Italy. There is a Red Light District down the street as well, but it is Amsterdam, after all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    367
    114
    30
    15
See reviews for
102
338
28
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its excellent location near the museums and concert hall (and because we made our reservations at the last minute and it was one of the few hotels w/availability). Our room was large, clean, and quiet, and everything worked. The breakfast spread was generous and good. Front desk service was adequate. We did not opt for the upgrade, and the complimentary wi-fi was slow. We recommend this hotel and will be back. We are a couple in our 60's whose son lives in The Hague.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Neat and clean property. If you don't get the breakfast package be ready to PAY!!! I felt 20 euros a person was expensive esp for what was offered. the staff is very helpful. Our view was lovely. Restaurants very close. Nice area of town. Weahter was rainy but expected for Oct.

Room Tip: ask for canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel was perfect for our visit to Amsterdam as we were particularly keen to visit the main museums/galleries - Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh and Stedlijk, all of which were within an easy 10 minute walk. It was also within easy walking distance of Albery Cuyp Straat market and there were a reasonable number of bars/restaurants within 10 - 15 min walk. The main Station is a 15 min tram ride from/to the hotel and tram stop is about 200m from the hotel on Ruysdeal Straat.

The hotel faces on to a moderately busy street and a canal but the rooms are quiet. We were in a room facing into the inner courtyard, so this was very quiet indeed.
We were in a standard room, which was clean, modern, spacious with a bath, with shower over and hanging space for clothes, an ironing board etc.. We were paying for room only and did not bother with the 20 Euro breakfast. It didnt look anything special and there are places in the local area (10 min walk) that provided better value for money. The evening meal service also looked very uninspiring but as Amsterdam is full of good restaurants and cafes this was never an option for us.

We booked via Lastminute.com as part of a package with the flight and got a good deal. The rack rate is quite pricey (£150 a night) so try shopping around.

Room Tip: for a very quiet room ask for one that overlooks the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Nice, friendly hotel less than 10 minutes from Rijksmuseum.
There were some negatives though:
1) Safe did not work in room.
2) Vending machine did not release purchased confectionery item.
3) Dinner service was poor - after main course there was only one dessert choice available and then staff disappeared indefinitely so I could not settle bill.
Came to my room twice to reconfirm order and then present bill.
4) Two nights were very expensive and also charged for breakfast on top of this.
Very poor value for money - not the level of service expected in a 4 star hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel's biggest drawing card is the location. Just a short walk to Museumplein, the Heineken Experience and the vibrant Albert Cuyp market. The view over the canal and De Pijp neighbourhood adds to the true Amsterdam experience.
The rooms are comfortable but could use a modern touch. Staff are friendly and very helpful
I used this hotel as a stop for a few days of business and found it be exactly what I needed: easy access to public transport and a nice relaxing area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This hotel is in a fantastic location for those whose main visit to Amsterdam is for visiting museums or attending concerts. It is within a short walking distance of the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh Museum, the newly renovated modern art gallery and the city's main concert hall. It is also only a 50 yard walk to a tram which takes you into the city centre. (Tip - when arriving at Schipphol take the train to the Central Station and then the No. 16 tram right outside the station and get off at the third stop after the Heineken Experience). The hotel itself is simple but classy, extremely clean and comfortable. Our room overlooked the canal and was very spacious with a large bathroom (not just a shower). It was noisy with the window open, but the air conditioning worked well so you could leave the windows closed at night. We got a special offer on breakfast - 15 euros each instead of 20 and at this price it was good value (bearing in mind that Amsterdam is an expensive city). There was a wide variety of food and we found we didn't need much lunch after it. The evening dinner menu is very limited (but they explain this) and there is a really good Italian restaurant within a short walking distance over the bridge, which served enormous helpings so was very good value. We found the staff very helpful and friendly, with the exception of the barman, who needs some training in customer service. We would certainly stay here again when we next visit Amsterdam and can recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Try to get upper floor on the canal side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Address: Hobbemakade, 50 | Old South, Museumplein, 1071XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#79 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the 4-star NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter are surrounded by the art and culture of beautiful Amsterdam from our central location between a picturesque canal and the famous Museum Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, NHHotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HotelsNL so you can book your NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Museum Quarter Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.