We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Museum Quarter

Save Saved
You added NH Museum Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH Museum Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hobbemakade 50, Amsterdam 1071 XL, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
San Jose, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its excellent location near the museums and concert hall (and because we made our reservations at the last minute and it was one of the few hotels w/availability). Our room was large, clean, and quiet, and everything worked. The breakfast spread was generous and good. Front desk service was adequate. We did not opt for the upgrade, and the complimentary wi-fi was slow. We recommend this hotel and will be back. We are a couple in our 60's whose son lives in The Hague.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    197
    361
    115
    29
    16
See reviews for
83
315
28
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Neat and clean property. If you don't get the breakfast package be ready to PAY!!! I felt 20 euros a person was expensive esp for what was offered. the staff is very helpful. Our view was lovely. Restaurants very close. Nice area of town. Weahter was rainy but expected for Oct.

Room Tip: ask for canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel was perfect for our visit to Amsterdam as we were particularly keen to visit the main museums/galleries - Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh and Stedlijk, all of which were within an easy 10 minute walk. It was also within easy walking distance of Albery Cuyp Straat market and there were a reasonable number of bars/restaurants within 10 - 15 min walk. The main Station is a 15 min tram ride from/to the hotel and tram stop is about 200m from the hotel on Ruysdeal Straat.

The hotel faces on to a moderately busy street and a canal but the rooms are quiet. We were in a room facing into the inner courtyard, so this was very quiet indeed.
We were in a standard room, which was clean, modern, spacious with a bath, with shower over and hanging space for clothes, an ironing board etc.. We were paying for room only and did not bother with the 20 Euro breakfast. It didnt look anything special and there are places in the local area (10 min walk) that provided better value for money. The evening meal service also looked very uninspiring but as Amsterdam is full of good restaurants and cafes this was never an option for us.

We booked via Lastminute.com as part of a package with the flight and got a good deal. The rack rate is quite pricey (£150 a night) so try shopping around.

Room Tip: for a very quiet room ask for one that overlooks the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Nice, friendly hotel less than 10 minutes from Rijksmuseum.
There were some negatives though:
1) Safe did not work in room.
2) Vending machine did not release purchased confectionery item.
3) Dinner service was poor - after main course there was only one dessert choice available and then staff disappeared indefinitely so I could not settle bill.
Came to my room twice to reconfirm order and then present bill.
4) Two nights were very expensive and also charged for breakfast on top of this.
Very poor value for money - not the level of service expected in a 4 star hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel's biggest drawing card is the location. Just a short walk to Museumplein, the Heineken Experience and the vibrant Albert Cuyp market. The view over the canal and De Pijp neighbourhood adds to the true Amsterdam experience.
The rooms are comfortable but could use a modern touch. Staff are friendly and very helpful
I used this hotel as a stop for a few days of business and found it be exactly what I needed: easy access to public transport and a nice relaxing area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This hotel is in a fantastic location for those whose main visit to Amsterdam is for visiting museums or attending concerts. It is within a short walking distance of the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh Museum, the newly renovated modern art gallery and the city's main concert hall. It is also only a 50 yard walk to a tram which takes you into the city centre. (Tip - when arriving at Schipphol take the train to the Central Station and then the No. 16 tram right outside the station and get off at the third stop after the Heineken Experience). The hotel itself is simple but classy, extremely clean and comfortable. Our room overlooked the canal and was very spacious with a large bathroom (not just a shower). It was noisy with the window open, but the air conditioning worked well so you could leave the windows closed at night. We got a special offer on breakfast - 15 euros each instead of 20 and at this price it was good value (bearing in mind that Amsterdam is an expensive city). There was a wide variety of food and we found we didn't need much lunch after it. The evening dinner menu is very limited (but they explain this) and there is a really good Italian restaurant within a short walking distance over the bridge, which served enormous helpings so was very good value. We found the staff very helpful and friendly, with the exception of the barman, who needs some training in customer service. We would certainly stay here again when we next visit Amsterdam and can recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Try to get upper floor on the canal side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Ain, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is just under a 5 minute walk from all the major museums on Museum Quarter. It's also withing walking to the Heineken Experience and the De Pijp area (great for finding a bite to eat). The hotel is located right on the canal and so the view from the rooms was wonderful. It was a great area for walking and exploring. The staff was so friendly and so willing to help us. We even rented bikes from the hotel and had a great time enjoying Amsterdam by bike! We are hoping to go back to Amsterdam in December and if we do we will stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Museum Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Museum Quarter

Address: Hobbemakade 50, Amsterdam 1071 XL, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#82 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Museum Quarter 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, HotelsNL and Agoda so you can book your NH Museum Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Museum Quarter Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Museum Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.