We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Museum Quarter

Save Saved
You added NH Museum Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
NH Museum Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hobbemakade 50, 1071 XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #87 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Wilton, California, Usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Affordable Comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The NH Museum Quarter Hotel is strategically located near the lightrail stop and a couple of blocks from the major Museums. The hotel had great staff and wonderful service. Breakfast was always a treat!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    345
    107
    30
    15
See reviews for
89
319
28
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The location is great for food and the Museum quarter and of course getting around on the trains is convenient to anywhere

the rooms are very dated - very old TVs / the WiFi is terrible - but free - even the paid "high speed" was spotty more than consistent

the beds are older and worn - my colleague found a gift of a spring in his side in his room - mine was just old and worn

overall - would stay again - due to location - but depends on reason for being there

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Nh museum hotel is pleasant. I stayed during IBC when the city is overbooked but the hotel handles the pressure well
Rented one of their bikes to alleviate jet lag which was a good decision as biking in Amsterdam is fun and the hotel bikes are in good repair
Morning Breakfast at 20 euro is pricey but of good quality

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The hotel is comfortable, the staff courteous and the rooms spacious even by North American standards. The WIFI, however, is stone age. I was traveling on business for 6 days, trying to exchange documents with my office in North America and clients on a 256k line!! For the non technical, this is the kind of standard one would have expected in 1995. To make matters worse, the system requires you to enter in long codes every 24 hours to keep the connection alive. After repeated connection debacles, trips to reception to help fix and frustrating white screens(and this was just in the first few hours), the hotel staff put me in touch with their third party provider (Swisscom). The provider sensing my frustration, offered me a 'premium' upgrade at 7 euros a day which I had to take given I could not function at all. This upped the connection to a whopping 1.5mb which laughingly puts it ten years behind instead of 20. I had to struggles through using this because there were no decent hotels available during this period or I would have left immediately. If you are traveling on business and need a decent connection to even deal with simple pdfs, word docs and the like, then run far and fast from this hotel.By far one of the worst I have encountered in amsterdam…..Either that or expect to walk over to Starbucks to can send a pdf.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Our priority was to be in the Museum precinct of Amsterdam. The location was perfect yet also close to tram stop into centre which ran every 10mins. Gorgeous view of canal & great service. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here several years ago and knew the location was perfect (if you do not want to be in the noisy centre) with tram stops a few minutes walk away as are the Museums,canal cruises and some super restaurants. The area is very nice and clean and quiet although the road can be pretty busy and, like the rest of Holland, you need to be totally vigilant when crossing the cycle paths! Ignore this at your peril as they take no prisoners if you walk in their space and there is not much left for pedestrians!
Rooms at the hotel are large, we had a corner room 314 and it was huge with large (opening) windows good blackout curtains and a very comfortable king bed made up of twin mattresses. Pillows of lumpy foam not my thing but I always take my own its the only way to guarantee a decent one. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and, although a little tired and dated, we found no complaints with our room or indeed any of the facilities. One lift was out of action for a day but hey we got more exercise and used the stairs. Cupboard space is limited in the rooms so when they do a revamp they will hopefully address this. We chose to breakfast outside the hotel but did eat there one evening as it was pouring with rain and were pleasantly surprised by the large tasty portions on offer. We did find the bar closing at 11pm, particularly on Saturday night, as rather poor for such a large busy hotel but maybe that is why it was so lovely and quiet with no rowdy late night revellers. Reception staff were always very helpful and polite. If we return to Amsterdam we would certainly choose this hotel once again.

Room Tip: Front facing or corner room 214 314 were spacious and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Really good size standard rooms close to the museums and a canal bus stop. We stopped here for 2 nights on a cycle tour and they let us put our bikes in the internal courtyard so no chance of them getting stolen. No traffic noise either

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Museum Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Museum Quarter

Address: Hobbemakade 50, 1071 XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#89 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Museum Quarter 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Expedia, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelsNL and Venere so you can book your NH Museum Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Museum Quarter Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Museum Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.