We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed during IBC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hobbemakade, 50 | Old South, Museumplein, 1071XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter) (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #83 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Stayed during IBC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Nh museum hotel is pleasant. I stayed during IBC when the city is overbooked but the hotel handles the pressure well
Rented one of their bikes to alleviate jet lag which was a good decision as biking in Amsterdam is fun and the hotel bikes are in good repair
Morning Breakfast at 20 euro is pricey but of good quality

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    375
    114
    31
    15
See reviews for
105
347
28
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The hotel is comfortable, the staff courteous and the rooms spacious even by North American standards. The WIFI, however, is stone age. I was traveling on business for 6 days, trying to exchange documents with my office in North America and clients on a 256k line!! For the non technical, this is the kind of standard one would have expected in 1995. To make matters worse, the system requires you to enter in long codes every 24 hours to keep the connection alive. After repeated connection debacles, trips to reception to help fix and frustrating white screens(and this was just in the first few hours), the hotel staff put me in touch with their third party provider (Swisscom). The provider sensing my frustration, offered me a 'premium' upgrade at 7 euros a day which I had to take given I could not function at all. This upped the connection to a whopping 1.5mb which laughingly puts it ten years behind instead of 20. I had to struggles through using this because there were no decent hotels available during this period or I would have left immediately. If you are traveling on business and need a decent connection to even deal with simple pdfs, word docs and the like, then run far and fast from this hotel.By far one of the worst I have encountered in amsterdam…..Either that or expect to walk over to Starbucks to can send a pdf.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Our priority was to be in the Museum precinct of Amsterdam. The location was perfect yet also close to tram stop into centre which ran every 10mins. Gorgeous view of canal & great service. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here several years ago and knew the location was perfect (if you do not want to be in the noisy centre) with tram stops a few minutes walk away as are the Museums,canal cruises and some super restaurants. The area is very nice and clean and quiet although the road can be pretty busy and, like the rest of Holland, you need to be totally vigilant when crossing the cycle paths! Ignore this at your peril as they take no prisoners if you walk in their space and there is not much left for pedestrians!
Rooms at the hotel are large, we had a corner room 314 and it was huge with large (opening) windows good blackout curtains and a very comfortable king bed made up of twin mattresses. Pillows of lumpy foam not my thing but I always take my own its the only way to guarantee a decent one. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and, although a little tired and dated, we found no complaints with our room or indeed any of the facilities. One lift was out of action for a day but hey we got more exercise and used the stairs. Cupboard space is limited in the rooms so when they do a revamp they will hopefully address this. We chose to breakfast outside the hotel but did eat there one evening as it was pouring with rain and were pleasantly surprised by the large tasty portions on offer. We did find the bar closing at 11pm, particularly on Saturday night, as rather poor for such a large busy hotel but maybe that is why it was so lovely and quiet with no rowdy late night revellers. Reception staff were always very helpful and polite. If we return to Amsterdam we would certainly choose this hotel once again.

Room Tip: Front facing or corner room 214 314 were spacious and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Really good size standard rooms close to the museums and a canal bus stop. We stopped here for 2 nights on a cycle tour and they let us put our bikes in the internal courtyard so no chance of them getting stolen. No traffic noise either

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Very well located in the museum area. Hotel is a bit shabby for nh standards, which was rather disappointing. But the staff is very nice and the breakfast was good. The prices are way too high for the quality provided so, basically, if i went back to Amsterdam i would choose another hotel. They also provide a luggage room which is very useful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel environment was fantastic. The room was clean environment quiet. The location of the hotel was accessible to major attractions, such as; the Rijks Museum and Heineken. Additionally , access to the transport network was good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Address: Hobbemakade, 50 | Old South, Museumplein, 1071XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#68 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the 4-star NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter are surrounded by the art and culture of beautiful Amsterdam from our central location between a picturesque canal and the famous Museum Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Museum Quarter Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.