We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hobbemakade, 50 | Old South, Museumplein, 1071XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter) (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #88 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“Not a bad choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Family with 2 kids. They added a bed into our room for our 6 years old. Bed was ready when we've checked in.
Breakfast is acceptable but nothing special.
If you come by taxi, it will cost you 40€ from the airport.
Tram 16 & 24 take you from the hotel to Dam in 15 min.
Take a 24 hours pass for 7.5€.
Ladies in the reception are all very kind. Ready to help.
This hotel is a good choice because easy access to Dam and quite area (while I believe it is really noisy in Dam)

All hotel are expensive in Amsterdam.....

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    396
    120
    35
    15
See reviews for
109
362
31
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Really nice place. Nothing fancy but done to perfection. Nice touches in acknowledging my birthday in little ways.

Really only used room and bar but can't fault the place.

Proximity to the museum quarter makes for a quieter location with both subdued and more lovely entertainments ten minutes walk away.

A final shout out for Cafe Buiten just across the road for a great pre dinner drink

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I was in Amsterdam on a Business trip in July and stayed at the N.H Quarter. The hotel is very close to the Rjiks, Van Gogh Museums and some of the rooms overlook the canal. The canal facing rooms are bigger and better as compared to the non canal facing rooms, though the price is the same. Unfortunately, the hotel does not allow you to book the canal facing room in advance. The standard Wifi is complimentary but extremely slow ( you can take a faster wifi package for 10 Euros a day). Buffet breakfast is ~ 20 Euros (very expensive) and after having a look at the spread, not worth it.
The staff was helpful and friendly. The lift of the block I was staying in was out of service for 3 of the 6 days I was at the hotel. That seemed very unprofessional for a hotel of this stature and given the layout of the hotel, it is difficult to go to the upper floors if the lift does not function.

Room Tip: Request for the spacious canal facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

my wife and me really enjoyed our 1 week stay in this hotel: friendly staff, quiet and clean room: tea-coffee place, small frigidaire, nice view on the canal; short walking distance to: museums, tram stop, market (must eat there a famous herring with a cucumber and onion)...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathaven, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

nice hotel close to the museum's.our room looked over the canal very nice. the rooms are adequate clean and tidy. easy to reach dam square and with the amsterdam card jumping on and off the buses and trams we were able to see alot in the short time we stayed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

nice hotel situated in a quieter area near a lovely park. short walk or tram ride from centre. we had 2 rooms on top floor at front of hotel with fantastic views over south side of city. parking in streets difficult but hotel had very convenient secure parking service away from hotel which was excellent & prompt service.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This modern hotel is well located on a canal, a few minutes walk from the Rijksmuseum. This makes it on the edge of what is a very pleasant area, with lovely houses, and some very pleasant restaurants, and on the edge of a rather less salubrious area.
We came so that my teenagers could get a taste of Amsterdam, and needed a room that would sleep three.
We had a superior room, which was fine - two twin beds and a sofabed. The room was clean, but shabby, and probably dating from the early 1990s. It was a good size, and the TV had loads of channels, including 6 UK stations, which was handy for when the children were bored with site seeing.
The bathroom was immense, and had facilities for someone who needed disabled access, with a seated shower separate from the other one which was in the bath. The problem with this was that the shower screen leaked to such an extent that the floor was flooded after a fairly modest shower. This is fine as long as one is careful, but the floor was quite slippery.
We didn't eat at the hotel, although we had a drink one evening. We were staggered that the bar closed at 11pm, and although there is a pleasant courtyard to sit in and have a drink, this closes at 10pm because of the neighbouring flats.
Staff were helpful, and the hotel is clean. It is far from luxury, but fine for a couple of days in a city where hotels can be extortionate.
My sister had a queen room, which was fine for one, but would have been impossible for more than two.
We were there at a particularly hot time and the air conditioning really couldn't manage at all, so do be careful in the summer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Address: Hobbemakade, 50 | Old South, Museumplein, 1071XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the 4-star NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter are surrounded by the art and culture of beautiful Amsterdam from our central location between a picturesque canal and the famous Museum Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, NHHotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Museum Quarter Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.