We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed Bugs!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hobbemakade, 50 | Old South, Museumplein, 1071XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter) (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #86 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bed Bugs!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I work for an airline and we stay at this hotel ......there is a major outbreak of bed bugs on the 4th floor! Beware!

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH_Museum_Quarter, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. After your comment during your stay in our hotel, direct action has taken. We are happy to inform you that the pest control company, after a thorough investigation, has not found any further tracks of bedbugs in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    371
    114
    31
    15
See reviews for
103
342
28
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Bedroom and bathroom both very spacious. In fact, there is so much empty space in the bedroom, it looked like it's missing a sofa or something, but anyway, it is comfortable.
Overall clean, probably could do with a new shower curtain though.
Friendly staff members.
Close to the museumplein and concertgebouw.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Was very pleased with the level of comfort and cleanliness at the hotel.Staff on reception,in the bar and at breakfast were professional and pleasant.It is possible to get to hotel from the station on the 16 tram,but a taxi would be more comfortable. The hotel is situated close to the trendy De Pijp area, where there is an excellent choice of restaurants.The hotel is used by airline crews .Many rooms back on to a courtyard-others overlook a canal or side street.
Breakfast was typically Dutch with yoghurt ,fruit cheese,ham and salamis.Omelettes were made to order at the breakfast bar.
Free wi-fi for 15 mins in reception area.
Not much cupboard space.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Free Wi-fi only in the lobby. Staff were extremely helpful and efficient. The included breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid - Barcelona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Hotel NH Museum quarter during my birthday trip to Amsterdam earlier this year.

We booked our stay through an online travel-booking site and picked a “secret hotel” deal at a very reduced price; the offer basically consists in knowing the location, number of stars, the facilities and the Tripadvisor rating of the hotel but not its name; not until you pay for it, that is. It worked really well as the hotel was just what we expected and the price was a really good deal.

The hotel is a bit far from the train station for a walk, though we did it in about 40 min on the way there, as we love to walk around and didn’t travel with heavy cases. There is a tram that takes you to the station directly and stops next to the hotel, so transport is not an issue. We chose the location for the museums but found that it was perfect for pretty much anything you might want to do in Amsterdam (although it is technically far from the city centre and the red light district). The Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum are 5 min walk away and Vondelpark is only short walk away. The Pijp district is on the other side of the canal and there are plenty of international restaurants, small cafés and nice bars. We walked to the Flour Market without a problem but took the tram when visiting the Botanical Gardens and the Hermitage Amsterdam museum.

We didn’t have breakfast included in our stay but were lucky enough to find the fantastic Bagels & Beans café (Ambachtsweg 40 – 42, only 7 min walk away) as soon as we arrived and we ate our breakfast there every day; I cannot recommend it enough! Restaurant wise, do try the superb Ethiopian restaurant Walia Ibex (1e Jacob van Campenstraat, 41-HS; again only 10 min walk from the hotel on the other side of the canal).

We had a standard room as far as I can tell and it was a good size, with big and comfortable bed, large bathroom and lovely view of the canal below. We found service to be efficient and reception staff was always happy to help. There is a very cosy sitting area and a bar on the ground floor, level with the reception area, and we enjoyed having few glasses of wine there while using the complimentary wi-fi connection (please note that each login works for 30 min only but you can get as many free login codes as you want from reception).

I would definitely stay at NH Museum Quarter again in my next visit to Amsterdam, hopefully for the unveiling of the new Rijksmuseum.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012 via mobile

So the location? no, it's not in the city center, but the tram stops just one street down and the museum quarter is only a 10 minute walk away. You can very easily get to the tourist sights, and just as easily escape them.

The staff were all very courteous and helpful, especially with the baby. The hotel itself is clear and very large. Most of the other people there seemed to be in Amsterdam on business and we saw a few flight crews. The hotel provided a crib (more of a pack 'n play) for my daughter along with a set of perfume-free shampoo and bath gel for her. The bed was comfortable enough for hotel beds - taking advantage of the "pillow menu" is a must. Don't waste money on the hotel breakfast; there are plenty of very good cafes ( try de bakerswinkel!) nearby.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosmalen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Staff of this hotel is not competent. At arrival I requested some information on parking my car. The answer of the receptionist: on the other side of the road, so I asked for the price (4 euro per hour) she did not know.
After that I asked for the price of using a taxi to travel to the conference centre RAI. I got a price of 75 uptill 80 euro's which is way too high for a one mile drive to a restaurant.
Later I asked a taxi driver myself and got a price of 7,50 euro.
After that we went into our room. First room 314, later 614. In both superior rooms the matrasses of the beds are horroble. My wife and I woke up with bag pains. I complained already at arrival and the receptionist told me that she visited a week ago a couple of rooms to find a proper bed with another guest (and she could not find a proper firm matrass).
Last but not least the breakfast which is not value for money, 20 eur/person. Last year we visited this hotel as well and we were pleased in those days to stay overthere. Dear managers of NH: do something, improve quality or accept you loose customers.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Address: Hobbemakade, 50 | Old South, Museumplein, 1071XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the 4-star NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter are surrounded by the art and culture of beautiful Amsterdam from our central location between a picturesque canal and the famous Museum Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Venere, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Museum Quarter Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.