We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really brings out the spirit of amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kashmir Lounge

Kashmir Lounge
Jan Pieter Heijestraat 85 / 87 | Jan Pieter Heijestraat 85 / 87, 1053 GM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 683 2268
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #837 of 3,031 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: Cafe, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Kashmir started out as a DJ Cafe / Coffeeshop. In the Old West of Amsterdam there was a big need for a place to chill, have a beer or a smoke or two with friends while listening to some great music. The laid back tunes and atmosphere during the day make it the perfect location to lounge with a cup of tea or coffee, or sit on the outside terrace to watch the world go by. The Kashmir Lounge was one of the first DJ Cafe/Coffeeshops in the Netherlands and every night there is a different line up of DJs playing an eclectic mix of music for your pleasure. The Kashmir has been used as the film location for a number of motion pictures as well as a number of music videos and is well known by locals and international visitors alike. After all these years we are still proud that many people old and young consider it the place to be in the Amsterdam! Nowadays the Kashmir Coffeeshop is situated just across the street from the Kashmir Lounge Cafe. Feel welcome and enjoy! ( Minimum age is 18 years)
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really brings out the spirit of amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I love amsterdam, when i was travelling here i think i spent 80% of my time in this establishment. keep on doing as you're doing!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrydan, Manager at Kashmir Lounge, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
we will for sure ,i`m glad that you had a good time , we alway`s trying to do our best
thankxxx the kashmir crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“DJ cafe with unique atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

A hidden gem walking distance from the city center. Fabulous staff, unique atmosphere, great selection of Belgian beers and the locals hang out here too. Live DJ's spice up the evenings and in the designated smoking you imagine yourself to be in India. Incredible detail was given to the interior with Indian statues, plaster, incense, candles, chairs, pillows, i mean: the works! Smoking the local delicasies is not frowned upon: on the contrary. Like i said: a hidden gem, almost surreal.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank The T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrydan, Manager at Kashmir Lounge, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
thanks for you`re review ,so nice how you said it in you`re own words .
normaly only in the centre, our hidden gem allready for 17 years in the j.p.heijestraat 82/85/87
amsterdam -west nearby the vondelpark
we glad that you liked the atmosphere super thankxxx the kashmir crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best place in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

This is literally the best place to go in Amsterdam around 1 in the day sit out on the booth at the front and it is literally heaven

Helpful?
1 Thank Flipmc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrydan, Manager at Kashmir Lounge, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
we appreciate you`re review alway`s cool to be the best place to go in amsterdam
thankxxx the kashmir crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kashmir Lounge also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Kashmir Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing