We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Student Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Student Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
The Student Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Jan van Galenstraat 335, 1061 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
1 review
“Impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed here for the weekend. Given the hotel prices elsewhere in the city this was the default choice at 60gbp per night (compared with 100+ at the weekend).

The location isn't great, but the 13 tram is frequent and fast.

The hotel is smart and modern. The sandwiches available from the kitchen are pretty good, but a little expensive. I didn't like their coffee though (sorry)!

The rooms are very roomy, the bed is comfortable and they are very clean. The bathrooms are excellent and the showers are hot and powerful (such a nice surprise).


Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    118
    44
    13
    8
See reviews for
14
135
26
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

i just recently came home from staying in the student hotel, i was very very pleased with our room, was very clean, bed was really comfy, toilet was clean, with clean towels... staff were really nice and considering its only a 3 star hotel the restaurant food was lovely. its a simular lay out to student halls, modern but simple. the tram was 10-15 minutes from the central and you can get tickets for as many days as you are staying for for quite cheap.if i was to come to amsterdam again i would stay in this hotel. paided 110 for 3 days between 2 of us, so was cheap for what we got aswell. very happy!!! :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank U, Manager at The Student Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Hi Lauren h,

Thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor! We are pleased you recommend our Hotel and most of all that you had a great stay with us!

We will be more than happy to welcome you back anytime. Drop us a line on Facebook or Twitter if you decide to do so!

Have a lovely day,

Frank Uffen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Clean. Friendly staff. Modern. Minimalist rooms. Location is quite far from city centre but tram 13 is on the doorstep. I would not stay again for this excessive price however considering it is very remote. Would be great however for long term stay as a student

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and 5 days and it was all perfect, our room was really clean and the hotel design was very peculiar and young. Staff was very nice and kind.
The hotel is just in front of a tram stop (13) that brings you in 10/15 minutes to the centre of the city, the Dam square, and then from there you can visit all the greatest attractions of this beautiful city.
We will surely come back here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panevezys, Lithuania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is quite a new place so everything is still in a good condition. However keep in mind, this is not a hotel but a students' dormitory. For a long term stay it probably provides a lovely accommodation and facilities, but for a short stay it's really not a right place. If you are coming to Amsterdam alone and you want company, there is always someone to play ping pong or basketball with there but if you are planning to do only a quick city tour, then don't waste your time here.
The hotel is a bit further from the centre, even though there is a metro and tram stop just outside. The room is very basic. Probably the most basic you will ever have: a bed and a tv. No cups or glasses, not decorations on the walls, no phone, no trash bin or blow drier in the bathroom. I had no problems with its cleanliness (and the maid did knock asking if I needed any cleaning to be done) and there was free wifi but I just didn't feel like it was worth the money I paid. There are better places closer to the city centre (or in the city centre) that cost less so I think the next time I will just stay there instead of trying new hotels.
Also, don't forget they don't accept cash, only the credit cards.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elbasan, Albania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I and my friend were in the student hostel 5 days sorry I do not know why wanted to take charge when it was ok, as was explained and gave us a double room when we had paid two single rooms girls pretended they did not understand and spoke English very quickly with Dutch accent. rooms not cleaned at our insistence cleaned only once in our five days asked for ,taxi and almost an hour waiting for the taxi as it seems girls waiting for his boyfriend is time taxi,It horror I wos tree times at Amsterdam but this time was a very bad experience this hotel .With this price find other hotels in the charming town of tulips

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Student Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Student Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Jan van Galenstraat 335, 1061 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Student Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 709
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, HostelWorld, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Student Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Student Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.