We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Sandwiches” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heavenly Made with Love

Heavenly Made with Love
Utrechtsestraat 128, 1017 VT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 6241931
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #750 of 2,412 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Indian, Vegetarian, Dutch, International, Bistro, Fusion, Organic, Asian fusion, Sandwiches
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

My friend and I stopped here on Saturday for lunch and it was delicious, i definitely recommend it for a great relaxing lunch with top class-friendly service.
To start we had traditional indian chai made with milk, i would have liked more spice in mine but thats personal preference. This was followed with very tasty sandwiches, i had the 'heavenly special' which was amazing, just the right amount of spice. My friend had the tikka masala and she enjoyed it... there is the option to have a wrap if you're not in the mood for a bread roll. Would have liked to try a dessert but the sandwich was very filling so missed it this time but i'll definitely be back :) Fantastic!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    8
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Original menu that works really well”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We headed over to HMWL on a cold and wet Sunday morning in October for hot soup and coffee which was just what was required. The idea of lightly curried vegetables in a panini for brunch was intriguing but I'm so glad I tried it - it was fabulous. It converts into an Indian restaurant in the evening which I'm sure is very good based on our lunchtime experience. Very easy to get to on tram and handy for museums.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
temecula california
1 review
“Thank you Pam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife is gluten free and started talking with Pamela, the owner, about how she would love some gluten free oatmeal as we had been traveling for a couple of weeks and were getting tired of the same old thing (eggs, etc) for breakfast. Pam suggested that if we wanted to come back tomorrow for breakfast, she would go to the grocery that night and purchase the oatmeal for us. We took her up on it and came back the next day and had our special oatmeal.

Needless to say, the level of service was above and beyond. Heavenly is a cozy, personalized restaurant on a great street with many niche shops and bars which I would highly recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Bottled water not optional”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We walked out on principle when the man who appeared to be the father in this family run establishment proceeded to pop open a bottle of Evian water and fill my glass after I had requested tap water and told him I don't like bottled water for environmental reasons and that I actually prefer the taste of good old fashion trip water.

His only response while I watched in dismay was "please, it's normal here". He refused to clarify what here meant and I continued talking to him as he turned and walked away. His attitude was dismissive and a surreal demonstration of the cliche stuck up waiter, which I've actually never encountered before. We went across the street to a courteous Thai restaurant who indulged me with tap water in a wine glass. Good heavens! It was white cloth and delicious to boot.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

we really enjoyed the stay at "Heavenly Made with Love". Ambience is really nice and the food was delicious as well. What really stood out was the Service. Pam was really nice and suggested us other restaurants and places we should visit in Amsterdam.

Don't miss your chance to visit Heavenly Made with Love!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heavenly Made with Love also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Heavenly Made with Love? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heavenly Made with Love, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.