We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Maria Restaurant-Amsterdam

Villa Maria Restaurant-Amsterdam
Lange Leidsedwarsstraat 45, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #725 of 2,287 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Argentinean
Restaurant details
the north west
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Ricardo made us so welcome we went back the night after the food was simply beautiful ,,,we couldn't fault it and we loved the atmosphere ..

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    11
    9
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“TO AVOID: Typical horrible touristy place, terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I live in Amsterdam fulltime and went to this restaurant because I had a gift card. It was a horrible experience and I do not recommend this restaurant to anyone unless you don't mind feeling uncomfortable all dinner long.

A very rude guy approaches people in the street to drag them inside the empty restaurant.
We were seated next to the street window with no choice of seating anywhere else. The restaurant was almost empty so it was clearly a strategy from the owner to attract customers from outside. It felt terrible to be treated like marketing meat.
We first ordered a couple of beers and steaks. The waiter was insisting a lot for us to order more and more. We went for some bread and garlic butter. The bread and butter were low quality industrial products. You can find better at Albert Heijn. The fries were also industrial and mayonnaise was brought into individual plastic pockets. Terrible. The steak was cold.........

We asked for the check as soon as we were done and again the waiter insisted for us to order desert or cocktails. He let us wait for the bill during 20 minutes probably because we were seating next to the street window and attracting customers. He tried to charge us for 4 beers instead of two.

I felt like a milking cow all dinner long and I hated it. The food was bad and the service was terrible. Avoid this place, there are much much better places in the neighborhood for the same range of price.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good food and cheap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Excellent quality price ratio. No thrills but a very good steak. Attentive service by lucia the lovely spanish waitress.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Excellent ribs,friendly manager.great food.reasonable prices.there are similar restaurants along the strip but this one is fantastic!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We went in this restaurant & had the rib, they cam with a very good salad & fries. The ribs are the best we have ever had the sauce was fantastic. When we finished they brought us some more ribs & asked if we wanted some salad or fries too. We just had the ribs its all we could manage. We had the garlic braed & olives as a starter which was very nice too, all washed down with good wine.

The service is very good nothing was too much trouble, we had a good night out & will go again next time we are in Amsterdam.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Maria Restaurant-Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Villa Maria Restaurant-Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Maria Restaurant-Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.