We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice small steakhouse near central” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Argentinos San Thomas - WS

Argentinos San Thomas - WS
Warmoesstraat 7 | 1012 HT, 1012 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 330 9964
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #415 of 2,525 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $0 - $73
Cuisines: Argentinean, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We are Argentinian restaurant located in Amsterdam Center. We served very high quality of fresh Argentinian meat, straight from the pampas. Tender & fresh
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Nice small steakhouse near central”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Overall the food was good, the steaks were tender. The atmosphere feels almost like a small old saloon. Service was hit or miss, but they were trying. Prices were about as expected for where it is located.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    48
    8
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Very good steak, but scanty side dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

When in Amsterdam, we noticed there were a lot of Argentinian restaurants. Curious to find out what's it about, we chose this one mainly because, coincidentally, it carries the same name as my boyfriend.
It was quite early in the evening, so we were the first customers and were seated next to the window. The place was very clean and had a nice atmosphere typical for these smaller restaurants. Staff was very friendly. The nice and apparently newly hired waitress didn't speak Dutch but only English with a funny accent, but communication was no problem and we even had some laughs during ordering.
The menu card pivots around beef, with a nice selection of steak, entrecotes, rib-eyes and more in varying sizes. Unfortunately dishes did not include french fries or salads, they had to be ordered in addition (but perhaps we were just spoiled Belgians expecting dishes to include everything?).
The doneness of the meat was spot on, and the quality and taste excellent. It's been a long time since I had such a good steak dinner.
Food was served fast, and afterwards the chef came to inform if everything had been to our liking.
Pricing was rather high for a restaurant offering only beef, but I think it will be hard finding a better steak for the same or lower price than here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

The food, the ambiente and the people were excelent! One of the Best placas around amsterdam that I have triedro! Will come back sono.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The prive si good Also the service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

One night hère and i want to return un this hotel. I wil note this hôtel a+.
I lové amsterdam ans this hôtel i want to stay!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“"Best steak in Amsterdam"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We were looking for steak near central station and a waiter proclaimed, "best steak in Amsterdam, guaranteed!". We choose to dine here and it was very good. I can't say if it was best. Service was very friendly and prompt. Food was prepared very well. Grilled corn on cob was excellent. Price was expensive, but partially due location.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Argentinos San Thomas - WS also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Argentinos San Thomas - WS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Argentinos San Thomas - WS, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.