We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Argentinos San Thomas - WS

Argentinos San Thomas - WS
Warmoesstraat 7 | 1012 HT, 1012 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 330 9964
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #419 of 2,526 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $0 - $73
Cuisines: Argentinean, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We are Argentinian restaurant located in Amsterdam Center. We served very high quality of fresh Argentinian meat, straight from the pampas. Tender & fresh
1 review
“Best experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

The food, the ambiente and the people were excelent! One of the Best placas around amsterdam that I have triedro! Will come back sono.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    48
    8
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“The prive si good Also the service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

One night hère and i want to return un this hotel. I wil note this hôtel a+.
I lové amsterdam ans this hôtel i want to stay!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“"Best steak in Amsterdam"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We were looking for steak near central station and a waiter proclaimed, "best steak in Amsterdam, guaranteed!". We choose to dine here and it was very good. I can't say if it was best. Service was very friendly and prompt. Food was prepared very well. Grilled corn on cob was excellent. Price was expensive, but partially due location.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I usually go to the sister restaurant opposite Centraal Station but they were closing by the time I arrived this time. Disappointed as enjoy the banter with the waiters. Anyway they suggested I go to the sister restaurant owned by the same guy. Same good food and atmosphere. I told the owner I had been referred and he was very grateful and kept up the conversation. I travel alone a lot and it's nice to have some atmosphere in a place. Food is typical of a steakhouse and that's what you get! Some reviewers seem surprised. I will return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worst meal we had in Amsterdam”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I can not recommend this place. I went there with my wife and boys (14 years old). They advertised steak and chicken outside the resteraunt on a specials board. Initially we were sat right by the door so everytime someone came in we got a blast of cold air on our backs. Luckily another table came free so I asked if we could have it, the waiter's attitude wasn't good that I had asked.

When it came to ordering the prices al a carte were alot more than the specials advertised outside. If I remember correctly they wanted €35 for a 200g Steak. We ordered garlic bread and we wanted to share a mixed salad as a starter between us. Even though making sure I told them we wanted the salad before the main course it still all came together. When I complained they basically said it was tough, that's how it comes.

When the bill came it didn't look right and when I questioned it, they gave me the correct one!

The food was OK, not great. If I had spent €35 on a Steak I would have expected better.

In brief I would suggest somewhere else

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshAyad, Manager at Argentinos San Thomas - WS, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for visiting Argentinos San Thomas - WS in Amsterdam and for taking time to write your review about our restaurant.
I understand that you filling start not feeling well (negatief) when you were sat close to the door, i don't excpect that some one can got a blast of cold air if the door open.
we have a hot air curtain and inside door, I'll investigate the situation.
unfortunately, is not acceptable action what the waiter did with you, he have to move you to another table. I promise you to check how did that with you, he will get punishment.
About the price of steak, the most expensive one is fillet steak, for 200 gr the price is € 19,75, so I don't know what you mean that we wanted €35 for a 200 gr Steak.
unfortunately, in situation like this you didn't ask to talk to the manager to explain what's happened. from my side we very sorry for what's happened and we are very appreciated for your review to focus in the future to forbidden this kind of complaint.
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Argentinos San Thomas - WS also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Argentinos San Thomas - WS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Argentinos San Thomas - WS, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.