We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Follow your nose....to the long queue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar 'N Ice

Sugar 'N Ice
Spuistraat 124, 1012VB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 6 18295016
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #162 of 2,435 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Dessert, Italian, Dutch, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout, Dessert
Description: Seriously good ice-cream served with a smile!
Short hills, nj
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Follow your nose....to the long queue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We could smell the fresh waffles cooking as we walked toward Sugar N Ice. Some of the most delicious waffles I have had anywhere. The chocolate sauce was real melted chocolate, not Nutella spread, and it was rich and delicious. While there was a line outside, the waffles were definitely worth the wait and worth breaking your low carb diet!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    8
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Absolute perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This place is absolutely brilliant! There is something for everyone; ice cream, ice cream milkshakes, pancakes and waffles! We accidentally found this place and recommend that everyone goes there as a must to visiting Amsterdam. The owners are very friendly and welcoming too!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best caramel sauce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This place is excellent! Chatted with one of the owners who makes everything in the store by hand. The Carmel sauce on the waffle I got is the best I have ever had. Do not hesitate to go here for a sweet treat!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Sweet Temptation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The tour guide brought me and my 3 girlfriends from Singapore to this ice cream cafe.

An ice cream a day keeps you happy all day. For me, it has always to be double scoops, double happiness. I ordered the yoghurt & strawberry on cone, my girlfriends ordered the pistachio & salted caramel. These are gourmet ice cream, smooth & creamy, not too sweet and tasted very yummy. Be careful, extremely addictive.

Back to Singapore, missing this wonderful feeling of enjoying an ice cream in cold April Amsterdam!





  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Without words to explain my joy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Well how do I put this? I don't eat sweets too often as I am a bit of a health nut but when I do I like it to be good. I previously had a 'favorite' ice cream here in Amsterdam and by any measurement its amazing. Sugar 'N Ice is over the top even better than my previous favorite. I had the salted caramel & mascarpone which was a flavor explosion with each bite. My experience was so good I broke my dietary rule and went back the next day. Also had a new flavor I'd never heard of. In terms of my favorite ice cream in the world its in the top 3 (Hokey Pokey in Berlin & Berthillion in Paris blew my mind also).

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar 'N Ice also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Sugar 'N Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar 'N Ice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.