We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freshest waffles in town and poffertjes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar 'N Ice

Sugar 'N Ice
Spuistraat 124, Amsterdam 1012VB, The Netherlands
31618295016
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 2,231 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Vegan, Ice Cream, Creperie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout, Dessert
Description: Seriously good ice-cream served with a smile!
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Freshest waffles in town and poffertjes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Love this place! Everything is so fresh, like within the last few minutes fresh waffles and poffertjes. Even the ice cream is made on the premises and the coffee is amazing. I pop in often as it is on my route to and from work. Patricia and Frans who own and run the place are so welcoming and friendly in the way that only small owner run places can be!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    19
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stumbled Upon..and glad I did!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

The smell of the fresh made waffles wafting into the streets caught my attention quickly! A square waffle smothered in warm melted dutch chocolate...HEAVEN! Others in my group had gelato and reported it being VERY GOOD. The gentleman working the counter was very patient with us. When it came time to pay, he took extra time to explain the euro currency with us, which was nice. He was very pleasant to deal with, and we had some fun banter exchanges. Highly recommend if looking for a quick freshly made treat.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's
1 review
“Go once for the poffertjes, go again for everything else!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

This place is delicious, a must for anyone who likes sweets. We were directed here by a local who suggested we try some authentic poffertjes with butter and powdered sugar. AMAZING. Everything is homemade there, with no additives. The owner is friendly and helpful, and has Gelato University certificates on display, haha. Definitely worth a stop if you're looking for a quick Dutch treat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“sweet stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We happened by this place and stopped by for a snack. The kids insisted we return a second time and I didn't argue with them. The waffles are awesome and the gelato was excellent. Everything handmade by the owners with fresh ingredients. The service couldn't be better. they really treated the kids great! We all know how long it can take kids to choose a desert and they really didn't seem to mind. The espresso was top notch also. Skip desert elsewhere, walk a few minutes and stop by Sugar 'N Ice!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Adictive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Me and my daughter stumbled upon it last year and she insisted to go back every day during our stay in Amsterdam.
Again this year it was our ritual to go there every day while we were in Amsterdam.
The owners are friendly and also showed her how the Ice-cream was made.
10/10 for the lovely couple.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar 'N Ice also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Sugar 'N Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar 'N Ice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.