We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like steak” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Argentine Steakhouse Amsterdam

Argentine Steakhouse Amsterdam
Westermarkt 23 1016 Dj Amsterdam. Centrum area, 1016 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020-8518618
Improve this listing
Ranked #560 of 2,525 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Pizza & Pasta
Restaurant details
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“If you like steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Great place if you're partial to meet. They do a great steak, not the cheapest in town, but does what is says on the tin. Will return one day.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    28
    3
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Enterprise, Alabama
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Too hot to enjoy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My wife and I decided to eat here based on its closeness to us. When were reading the menu outside one of the waitress came outside to ask us if we had any questions about the menu. When we entered the restaurant it felt like a furnace. We sat down and ordered and our drinks were brought out quickly. The food took awhile but it was worth it. I had the 450g Argentine Ribeye with grilled tomatoes an French fries. My wife had the 200g Argentine Sirloin. Both meats were very tasty and moist. I asked for mine to be cooked medium and my wife's medium well. Mine was perfect and my wife's not cooked enough. The food was excellent other then the rareness of my wife's steak. The only problem was it was extremely hot in the restaurant. It was so hot it was difficult to enjoy the food. Other then the temperature problem I would recommend this eatery to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Ordinary”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Food was very ordinary, kind of a strange mix between steakhouse and mexicanish food. You can do better for the price

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Busy and bustling with life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Great steakhouse and good value for money. Steaks that melt in your mouth served by attentive staff..

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerfull”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My wife and I were staying at the Nadia Hotel which is just up from the street from this restaurant. The steakhouse is run by an Argentinian cook and caters for locals and tourists alike. The meals are reasonably priced.

We dined there on two occasions. The pizza at 10 Euro was fresh and very tasty but the real treat is the steak and ribs. A small ribs is 9 Euro and a Large is 13 Euro which comes with small salad and baked potato and sour cream.

The ribs are something special. Beautifully cooked with melt in the mouth meat and a fantastic sauce. The potato was also cooked in some sort of spice and was great. The salad was average but fresh. Beer was 5 euro for 1/2 litre.

Its a small restaurant and the décor is rustic. In one barn scene it depicts a rather large happy cow looking down on you and you almost feel guilty eating the steak and ribs... well almost.

The Nadia Hotel is a two star hotel and I would guess you would rate this restaurant as a two star. Its not pretending to be fine dining but the staff are super friendly, speak good English and run around at a frantic pace to serve you. Its super clean and the meals were really very very good. I have paid a lot of money in the past for supposedly great steaks/ribs and I would rate this little place right up there with the best.

If you like simple surroundings with good honest food that is really quite special this this little cheap and cheerful restaurant is for you.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Argentine Steakhouse Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Argentine Steakhouse Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Argentine Steakhouse Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.