We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place for a drink” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Concertgebouw Cafe

Concertgebouw Cafe
Concertgebouwplein 10, 1071 LN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 573 0244
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #464 of 2,328 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Café
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful place for a drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Soak up the atmosphere of this lovely concert hall by having a glass of wine there before a concert.Service is quick and the staff are very friendly.I didn't eat there but the food looked very good.


Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    14
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Meet the international literati”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Felt totally at home here.

The same concert cafe crowd as you find all over the world.

Classical music playing in the background. Coffee and good pastries from "The Old Days".

Chandeliers.

It's a great taste of the past done in a good contemporary way.

You could turn up in a ball gown or tails for breakfast and totally merge in. Same with smart jeans and sneakers.

Go.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Speedy Service and Wifi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

This might be the only café in the Museumplein which opens as early as 8:00AM. I'm an early riser and my hotel is in the neighborhood so I decided to try the place. The ambiance is wonderful. I really liked the menus which are in Dutch and English and features a different instrument on the front (e.g., accordion, grand piano, trumpet, etc.). The Wifi is free and connection is super fast. I had a café latte (EUR2.50) and bread with two slices of Old Beemster, pesto, and side salad (approximately EUR7.00+). I was very satisfied with the service and the taste.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Hickory, Tennessee
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Delightful lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

On my own for this lunch, I enjoyed a wonderful quiche and my new favorite beverage, mint tea. In the Netherlands mint tea comes with large sprigs of fresh mint in boiling water. Just delicious! The staff was very helpful and friendly, too. My server directed me to a nearby grocery store so I could purchase breakfast foods.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I have been to concert hall cafes elsewhere and been very disappointed. This one is excellent with a good selection of beers and a good menu. I enjoyed the greek salad so much I had to come back for another one two nights later!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Concertgebouw Cafe also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Concertgebouw Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Concertgebouw Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.